sandtest Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Arrey bhai, read post # 79 It was IMPOSSIBLE to kill Vali in direct combat because of boon he received. In Puran stories God is in several avatars to eliminate evil......he is born as Matsya, Kachhap, and even as Half-Lion-Half man --Narsimha to eliminate Hirnakashyap, whenever the evil cannot be killed "conventional" means becuase of boon and whenever Dharma is in danger. Similiarly because of the boon Vali got, Shri Ram has to honor that boon and kill him in "unconventional" way -- this shows Shri Ram is a "perfect man" -- Maryada Purushottam..as Lord Shiva says to His consort Uma in Tulsidas Ramayan that O! Parvati, there is nothing which Shri Ram cannot achieve by the mere thought of it!! There is NO boon which can protect Vali since all boons emerge through HIM, still as a Human incarnation he is ready to take the blame of "unconventional fight" by killing Vali staying behind the tree, just so that a "sanctity" of a boon remains unaffected.!!
Desi Cartman Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Sandtest, I have been trying to find evidence that all this actually happened. Im not sure if this is the correct forum/thread to ask these questions though. I have done limited investigation but I have come up against quotes that are hard to beleive like Hanuman flying to Himalyas and coming back in few hours.
Ram Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 This place is slowly resembling a fish market... This now totally irrelevant thread should first be removed from cricket discussions.
Desi Cartman Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 This place is slowly resembling a fish market... This now totally irrelevant thread should first be removed from cricket discussions. MM, Is it ok to have this kind of discussion in other threads or is it not allowed at all?
Ram Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Finey, there is a lesson in here for you. If you create good, high quality threads that have their basis on solid cricketing news and logic, you will see some excellent debates and discussion. However, if you keep creating time-pass threads targeting a particular section of posters, this is what you will get - Further unqualified nonsense, hardly having any thing to do with cricket. Hope you get the message, this is a cricket forum, you would be well advised to talk good sense about cricket and cricket only.
Ram Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 MM, Is it ok to have this kind of discussion in other threads or is it not allowed at all? By all means, shift this thread to chit chat and post your heart's content on whatever you want. This thread doesnt belong to cricket disc anymore.
Guest HariSampath Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 yeah...this was always a chit chat topic and not cricket talk, right from the begining. I was wondering what was taking mods so long, as it should have been moved to GD long back. Please do it
Desi Cartman Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Sandtest, I have been trying to find evidence that all this actually happened. Im not sure if this is the correct forum/thread to ask these questions though. I have done limited investigation but I have come up against quotes that are hard to beleive like Hanuman flying to Himalyas and coming back in few hours. Once its moved to Chit Chat thread can someone shed some light on this topic.
CC1981 Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 A valid argument for the meaning of "vanara"...but I have some small points for considering. vanara could rightly have meant "forest dwelling men", but could have also meant humans not fully civilised and still retaining monkey characteristics. Afterall the descent of men from apes was not overnight, nor was it uniform throughout the world, there were several stages of evolution and plenty of races in between were thousands of years behind/advanced in terms of stages of evolution. Hence forest dwellers even if interpreted as you mentioned could well mean " a tribe of human-apes with lots of human and ape characteristics , some physical as well " As to historicity, account of the sttories etc, yes, all the stories were indeed written by Rishis and Munis of those periods and later. Most of it was in the poetic form and for centuries passed on through the word of mouth recitations/plays/songs etc. For eg if we write the medieval history of the world and we refer to some incident/people as " they appeared to be from a different planet or world", with reference to the way they behaved and lived ( for eg Moguls, British conquest etc).and if this is interpreted 4000 years later as " in 2000 people believed that beings from a different planet/world came and conquered India...that would be grossly wrong. Who knows how English would be spoken then or how our languages of today would be interpreted. But if they say 4000 years later " these Moguls and British from outer space never came and so never existed"...it would be factually wrong. And if we have just 2 meteorite strikes one each next 2000 years from now, landing on land and the oceans, whole of the world would be wiped out without a trace of what existed before, and probably mankind will start off from primitive stage . How then will such a human race a few thousands of years hence ever have the knowleddge or imagination to believe something like internet and wireless communication existed. If such a small speck of proof is made possible and someone comes across some writing 10,000 years later and interprets it wont they say " there were advanced beings who could communicate across the world instantly talking and hearing. They even went to moon , outer space etc they had miraculous powers of traveling across worlds , across skies , used power from Sun, had divine weapons that destroyed cities countries at a touch" etc . And then if someone says " all that is imaginary , such things are exaggerated and could have never been there"....what about this scenario ? Will it mean that our modern age with all its advancements never existed just because it got wiped out by nature ? I agree that the above is a possibility too. But you see, my point is simple : Truely, we do not know enough to actually start taking these stories and their intended spins as the gospel of truth. It is quite possible that humanity had civilization in pre-ice age societies and it is also (IMO) possible that those societies were mostly around the tropics-mediterranean/China etc. Who knows what really is the factuality behind it.
