Delhi Govt plans 90% reservation in DU for Delhi students

Sachin=GOD

Delhi Govt plans 90% reservation in DU for Delhi students

Education Minister Manish Sisodia seems to be determined to bring about significant changes to the city's education system, making college admission for Delhi students his priority. The minister's plan includes a 90 per cent reservation for Delhi residents in DU colleges which are fully funded by the government. "If people of Delhi are funding these colleges, don't they have a right to benefit from them? While thousands from across the country come and study in DU, our students are forced to go outside. The previous government had also planned on doing something about it, but nothing happened. We are determined to push this through," Sisodia said, emphasising that the entire process will be based on "merit and not reservation". Calling the state of higher education in the city "a big mess", Sisodia told Newsline, "Each year, more than 2.65 lakh students pass out from schools in Delhi, but only 90,000 get admission in Delhi colleges. I want to create a roadmap for the remaining 1.75 lakh students." The minister also plans on awarding scholarships to deserving students. To bring about more transparency in the system, Sisodia said he will review functioning and affiliation of major universities, especially IP University. "If one university is running 110 colleges, how can it provide any quality? We plan to crackdown on such big universities and check their credentials," he said. Sisodia also spoke about putting an end to the system of indirect donations in universities. "A lot of posts in major colleges and universities are lying vacant. We are being asked to fill them. But we want to create a procedure first — one that will ensure that no-one can get backdoor entry because of contacts and nepotism. That's also how our universities will get the best talent," the minister said. Speaking about the culture of universities turning into money-minting ventures, he said, "Universities make crores by selling forms and prospectuses. Very soon, we'll have one common admission form, preferably online," he said. The minister said he was also planning to set up a council of higher education. "Planning Commission guidelines call for every state to create a council of higher education — a monitoring agency that can advise the minister on various issues. A lot of states have it, but Delhi doesn't. States which have such councils are liable to receive substantial funding from the Planning Commission, something we don't want to miss out on," Sisodia said.
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/govt-plans-90--reservation-in-du-for-delhi-students/1215895/0 90% reservation kuch zyada nahi hai????

Being a doctor is pretty much the only field, wolrdwide, where state quotas exists within nations. The reason is simple: Doctors need to go through not only harrowingly challenging course load, they need to also complete an apprentenceship practicum ( residency) before graduation and it aids them greatly if they are local to the area. Outside of medicine though, there should not be any quotas based on sub-national levels. Btw, standards have to drop in India. Higher education should not be reserved only for the likes of 'genuis category or exceptionally hard working students who study 90% of their waking moments', it should be afforded to almost all academically competent ones- including those who like to be an 'allround individual', persuing sports/extra curriculars and studies. Ultimately, you cannot take a system, where 1 in 500 are admitted to universities and expand it to 1 in 20 attend universities and not expect the standards to drop. It has to, since the latter system is a much more broad spectrum system while the former is a 'cater to the elite students only' system.

It would be a poor move if implemented. students from all of North India depend on DU to graduate, plus there are plenty of seats in the lower end colleges. All it would do is to reduce the cut-offs in the Tier-1 and Tier-2 colleges and their ability to attract the cream.

Being a doctor is pretty much the only field, wolrdwide, where state quotas exists within nations. The reason is simple: Doctors need to go through not only harrowingly challenging course load, they need to also complete an apprentenceship practicum ( residency) before graduation and it aids them greatly if they are local to the area. Outside of medicine though, there should not be any quotas based on sub-national levels. Btw, standards have to drop in India. Higher education should not be reserved only for the likes of 'genuis category or exceptionally hard working students who study 90% of their waking moments', it should be afforded to almost all academically competent ones- including those who like to be an 'allround individual', persuing sports/extra curriculars and studies. Ultimately, you cannot take a system, where 1 in 500 are admitted to universities and expand it to 1 in 20 attend universities and not expect the standards to drop. It has to, since the latter system is a much more broad spectrum system while the former is a 'cater to the elite students only' system.
Lol. Quite out of the loop you are. If only you could see the "high" standards of Indian universities. :cantstop::cantstop:

