Karnataka and Mumbai Lobby selections without performance

26 minutes ago, Khota said:

Start with Vijay first. Bringing his name up does not suit your agenda and Rahul is hit and miss.

Vijay would have been dropped had Prithvi Shaw not got injured.  Rahul would ahv ebeen dropped had they carried two backup openers than two backup spinners.  All three openers  Dhawan, Rahul and Vijay have been total failures. Highest opening partnership is 63 on away tours in 2018. :facepalm:

3 minutes ago, Straight Drive said:

It is disappointing to see that players from lesser teams are not getting backing or do not have as strong a lobby. Is this a fair captain, are the selectors doing a fair job? Why are they allowed to pick freeloaders while performers from lesser zones / teams not making playing 11 and in some cases not even squads. There are brilliant performers like Siraj and Vihari in FC who have excelled in FC and List A but they still continue to be ignored. Agree that lobbying is bad but wish if Hyderabad had as strong a lobby like Mumbai and Karnataka. It's tough to break into playing 11 without support more often than not if the players are from some lesser teams.

Mayanak deserves to be in the playing 11 more than Vihari , but guess whos at least in the squad ? ist Vihari whos a quota pick .

Hyd simply needs to start producing more players , for Karnataka Pandey , Agarwal , Gowtham , Gopal , Prasidh all have Ranji/IPL performances to show , one or two are bound to get selected .

Just now, jusarrived said:

Mayanak deserves to be in the playing 11 more than Vihari , but guess whos at least in the squad ?

Again they are not competing 

ist Vihari whos a quota pick .

No , he isnt. He made runs and earned his way 

Hyd simply needs to start producing more players , for Karnataka Pandey , Agarwal , Gowtham , Gopal , Prasidh all have Ranji/IPL performances to show , one or two are bound to get selected .

true

Mayanak deserves to be in the playing 11 more than Vihari , but guess whos at least in the squad ? ist Vihari whos a quota pick .

I actually missed Nair ..there are so many guys and we have one Karnataka player playing for India and thats cos of lobby ? Right

Rohit got his chance based on what he has done in shorter formats in last 12-15 months. Almost every single expert - Ganguly, Kumble, Sehwag, Harbhajan wanted him to be picked for Tests.

You send him back to FC cricket and he will outscore everyone, like he has done consistently. There is a reason why he has 5000 runs in 60 FC games (excluding tests) at a batting average of 62

1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Again they are not competing 

No , he isnt. He made runs and earned his way 

true

NO they are not competing , correct ..but am not the one complaining here . Personally am not even a Agarwal fan , but no one can say he hasnt earned a selection .

Vihari is a good player , but I dont see him as a lon term prospect for India ..he will be a good fringe player at best , just like Agarwal ..

15 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

its not about zones, its about pref to a particular player

Rohit sharma is pref coz he is rohit sharma not coz he is from mumbai

Nair was snubbed for Rohit who was from karnataka

If rahul or vijay wud be dropped a karnataka player mayank will take their place (usko tum hi log fair bologe)

Siraj is overlooked coz they dnt wanna have the same core not becoz of his zone . Dont make it about zones coz its not. These states have strong teams so player do come of them

Its rayudu who is pref in odi not iyer from mumbai 

Umesh is from vidarbha what strong lobby is that 

Why isnt Saini in team who is from delhi????

Can you be more specific when you say Rohit Sharma is preferred because he is Rohit Sharma.  Does that means his status as a player in shorter format or being a senior most in terms of years with Indian team that he gets preference. Or is it anythign else that you meant.

The strong influential teams and zone have been Mumbai, Karnataka and Delhi because they are the top 3 Ranji trophy winners. But winning Ranji Trophy more does not means Mumbai should promote Rohti or Delhi should promote failing Dhawan or Karnataka should promote failing Rahul. At least use power to promote the better player from the team although promotion / lobbying is not a allowed practice. 

You would have noticed a player from a particular zone often gets replaced by a player form the same zone. It happened when Yuvi was failure they picked another failure Harbhajan. Lucky that if they replace Rahul with Mayank Agarwal at least he is a deserving candidate on basis of runs scored among all zones.  So no problems there.  

I did not say all players are getting selected on preference.  There are some who have made team on great FC records like Prithvi Shaw. What i mean here is lobbying for the wrong players who are failing. 

Are you sure the quota system is totally abolished in practice or it has just gone from the paper work ?

12 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

VIhari isn't an opener, so it's different.

11 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

I actually missed Nair ..there are so many guys and we have one Karnataka player playing for India and thats cos of lobby ? Right

It's not that only if a team has 5 players then it can be said it is lobbying.  Lobbying is also promoting a player who had failed for significant tenure, 30 tests in case of Rahul. Just like the wrong players being backed by Mumbai about 30 tests again. Nair was not a case of lobbying, he was dropped when he did not back up his 300 with good scores.  Rahul and Rohit continue to get chances.

2 minutes ago, Straight Drive said:

Can you be more specific when you say Rohit Sharma is preferred because he is Rohit Sharma.  Does that means his status as a player in shorter format or being a senior most in terms of years with Indian team that he gets preference. Or is it anythign else that you meant.

