Feed Posted May 14, 2008 Posted May 14, 2008 Story of Manpreet Gony : Gony and ecstasy Manpreet Singh Gony almost gave up cricket due to lack of prospects. Now he can’t walk in Chennai without security guards, reports Ashutosh Sharma. More... Gony and ecstasy Ashutosh Sharma, Hindustan Times Chandigarh, May 15, 2008 First Published: 00:46 IST(15/5/2008) Last Updated: 00:47 IST(15/5/2008) Manpreet Singh Gony has become a star in Chennai. No sooner than the strapping youngster ventures out of his hotel than he is mobbed by fans. "I can’t move around here without security; people mob me wherever I go. I never thought I would ever get so much love and admiration so far away from home," Gony said, clearly enjoying his newfound stardom. Now, that’s something what almost every youngster doing well in the IPL might be experiencing, but Gony’s story is different because he had given up on cricket sometime ago. He felt he had no future in the sport and stopped playing for some time. Had it not been for his coach and mates, he would have been lost to cricket. "Punjab had a pretty decent line of fast bowlers and I was just not getting a chance to get into the state side," he said. "Frustrated, I stopped playing altogether, but my coach Sukhwinder Tinku and friends kept talking to me and coaxed me back to the nets." Another person associated with the Punjab Cricket Association said Gony didn’t seem very serious about his career and was irregular during that time. "But now we are absolutely elated over his success," he said, not wanting to be named. Gony’s time changed with an exodus of sorts from Punjab to the Indian Cricket League in the last season. "There was never any doubt about his talent, but he wasn’t getting a chance to play for the state," said Tinku. "But he got his chance when many Punjab players went to the ICL, and he had a decent opening season in the Ranji Trophy." Another stroke of luck saw Chennai inviting him to join them in the IPL. He wasn’t in their actual scheme of things, but after Sudeep Tyagi, the Uttar Pradesh bowler who was their first choice, got injured, they replaced him with Gony. It was on the recommendation of Bhupinder Singh Senior, the national selector, that VB Chandrashekar, the Chennai official, watched Gony in the Deodhar Trophy. He was impressed with the tall and sturdy bowler. Soon, he was drafted into the side. The rest, as they say, is history. Gony is thrilled with the turn of events. "All I wanted in my life was to play cricket, and I’m glad that I have got a chance to play with the top international stars, and that’s when I had almost given up cricket," he added.
swami1984 Posted May 17, 2008 Posted May 17, 2008 gony over his agony Kolkata, May 17: For Manpreet Gony, life has been a harsh journey. Losing his baby within just 15 days of its birth, Gony and his architect wife Manpreet were drowned sorrow. But the 24 year-old lad from Roopnagar did not give in. Rather, the disaster made him "even tougher." "Those days still haunt me. My wife couldn’t get over the shock of losing Diamond (their baby boy) for days. And the Ranji Trophy too was just a month-and-half away. But, thanks to the Almighty, I didn’t go into oblivion and kept my focus on track. The rest, you can see," Gony said at a city hotel on Saturday. And then, to add to his misfortunes, trouble within his family forced him to leave his ancestral house. However, the opportunity to play in the ongoing IPL has given him a new lease of life. His wife expecting again has put the icing on the cake for the burly cricketer as far as starting things afresh. "Back in 2005, I was being ignored by selectors inspite of my good performances. Frustration crept in and I almost gave up hope. But all of a sudden, while playing in the Deodhar Trophy, I heard that I had been selected by Chennai. It was really a dream come true." But Gony did not forget to thank the JJS Club of Chandigarh where he was groomed. The club used to supply him kit during his days of financial instability. "I am enjoying the glitz and glamour associated with the game. No matter how well I have performed so far, I also do enjoy this yearning of fans for my autograph," Gony said. "I plan to buy a house of my own after this tournament is over," he added. With 11 wickets in 10 matches so far, Gony emphasised the role played by his skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni behind his run of success. "He (Dhoni) always tells me to keep things simple. Moreover, he stresses more on enjoying the game." Cricket means more than life to this promising young medium pacer and he is ready to take on the world with this seven-letter word as his "sole" weapon. "I know I have got the talent to make it to the national team. The rest depends on the Almighty."
fineleg Posted May 17, 2008 Posted May 17, 2008 "I know I have got the talent to make it to the national team. The rest depends on the Almighty." Gony depends on SRT as well!