CC1981 Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 So do you reckon there was a man named Ram whose wife was kidnapped by an evil Sri Lankan king and Ram rescued her with the help of Vanar army and used a bridge made out of floating stones ? Not exactly. But i don't rule out some ancient day-to-day life unfolding being twisted into traditions and 'godhoods'. Perhaps some king from north went to the south coz someone stole his wife, hooked up with a forest tribe , kicked the 'bad guy's' a$$, got his wife back and came back all hunky-dory. Maybe he was a pretty damn good king (just, intelligent, good sense of ethics) and as time went by, his 'amazing reputation' started to be deified .First as a 'model king'--->'God avatar'--->'God' etc. My point is, who knows. The tenets of hinduism is not in the events of the story- its in the analysis of it. That everything is made to be broken, showing compassion,understanding and that there is no absolute evil/absolute good ( this is thoroughly demonstrated in hindu mythologies & epics- from Mahabharata to Ramayana, almost every central character/God-avatar has one critical flaw/moment of utter f*ckup. Hinduism has been traditionally a moderate and compassionate religion-lets keep it tht way.
sandtest Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 Sandtest, I have been try/threaing to find evidence that all this actually happened. Im not sure if this is the correct forumd to ask these questions though. As evident from your post, it is different for different people. Commies of Bengal and Karunanidhi said Shri Ram never existed, a north Indian devotee will say Shri Ram is ParaBrahamn (The Absolute Truth --as said in Vedas and Upanishads). Btw..I am surpirsed hypocrite self proclaimed rationalists like Commies/Karunanidhi never come forward and question, when Christians say that Jesus walked on water and walks in the so called "gardens of heaven". They will keep a defeaning silence when a Mullah will shout on top of his lung after Jumma Namaz that Mohammed once split the moon in two parts! So you see, how in India itself Hinduism is treated as "mythology" and all those rubbish words to denounce us by p-secs, while other belief which is in fact "totalitarian" in nature is considered as "divine" truth in the name if "sikoolarism" in India. see the difference? As far as Lord Shri Ram is concerned, I will only quote once again the famous RigVeda verse... RigVeda (RV 1:164:46) -- Ekam sat, Vipram Bahudha vadanti Meaning -- Truth is Absolute, wise behold it through different names/ways!! see the beauty and degree of flexibility within Dharma! Choose freedom of belief, Choose Dharma!
Desi Cartman Posted January 21, 2008 Posted January 21, 2008 One of the greatest things about India is that you have FREEDOM. No one is forced to learn something about religion and never question it. I question religion all the time and that is not to prove that there was/is no God but just to find it or understand it. I don’t believe that Islam or Christianity is bad but I always wonder why is it that people always see Hinduism as a religion which is strange , basically fictional and on the other hand believe all the miracles Jesus did. What makes me laugh all the time is a statement mentioned in different religious teaching and that is "The only way to god is through Islam/Christianity" and I always wonder that if this is true then large majority of people are going to be disappointed when they meet the REAL and THE ONLY GOD !
fineleg Posted January 21, 2008 Author Posted January 21, 2008 I always wonder that if this is true then large majority of people are going to be disappointed when they meet the REAL and THE ONLY GOD ! Hari Sampath will arrange a Internet interview with the God (as believed in this forum :D) soon :D
The Outsider Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 Bump for fineleg to refresh his/her/it's memories
EnterTheVoid Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 if sachin's god, than I am albert einstein
satishg Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 if sachin's god' date=' than I am albert einstein[/quote'] sorry only GOD can grant you that status :D
zubinpepsi Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 ^^ the real god' date= i hope that has to b one of the best oxymorons..
Lord Posted January 19, 2009 Posted January 19, 2009 this is wat cheeka had to say about sachin Sachin is giving his heart and soul for Indian cricket today. During his innings in Chennai, he took the responsibility of carrying India to victory on his shoulders. In difficult batting conditions, he was sensational. He is the God of Indian cricket. this should settle it