Shivaji bhonsle Posted August 2, 2015 Posted August 2, 2015 . Sreesanth gives an indication that he is a changed man as he prepares for a second innings, in life. After being cleared in the 2013 IPL spot-fixing case, the fast bowler spoke to the media on Tuesday and answered all the questions related to the saga. Excerpts: Q) On conspiracy and time spent in jail I don’t believe there was any conspiracy. I was arrested on the basis of some doubts. Those 27 days (in jail) were the most difficult period. I don’t know who all the people behind it are, but I am not looking for revenge. I had six surgeries on both toes and I was on a wheelchair for three months. Post-surgery, I played four Ranji Trophy matches for Kerala and I wasn’t sure if I would play the IPL that season. I took along Kerala cricketers including Sanju Samson and Sachin Baby to Rajasthan Royals and Sanju got selected. After all this when I was in Tihar Jail I naturally thought ‘Why me?’ I was afraid and wanted to run away. I was depressed. I wanted to end my life. My brother-in-law told me to turn to music. The first four days in Tihar; the two World Cup winner that I am, had sleepless nights in a dormitory with murderers and rapists (breaks down). I am trying to forget all these. Q) On meeting BCCI officials I am waiting for an appointment with BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur and will meet him at the earliest, if possible tomorrow (Wednesday). At this juncture, I don’t want to say that I need to play for India. I would love to start with my club Ernakulam CC, then first-class and inter-zonal to gain match fitness. I am 32 and being a fast bowler, I probably have 4-5 years remain. So, I hope the Board lifts the ban soon so that I can play again. I will wait patiently. My life started because of BCCI and even now it hangs on its decision. Q) On Neeraj Kumar (former Delhi police commissioner, now BCCI anti-corruption unit chief) He’s also a human being, so I hope he’ll understand my situation. I know the BCCI is not about individuals. I have no intention to challenge anyone nor do I hold grudge against anyone. Q) On playing Test cricket again I wish to play Test cricket again. I have 87 wickets from 27 matches and I hope to make it 100 in the next three matches. I believe Kapil Dev holds the record for the fastest 100 wickets by an Indian pace bowler. It would be a great achievement to emulate Kapil. Q) If not? I will never approach the court. The BCCI has paid me well to live a good life. But if I can’t pay cricket anymore life doesn’t end, I have 2-3 offers from films (laughs). Q) On Jiju Janardhan and friendship: I haven’t spoken to him. I heard he’s doing some job in the Gulf. One-and-a-half years ago, a person called me to ask if it was ok for me that they employed Jiju and I had no objection. I will never say that Jiju is behind all this. During interrogation they asked me about Jiju. They were trying to connect things not through him, but through the friends of his friends. I won’t say his friendship has cost me. I forgive him, but I won’t forget. I see him as a cricketer. He was my captain at Ernakulam CC. He was with me when I was regaining fitness in Bengaluru. He batted for me in the nets. When I was 19, he was my roommate at MRF. He has captained Parthiv Patel in Gujarat. I don’t believe he betrayed me. But he is not above my family. So, now when I look back I think it was better to avoid certain friendships. Q) On his aggression Our new captain (Kohli) is also aggressive. My first coach Dennis Lillee was aggressive and my idol Allan Donald was also aggressive. So what is wrong in being aggressive?
Shivaji bhonsle Posted August 2, 2015 Author Posted August 2, 2015 http://www.asianage.com/cricket/wanted-end-my-life-s-sreesanth-533
Marut Posted August 2, 2015 Posted August 2, 2015 I have talked to Sreesanth (long back) in person and found him a really nice and humble person. His antics on the field are well known, but I never thought he would do something like fixing. With millions of dollars at stake in this illegal betting business (and related fixing incidents) I have a hard time believing that we have caught only two or three players, and these are fringe players mostly. Sreesanth just seems to be unlucky to be caught. Life is unforgiving really. A moment of greed is all it takes to send your career crashing down permanently. What puzzles me with this Sreesanth episode is the amount of money that exchanged hands - it was 60lakhs or so. An international player like Sreesanth who had made crores of rupees chose to jeopardize his career at the age of 29 for a paltry sum of sixty lakhs? If he actually did that he must be one hell of a stupid guy.
Precambrian Posted August 2, 2015 Posted August 2, 2015 I have met him personally as well. Never the kind of guy who'd sell his cricket for something nefarious. Took immense pride in wearing the India cap.. Yes he got carried away sometimes, but that's a testimony to the cap he wore.
Black Zero Posted August 3, 2015 Posted August 3, 2015 Tu kash beta ye sb fixing krnay se pehlay socha hota, now just shut up and don't play victim card, and i too think there were some even bigger behind all that saga but they just got away due to their icon status and how much it would have damaged indian image in world cricket.
Temujin Khaghan Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 It is a myth that Sreesanth's antics are even an issue for the team. There have been bigger psychos who played the game and have gotten away, for the simple reason that they work hard and perform on the field. For all the talent he had, the seam presentation, nippy pace and good outswingers, Sreesanth just did not deliver to his potential.
India-KXIP fan Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 It is a myth that Sreesanth's antics are even an issue for the team. There have been bigger psychos who played the game and have gotten away' date=' for the simple reason that they work hard and perform on the field. For all the talent he had, the seam presentation, nippy pace and good outswingers, Sreesanth just did not deliver to his potential.[/quote'] -Sprayed ball too much -Only useful in certain conditions where he got his outswinger going. Remember a few innings in SA and England Was talented though
Lannister Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 Although I wasn't a fan of his on-field antics, but he sure was a talented bowler. He's to blame for where he is now.
swatpulla Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 He is a crook. Has lied consistantly and tried playing victim card ever since he was busted. His statements mean nothing.
Precambrian Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 He is a crook. Has lied consistantly and tried playing victim card ever since he was busted. His statements mean nothing. Which evidence against him is incriminating? Surely the court doesn't agree with you.