Book and Detailed Movie Reviews

zen

Below is the review for the book Trigger Mortis by Anthony Horowitz. The book was released in September 2015. 

Anthony Horowitz was commissioned by AC Doyle estate to write books on Sherlock Holmes. He wrote a couple of best sellers - House of Silk and Moriarty. I am yet to read those books. Recently, Ian Fleming estate commissioned Horowitz to write a book on James Bond 007. After Fleming's, there have been many continuation novels on Bond but many of them are not rated highly. What is interesting about Trigger Mortis is that it is set in the original Fleming timeline (50s-60s), which is what I prefer. While it is hard to imitate Fleming's style, Horowitz comes close and also keeps the today's readers sensitivities in mind. 

Parts of this paragraph may contain spoilers. The story begins after the events in Goldfinger. 007 and Pussy are contemplating their relationships. What is funny (or could be unintentionally funny) is that Pussy gets back to her old ways and Bond is sent on a mission that involves racing the famous Maserati 250F at Nurburgring. This mission leads to a more complex plot. Issues such as the sad events at "No Gun Ri" are woven in to the story as well. As for the characters, the villain's part is nicely written. He has an unique way of killing people. The locations are described adequately. 

There are some logical flaws but they are acceptable as they are there to create dramatic impact. Compared to Fleming's books, this one has a more movie like feel which is not necessarily a con. Talking about movies, SPECTRE was released last year as well. If I had to chose between SPECTRE and the book, I would say that the book is better. In fact it has the potential to be made in to a film as well. 

Verdict - Recommended 

Edited by rett

I'd prefer any run of the mill thriller novel over watching spectre, so that isn't much of a sales pitch.

I liked both SPECTRE (watched it multiple times) and Trigger Mortis. But I found the book to be relatively better.

I did NOT say that the book is recommended just because it is better than SP

Also apart from being JB adventures and both of them released in 2015, there is nothing in common b/w the two. The story and timeline are different.

Edited by rett

Moonraker by Ian Fleming (IF)

Moonraker is the 3rd Bond novel by IF. It was released in 1955 and continues Bond's adventure after Casino Royale and Live and Let Die.

Moonraker differs vastly from the Bond movie with the same name. Without giving much away - the antagonist is Hugo Drax who has lost his memory after the war. From rags he goes to riches and is also knighted in the process. He convinces everyone in Britain to allow him to develop a missile program for Britain out of his own pocket and under his guidance. This program would add to British military capabilities. Drax is considered a hero for undertaking this endeavor. The book deals with Drax's real mission and how Bond stops it. 

The book is divided in to 3 parts. Part 1 opens with a game of bridge that Bond has to play with Drax. The part is fascinating for how the game is played and the details (and emotions) given by IF. It is like watching or reading about a thrilling cricket match. Part 2 deals with connecting the story to the climax in Part 3. Part 3 has tons of action and the pages turn automatically. 

Moonraker is also unique in the sense that Bond is given an assignment in Britain. His department is supposed to deal with foreign assignments. As such the location is Britain. 

The characters are brilliant. Drax is one of the memorable villains. Gala  Brand assist Bond on the mission and she is also an unique character.  

Overall this is another gem by IF. It was well received by both critics and fans. The book has a relatively serious tone, unlike the movie Moonraker. Some of the concepts of the book are used for the villain in the movie Die Another Day. 

Verdict - Highly Recommended 

Edited by rett

Movie review: The Revenant - released in Dec 2015. Starring DiCaprio and Tom Hardy. The review may contain spoilers. 

The Revenant is based on a true story and probably on the book by the same name. It chronicles how Hugh Glass, a fur trader in the 19th century,  battles odds to return from death and seeks revenge against those who put him in that condition. The 1971 movie - Man in the Wilderness was based on similar theme. 

Director Alejendro does a great job of capturing the wilderness (shot in Canada). The background score is adequate. The performance by the lead actors is impressive. I found Hardy's portrayal of Fitzgerald to be one of the most chilling villains that I have seen recently on screen. 

The movie does have a few slow moments and "yucky and gross" scenes including DiCaprio opening up a dead horse to sleep inside it to protect himself against harsh conditions , and eating a raw fish, animal, bird, etc. However, the brilliant acting, direction and cinematography make up for the short comings. The last part is excellent. The movie is nominated for 12 Oscars. 