No its his ability that very tempting and yes short format adds to it

Somewere the success of sehwag also makes captain temp that lets have a player who can change game in session

Dnt forget sourav had the same obsession with yuvraj for which he made him open disturbing the set pair of aakash n sehwag 

The strong influential teams and zone have been Mumbai, Karnataka and Delhi because they are the top 3 Ranji trophy winners. But winning Ranji Trophy more does not means Mumbai should promote Rohti or Delhi should promote failing Dhawan or Karnataka should promote failing Rahul. At least use power to promote the better player from the team although promotion / lobbying is not a allowed practice. 

Mumbai isnt suppourting rohit , neither delhi dhawan. Captain wants them 

they were dropped under dhoni 

Picked under virat

Every captain has his liking for his kind of player . 

Rahul , rahane are failing but they have done something in test cricket to get the backing. U cnt keep dropping everyone. Neither u have don bradman on benches

What mumbai lobby do ganguly, sehwag belong who wants rohit in test side 

You would have noticed a player from a particular zone often gets replaced by a player form the same zone. It happened when Yuvi was failure they picked another failure Harbhajan. Lucky that if they replace Rahul with Mayank Agarwal at least he is a deserving candidate on basis of runs scored among all zones.  So no problems there.  

No i dnt notice such nonsense things 

Yuvi ...bhajji kya logic hai , they both got picked coz they were deserving 

Ur telling me mayank is deserving n bhajji n yuvi werent ?

Anyone who gets picked is deserving or captain sees potential in him 

I did not say all players are getting selected on preference.  There are some who have made team on great FC records like Prithvi Shaw. What i mean here is lobbying for the wrong players who are failing. 

ur using wrong words

A captains choice is not lobbying 

Whole mumbai cricket association dnt make playing XI , kohli does and no one has the power to tell him or in past dhoni or ganguly 

Are you sure the quota system is totally abolished in practice or it has just gone from the paper work ?

I really dnt see it in Indian cricket now , in some fields m sure it does 

4 minutes ago, Straight Drive said:

It's not that only if a team has 5 players then it can be said it is lobbying.  Lobbying is also promoting a player who had failed for significant tenure, 30 tests in case of Rahul. Just like the wrong players being backed by Mumbai about 30 tests again. Nair was not a case of lobbying, he was dropped when he did not back up his 300 with good scores.  Rahul and Rohit continue to get chances.

thats called backing the player ho beilve in 

rohit has been in n out 

Dhawan in n out 

Rahul in n out but has made some runs in between

N all 3 have gr8 abilities ....2 of them have gotten enough chances and hasnt shown much. Rahul has shown that he can bat overseas just needs to get consistent 

Its not that ull find player of such ability everyday

3 minutes ago, Straight Drive said:

its just you whos saying wrong player is getting backed . KL inspite of his recent failures is Karnatakas best talent at the moment . He should be dropped if he fails in this series , but the guy was ranked in Top10 in tests few months back ..as bad as hes failed according to you , he still has as many 100s outside SC as pujara already sure his form has dipped , but I dont think its still such a bad pick as you are making it out to be . 

31 minutes ago, Straight Drive said:

Vijay would have been dropped had Prithvi Shaw not got injured.  Rahul would ahv ebeen dropped had they carried two backup openers than two backup spinners.  All three openers  Dhawan, Rahul and Vijay have been total failures. Highest opening partnership is 63 on away tours in 2018. :facepalm:

I agree but atleast Dhawan can hit the ball and dominate. Other two not so much.

4 minutes ago, Khota said:

But it is ok to give a spot to a person who has scored less?

ill play both of them in next test ...both are failure

Kum zyaada kuch nhin hota failure failure hota .....m asking why do u have an order thats makes rohit ahead of rahul

atleast for me both vijay n rohit are in failure category 

5 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

Ok we have middle order bats too . How is Vihari picked ahead of Nair ? 

Vihari scored more runs than Nair in A tour of SA and NZ.  Also when he got chance he did scored 56 and picked 3 wickets. The only A tours where Nair has outscored Vihari is tour to England. Whereas Vihari has outscored Nair on A tour to SA and A tour to NZ.

12 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

its just you whos saying wrong player is getting backed . KL inspite of his recent failures is Karnatakas best talent at the moment . He should be dropped if he fails in this series , but the guy was ranked in Top10 in tests few months back ..as bad as hes failed according to you , he still has as many 100s outside SC as pujara already sure his form has dipped , but I dont think its still such a bad pick as you are making it out to be . 

I would like to know what average should considered as  acceptable from a specialist batsman of a major cricketing nation which has a reputation for producing ATG batsmen. 

There are threads by others too to sack Rahul and Rohit. How is just me who thinks Rahul is a failure?

Edited by Straight Drive
14 minutes ago, Khota said:

I agree but atleast Dhawan can hit the ball and dominate. Other two not so much.

How many runs and average did he manage after all the so called domination in tests.  He is nothing spectacular than others, may be he averages one or 3 runs more than the other failing players.  But averaging 1- 3 runs better than failed players is not acceptable as well.  We have to compare to acceptable averages rather than the bad averaging players.