Delhi University is a central university. Can someone with more know how fill me in as to how the state government can change the rules?
This is an October news, there maybe something to do with funding by the state which allows for a decision or a strong case of recommendation for local quota - http://www.indianexpress.com/news/state-govt-proposes-90--quota-for-delhi-students-in-many-du-colleges/1177099/
The Delhi government on Tuesday announced a plan to bring in up to 90 per cent reservation for students from Delhi in state government-funded colleges under Delhi University. The proposal, if approved, will affect admissions in 28 DU colleges. According to an official statement from Higher Education Minister A K Walia, the government has decided to provide 90 per cent reservation to students from Delhi in colleges fully funded by the Delhi government. Although DU is a central university, 12 colleges under it receive funds from the Delhi government — Bhaskaracharya College of Applied Sciences, Shaheed Sukhdev College of Business Studies, Shaheed Rajguru College of Applied Sciences for Women, Deen Dayal Upadhyaya College and Bhagini Nivedita College, among others. Another 16 colleges under DU receive funding where the Delhi government provides 50 per cent grant for their capital work and five per cent as recurring grant, an official statement from the government said. The list of such colleges include Gargi, Kamla Nehru, Maitreyi and Delhi College of Arts and Commerce, among others.

^ Thanks. I guess that is fair enough, though one can argue about the 90% number. From the looks of it none of the top colleges and post graduate programs will see an impact, which was concerning me. All states have these in-state quotas and the right way to approach it is to remove them from all. Otherwise students from one state are at a disadvantage. One thing they should account for is satellite cities like Gurgaon and Noida, which though technically not part of Delhi will see most students trying to get into Delhi colleges. There is a similar problem in Chandigarh, where even if you have Panchkula or Mohali domicile you cannot avail of the local Chandigarh quota in colleges.

^ Thanks. I guess that is fair enough, though one can argue about the 90% number. From the looks of it none of the top colleges and post graduate programs will see an impact, which was concerning me.
Yeah. 90% sounds too high. My engineering college was also under DU, it had 70% local quota.
All states have these in-state quotas and the right way to approach it is to remove them from all. Otherwise students from one state are at a disadvantage. One thing they should account for is satellite cities like Gurgaon and Noida, which though technically not part of Delhi will see most students trying to get into Delhi colleges. There is a similar problem in Chandigarh, where even if you have Panchkula or Mohali domicile you cannot avail of the local Chandigarh quota in colleges.
Agree.

Delhi has more than one universities .As a capital it should have at least one university which should be open to students from all over India.If Not...then Delhi shouldn't be the Capital.Effing narrow minded vote mentality of politicians...old and new. I read somewhere that if DU implements the regional Quota,it will lose its central University status .

^ Thanks. I guess that is fair enough' date=' though one can argue about the 90% number.[b'] From the looks of it none of the top colleges and post graduate programs will see an impact, which was concerning me. All states have these in-state quotas and the right way to approach it is to remove them from all. Otherwise students from one state are at a disadvantage. One thing they should account for is satellite cities like Gurgaon and Noida, which though technically not part of Delhi will see most students trying to get into Delhi colleges. There is a similar problem in Chandigarh, where even if you have Panchkula or Mohali domicile you cannot avail of the local Chandigarh quota in colleges.
Manish Sisodia never mentioned the 90% number in the original article - I didn't see the newspaper quoting him so I find the title misleading. Like randomGuy said, this was more an order of the AK Walia in the Sheila Dikshit government. Anyways, in terms of PG programs such high reservation can't be implemented as there aren't enough takers.

GGSIPU (state university ) has quota for Delhi students .
yeah GGSIPU(delhi state varsity) has 85% seats reserved for delhi students so whats the need for a Central Universities like DU to go for such reservations for home state,now its further increased..by the way barring some of the north campus colleges and a couple of south campus colleges,most of DU colleges pretty much sucks!!