Overall, I would say this is not a film for everyone. It is a film for those who like to see something unusual and also have the patience to sit through some of the slow moments. The film also provides a good insights in to the world of early 19th century America. 

Verdict - Recommended for those who like to see something different / offbeat 

Edited by rett

Movie review: SPECTRE 

This is a late review of SPECTRE (SP). I watched it 5 times in cinemas and with the recent release of its BR, I got its SteelBook as I like the cover:

m2219646.jpg

Release date: Nov 2015

BR release date: Feb 2016

BO gross: $880M Worldwide 

Budget: $245M

Top grossing Bond films when adjusted for inflation based on 2012 economics - Skyfall ($1120M), Thunderball ($1040M), Goldfinger ($935M), Live and Let Die ($845M), You Only Live Twice ($775M) and The Spy Who Loved Me ($710M). After the numbers of these films are adjusted to 2015 levels, SP will likely compete with LALD for the 4th position. 

SP opens with Bond on a personal mission following an assassin at the Festival of Dead celebrations in Mexico City. The events in Mexico eventually sends Bond to Rome, Austria, Morocco and finally back to London, all the time dealing with "the author of all his pains".

The film has its pros and cons. Pros include the pre-title sequence (PTS) in Mexico City. The sequences in Austria and Morocco are great too. Bond torture scene is done brilliantly. Hinx is a good addition to the list of well-known henchmen such as Oddjob, Jaws, etc. Waltz gives a well measured performance as the antagonist. Seydoux as the Bond Girl is interesting. 

As for the cons, the title song is ok. The background score by Newman is only good in parts. The finale in London could have been better. There is a parallel story line that predictably connects in the end. And Bond goes on yet another personal mission. Many may also not prefer the personal connection between Bond and the antagonist so the script could have been better. 

Overall, the pros outweigh the cons. The film is also very visually striking. Mendes has directed the film well using extreme elements in the background. The snow capped landscape in Austria contrasts nicely with the desert in Morocco. The historic parts of Rome contrasts nicely with the modern parts of London. The performance by almost everyone in the cast is good.

There are also throwbacks and scenes that remind us of films such as a) Diamonds Are Forever (DAF) - Bond talking to rat, Bond walks outs of the room through the window in the PTS, etc., b) You Only Live Twice (YOLT) - how the antagonist acquires the scar, and c) Live and Let Die (LALD) and Thunderball (TB) -  elements for the Festival of Dead, d) etc. 

The film was made on an astronomical budget of approx. $250M so it needed to make $750M or more to be considered as financially successful. The film has grossed close to $900M. Looking at the budget, it would appear as if the film was made as a gift for the fans of the franchise. There are rumors that a follow up to the film is on the cards with both Craig and Waltz reprising their roles. As a die-hard fan of the franchise, I am already looking forward to the next installment. :biggrin:

Verdict - Recommended  

Edited by rett

Movie review: Bobby

Released: 1973

Starring: Rishi Kapoor, Dimple Kapadia (Debut), Pran and Prem Nath 

Box Office Status: All Time Blockbuster 

I have to admit that yesterday is the first time that I saw Bobby. I have always loved its songs and watched them occasionally too but never checked the whole film out. Yesterday, I decided to finally check it out and I feel bad for not visiting this gem before. 

In Bollywood, there are quite a few good teenagers / young adults (relatively) love stories. Some of the classics include - Love Story, Ek Dujhe Ke Liya, Betaab, Hero, Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak, Maine Pyar Kiya and Dilwale Dulhanaya Le Jayage (DDLJ).  When it comes to teenagers / young adults love stories, Bobby is undoubtedly the trend setter and would probably sit at the top. 

I would not go in to the story as we know how these films go. What is important is how these films are made. In Bobby, Raj Kapoor has ensured that he got all the ingredients right. The chemistry between the lead pair is as good as it can get. Veteran actors Pran and Prem Nath play their roles convincingly. Prem Chopra makes a cameo in which he introduces himself similar to how James Bond does - "Prem naam hai mera, Prem Chopra". 

What to say about the songs? They still sound great. In fact, this is one of those films which has a great collection of memorable songs. 

