Jump to content

Here's everything you need to know about ICC's revamped format for 2024 T20 World Cup

Recommended Posts

After the successful conclusion to the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 held in Australia, the ICC has already begun plans for changes in the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup. Perhaps the most significant change brought about by the ICC ahead of the 2024 event is the number of teams participating and the format it will follow.

Unlike the World Cup held down under that had four teams from the First Round joining the Super 12 stage, there is a new and revamped format that will be followed in 2024. The expanded format in the forthcoming marquee event will have the USA and West Indies as the combined hosts. 


As confirmed by the ICC previously, the top eight teams in Australia meaning the top four teams of the Super 12 stage from each group have cemented their spots in the 2024 World Cup. Adding to this, Afghanistan and Bangladesh, the next best teams on the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings have also confirmed their spots. Now as USA and West Indies are the hosts of the event, they get direct qualification for the two spots, which in total make up 12 spots.

Regional Qualifiers to also decide a few teams in 2024 T20 WC

Now, for the remaining eight spots, the 2024 tournament will be decided in regional play. Unlike the Global Qualifier framework that took place till the 2022 event, the 2024 competition will see an added emphasis on the regional fixtures that will determine the final spots. 


Two spots each have been allocated to the regions of Africa, Asia, and Europe making up six spots in total. The remaining two spots will be allocated to the Americas and East Asia-Pacific with a spot each. These teams will together make up eight spots in total.

Now, the 20 (12+8) teams in total for the 2024 event will be split into four groups of five. Further, the top two teams in each group will progress to the Super 8 stage instead of a Super 12 stage which happened until this edition.

Adding to this, the eight teams will further be divided into two groups of four teams each and the top two sides will progress to the elimination rounds. The elimination rounds will remain the same with two semi-finals and one final.

The 2024 event will have 55 matches throughout the tournament with one-third of the matches will take place in the United States, with the rest held in West Indies. Furthermore, the revamped, extended format will remain in place until the 2030 World Cup as per ICC.

Link to comment

In short:


Means of qualification Date Venue Berths Qualified
Hosts 2 23px-Flag_of_the_United_States.svg.png United States
23px-WestIndiesCricketFlagPre1999.svg.pn West Indies
2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup
(Top 8 teams from the previous tournament)
November 2022 Australia Australia 8 23px-Flag_of_Australia_%28converted%29.s Australia
23px-Flag_of_England.svg.png England
23px-Flag_of_India.svg.png India
23px-Flag_of_the_Netherlands.svg.png Netherlands
23px-Flag_of_New_Zealand.svg.png New Zealand
23px-Flag_of_Pakistan.svg.png Pakistan
23px-Flag_of_South_Africa.svg.png South Africa
23px-Flag_of_Sri_Lanka.svg.png Sri Lanka
ICC Men's T20I Team Rankings
(Next 2 teams from the ICC T20I team rankings)
14 November 2022   2 23px-Flag_of_Afghanistan_%282004%E2%80%9 Afghanistan
23px-Flag_of_Bangladesh.svg.png Bangladesh
Africa Qualifier     2  
Americas Qualifier     1  
Asia Qualifier     2  
East Asia-Pacific Qualifier     1  
Europe Qualifier     2  
Total     20  
Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...