Zakhmi Posted May 17, 2008 Posted May 17, 2008 Let this Gony keep his cool through out his career, specially when we are having some problems due to the conduct of the players.
kooljatt Posted May 23, 2008 Posted May 23, 2008 The agony and ecstasy of being MS Gony These days Manpreet Singh Gony finds it hard to walk alone on the streets of Chennai for the fear of being mobbed by fans. The 24-year-old, however, remains unperturbed by his rising popularity. Life has indeed taken strange twists and turns for Gony. As he looks back on the past few months, tears well up in his eyes. It was only the other day he and his wife were blessed with a bonny boy, but two weeks later tragedy struck. The cruel hands of fate snatched away their ‘bundle of joy'. As he stood alone in a Delhi hospital, clutching the lifeless body of his baby, the light seemed to have gone out of his life. "We had named him Diamond. We were young parents. The day I first held him in my arms it was a priceless feeling. He was born with a heart problem. The doctors in Delhi tried their best. But I guess God willed otherwise," the tall (6' 4"), well-built Punjab da puttar told TOI. "My wife (Manpreet Kaur) was inconsolable. I had to be strong, but trust me it was difficult. When a father holds the dead body of his son, the other things in life become insignificant. I was selected to represent PCA in the Buchi Babu meet within seven days of this tragedy. I went as it was my maiden call-up, leaving my wife behind," he recalled. How does it feel to be a star? "To be a star you need to play at the highest level. Yes, I am happy that I have got a foothold but now I need to build on it. Fame and money is fine but I am only one season old in first-class cricket. It's pure destiny that I am here today. Had Luv Ablish not opted for ICL, I wouldn't have played for Punjab this season. I was just concentrating on my performance for state team. I never even dreamt of being included as a catchment area player for Team Mohali, let alone Chennai. A good performance in Deodhar Trophy changed things," Gony rushed through his brief career. Strange it is, indeed, but Gony, who now aspires to play for India, had all but given up the game a couple of years back after being ignored by Punjab selectors. "I was frustrated as I was taking wickets in club cricket consistently but was not being considered for selection. I was thinking about leaving but my wife insisted that I should just carry on. Those were hard days," said the school drop-out. "I gave up my studies after XIIth but my wife is a qualified architect. I still don't have a job. I used to earn peanuts playing club cricket. My wife sustained the family," Gony said. Normally lot of parental support is required for sportspersons but Gony and his wife didn't get much supports from that quarter. "I snapped all ties with my parents as they were never nice to my wife," he confessed. "When I used to be away playing club cricket and various office tournaments they would make life hell for her. Those were dark days too. We have since moved in with my in-laws. With IPL and first-class cricket I have gained financial stability, I soon plan to buy my own house and want my wife to take the Civil Services entrance test," he said. http://ipl.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Agony_and_ecstasy_of_being_MS_Gony/articleshow/3051471.cms
kooljatt Posted May 23, 2008 Posted May 23, 2008 awwww...my heart cries for what he had to go through...:(( May god bring you happy times in your life Gony and a beautiful kid :icflove:
satishg Posted May 23, 2008 Posted May 23, 2008 thats indeed touching..he has gone thro a lot in the recent past..may god bring him success and another beautiful kid in his life :icflove:
chanakya Posted May 29, 2008 Posted May 29, 2008 :(( You will make many many more babies, GONY~!! err just not too many
Zakhmi Posted May 31, 2008 Posted May 31, 2008 Manpreet Gony This guy is the one who started the turmoil in the 2nd semifinal...what a talented guy! at the moment it is... wicketkeeper KC Sangakkara c wicketkeeperPatel b Gony 3 4 0 0 75.00 captain Yuvraj Singh c Muralitharan b Gony 4 8 0 0 50.00 two scalps to his name... lets watch more ... if he gets more ... he is the MoM, today!