Coming back to the film being a trend setter, I was surprised to find that Maine Pyar Kiya is an improvised version of Bobby. What is interesting is that while films such as DDLJ may appear to have dated now or lost some of its appeal to an extent, Bobby still continues to impress. 

One thing that could probably be improved is the first 15 minutes or so of the film where the film shows young Raj (Rishi Kapoor) growing up. Considering the taste of today's audiences, may be start the film from when Raj returns from the boarding school. 

Raj Kapoor is a legendary film maker and many of his films including Bobby should be restored to HD / 4K format and re-released. 

Verdict - Highly Recommended  

Edited by rett

Bumping the thread up for a few quick reviews of books (not too technical books) that most of us can read:

Journey to Munich:  A part of Maisie Dobbs series, which is probably a big draw among female readers. Main reason to pick this book was to see what the series is about and "Munich", which is among my favorite cities. While many parts of the book are interesting, I had a mixed feeling about the book as it involves personal angles as well (slowing the book a little). Verdict: Recommended for timepass

House of Silk: A great take on Sherlock Holmes by Anthony Horowitz, who is featured in the OP for Trigger Mortis. Keeps getting exciting as pages go by. Verdict: Highly Recommended  

Etymologicon: Author: Mark Forsyth. Ever wondered about the origins of words such as "pooling"? Read the book for that. Verdict: Highly Recommended

The Weird World of Words: Author: Mitchell Symons. The title says it all. A quick and interesting read. Verdict: Highly Recommended

The Code of Samurai: Author / Translator: Thomas Cleary. A look in to the world of Samurai and ancient Japan. Verdict: Highly Recommended

Magic and Mystic in Tibet: Author: Alexandra David Neel. A peek in to 20th century Tibet from the point of view of a French woman. Verdict: Highly Recommended for those interested in such topics

Shoe Dog: Author : Philip Knight. A blockbuster memoir by the creator of Nike.  Verdict: Highly Recommended

The Essential Rumi: Translated by Coleman Barks. Verdict: HIghly Recommended for those interested in the work of Rumi 

The Body Reader: Author: Annie Frasier. A gripping mystery about a police officer who escapes from her kidnapper, makes an attempt to begin a new life, and seeks difficult answers, while trying to solve a series of disappearances and gruesome murders. Verdict: Highly Recommended 

Adding some more books:

• Bury your Dead by Louise Penny: The 6th book in the Inspector Gamache series. Setting is in Quebec. This one is a murder mystery which also weaves in the historical puzzle related to Samuel de Champlain. The book covers elements of book #5 too. I started the series with this one
  • Ego is the Enemy by Ryan Holiday: The title reveals what the book is about. What makes it interesting is the use of historical  anecdotes 

The Three Body Problem by Cixin Liu (Trilogy): Excellent hard sci-fi, with many big ideas. One of the central ideas is that the Universe is a Dark Forest, where different lifeforms are hiding, and don't want to reveal themselves in the fear that there is someone more powerful out there. A basic axiom of cosmic sociology is put forward where survival is the prime directive, and there is no real way of knowing if other civilizations are benevolent or not, and thus to ensure survival it is best to shoot first.

What I really liked is the interdimensional (3-d to 4-d) parts.

Wow, thread of such epic quality. I will go through all the post once in my leisure. 

@zen @flamy just finished reading catch 22, can you suggest any other book with historical background and yet having dark humour?  Thanks in advance. 

2 hours ago, Scar said:

Wow, thread of such epic quality. I will go through all the post once in my leisure. 

@zen @flamy just finished reading catch 22, can you suggest any other book with historical background and yet having dark humour?  Thanks in advance. 

I have a few books in my collection by Kurt Vonnegut, who writes in the genre that you mentioned. I haven't started reading them yet. Books that I have from Vonnegut: Mother Night, Cat's Cradle, Slaughter House Five, and Breakfast of Champions (read a little and impressed me straight away which led to purchase of other books)

30 minutes ago, zen said:

I have a few books in my collection by Kurt Vonnegut, who writes in the genre that you mentioned. I haven't started reading them yet. Books that I have from Vonnegut: Mother Night, Cat's Cradle, Slaughter House Five, and Breakfast of Champions (read a little and impressed me straight away which led to purchase of other books)

I have heard great things about slaughter house five as well. Might as well give it a try. Thanks.