Sachinism Posted May 31, 2008 Posted May 31, 2008 Cut-price Gony outshines pricey stars When Ishant Sharma went for US$950,000 at the IPL auction in February, Manpreet Gony's name would have elicited a blank stare from most Indian cricket aficionados. You couldn't blame them either. In five first-class games, Gony had just 13 wickets, and there were no howls of protest when he was signed by the Chennai Super Kings rather than his home franchise, the Kings XI Punjab. On Saturday night, with a global audience watching, he returned to silence the thousands that had been given Punjab flags to wave in the stands. He had finished the league stage with 14 wickets, twice what Ishant managed, but he saved his best for the biggest game that he's ever played in. Mahendra Singh Dhoni had gambled by opening the bowling with Muttiah Muralitharan, but after a relatively tidy over, he sensed that pace was the key to settling the contest. With Makhaya Ntini back to his spring-heeled best at one end, Gony was unleashed from the Garware Pavilion End. It took Gony just two balls to justify his captain's faith. When he moved one away from Kumar Sangakkara, there was little response from the Chennai fielders and only a half-hearted plea from his side. Astonishingly though, Sangakkara walked, as Adam Gilchrist had in a World Cup semi-final against Sri Lanka at Port Elizabeth five years ago. In his next over, Gony landed the big fish. It was a short delivery and when Yuvraj got into position for the pull, Chennai fans must have feared the worst. Few hit the ball harder, and most eyes had already veered towards the rope by the time Murali stuck his hands out to take a blinder. At 28 for 3, the game was slip-sliding away from the men in red and grey. When he next stepped up to the bowling crease, Gony came up with what must count as the T20 equivalent of a tiger sighting - the maiden over. And he wasn't bowling to some chump either. Irfan Pathan can wallop the ball a long way, but he couldn't even play it out of the circle as Gony bowled the perfect length at lively pace. And though Mahela Jayawardene finally tapped one behind point for four in his final over, the match had effectively been decidedly two balls earlier, when a catastrophic mix-up sent Pathan on his way. Gony's delight as he whipped off the bails was palpable, and his spell a true reflection of the manner in which Chennai have revived their season after a really sticky patch. His 16 wickets are the second highest for an Indian fast bowler and it was no surprise that his name came up for consideration when the squad was being chosen for the tri-series in Bangladesh and the Asia Cup. Compared to what he has gone through recently off the field, bowling six dot balls would have been a breeze. He and his wife lost their first child, a boy, 15 days after he was born. For him, the IPL hasn't just been a chance to stake his cricketing claim, but also an opportunity to move on. Jayawardene lost a younger brother to cancer when he was a star in the making, and has often spoken of how that traumatic experience helped him to treat what happened on the field with equanimity. The man who shredded his team's hopes tonight would probably be inclined to agree.
Zakhmi Posted June 1, 2008 Posted June 1, 2008 With Makhaya Ntini back to his spring-heeled best at one end, Gony was unleashed from the Garware Pavilion End. It took Gony just two balls to justify his captain's faith. When he moved one away from Kumar Sangakkara, there was little response from the Chennai fielders and only a half-hearted plea from his side. Astonishingly though, Sangakkara walked, as Adam Gilchrist had in a World Cup semi-final against Sri Lanka at Port Elizabeth five years ago. In his next over, Gony landed the big fish. It was a short delivery and when Yuvraj got into position for the pull, Chennai fans must have feared the worst. Few hit the ball harder, and most eyes had already veered towards the rope by the time Murali stuck his hands out to take a blinder. At 28 for 3, the game was slip-sliding away from the men in red and grey. When he next stepped up to the bowling crease, Gony came up with what must count as the T20 equivalent of a tiger sighting - the maiden over. And he wasn't bowling to some chump either. Irfan Pathan can wallop the ball a long way, but he couldn't even play it out of the circle as Gony bowled the perfect length at lively pace. In view of this ↑ he should have been the MoM...he played a vital role in putting Punjab on backfoot. Isn't it?
Willow_on_fire Posted June 1, 2008 Posted June 1, 2008 Manpreet Gony is a very good find...definetely a future prospect for Team India....:two_thumbs_up: Also, like a few have already mentioned....he's lucky to be picked by Chennai whose captain is Mr.cool MSD...and if Dhoni is impressed by Gony's performance...will be perhaps easier to get into the Indian Team. Good luck to the Hunk for being +ve even after losing his little one.
Aaku Posted April 28, 2010 Posted April 28, 2010 His wife's name is also Manpreet :O Shaadi k card pey - Manpreet weds Manpreet hoga ? :O Just like 'Khichdi' :giggle:
achilles Posted April 28, 2010 Posted April 28, 2010 Duh. It would Manpreet Kaur weds Manpreet Singh. And Navjot Singh weds Navjot Kaur :two_thumbs_up: And Daaku, you call yourself Punjabi :headshake: :desiwoman: :hehe:
Cricketics Posted April 29, 2012 Posted April 29, 2012 Don't know what the heck is wrong with DC management. They need to play Gony. He's one of their best.