Indian pace bowling all rounders

2 hours ago, Suhaan said:

Bad comparison,Pandya anyday is far better a bowler than Deshpande

Not all 140+ bowlers should be compared with Deshpande

In favourable conditions England,Pandya too won a test entirely of his bowling

One test cannot be extrapolated and project his career. First and foremost requirement for a fast bowler he should be able to bowl. He has an average of 7 overs per innings. Even Abid Ali has won a match with 6 for 55. So many average pacers have won matches with fifers

31 minutes ago, Majestic said:

If Pandya played in 80s, his skills set won't have been like this. Nobody in India knew back then how to bowl fast and swing the ball both ways.

Pandya inspite of all that picked 17 wickets in 11 tests :phehe:

Pandya is far inferior to Tendulkar the bowler in Tests. Let us put this way.

30 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

One test cannot be extrapolated and project his career. First and foremost requirement for a fast bowler he should be able to bowl. He has an average of 7 overs per innings. Even Abid Ali has won a match with 6 for 55. So many average pacers have won matches with fifers

That's not the point,you generalised it

Pandya is not an only 140+ bowler,he has certainly developed as a bowler

You have compared him with Deshpande

Is every 140+ bowler loose cannon?

Not comparing Pandya with Kapil,and if I do and eventually find him inferior to Kapil that doesn't mean he's rubbish as many here making him to be

Having a fifer overseas is better than having zero fifer ,even after getting good number of opportunities

Edited by Suhaan
16 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

That's not the point,you generalised it

Pandya is not an only 140+ bowler,he has certainly developed as a bowler

You have compared him with Deshpande

Is every 140+ bowler loose cannon?

Not comparing Pandya with Kapil,and if I do and eventually find him inferior to Kapil that doesn't mean he's rubbish as many here making him to be

Having a fifer overseas is better than having zero fifer ,even after getting good number of opportunities

Irfan Pathan at the age of 19 bowled 44 overs and took 3 wickets against Pakistan in Pakistan. Not only that. In the same match he added 127 runs with Yuvraj to lift India from 174/7 to respectable total.  He and Balaji played major role in that Pakistan series win. Pandya taking a fifer in a random innings won't make him  a test class bowler.  I would take Irfan Pathan any day over him. For one thing he will be able to bowl as man overs as you want. Pandya can't even bowl 4 over spell two matches in a row. We shouldn't get carried away with his short bursts in IPL. 

Edited by vvvslaxman
31 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Irfan Pathan at the age of 19 bowled 44 overs and took 3 wickets against Pakistan in Pakistan. Not only that. In the same match he added 127 runs with Yuvraj to lift India from 174/7 to respectable total.  He and Balaji played major role in that Pakistan series win. Pandya taking a fifer in a random innings won't make him  a test class bowler.  I would take Irfan Pathan any day over him. For one thing he will be able to bowl as man overs as you want. Pandya can't even bowl 4 over spell two matches in a row. We shouldn't get carried away with his short bursts in IPL. 

Irfan was great until chappeli ruined him

9 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Pace variation is tactical according to the pitch and conditions and is a right approach if a bowler wants to have a long career. Can't go full pace all time. 

Agree...I was just replying that he don't consistently bowl 145k..that's not his natural pace.

It's when he gives extra effort he clocks that speed. Ofcourse, its tough to maintain your fitness if you put more effort behind every bowl.

9 hours ago, Suhaan said:

He seems to be an intelligent bowler in T20 s

In short bursts ,when needed bowls consistently bowls in 140s to 145+

I have no complaints for his bowling,it has surely evolved but it's batting that has nosedived

Yeah, and thats where he is happy/content with as well. He sees himself as a white ball specialist and if he can give 3 overs in T20's and 6-8 overs in ODI. I am fine with him. 

His batting has been found out against hard length, and it will continue to be unless he learns a way to counter that.

2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Irfan wasn't superior to current Pandya,by no means

If you go by first 11 tests of both

Pathan>>Pandya

Pandya's Achilles heels is surely his poor fitness,which he can't help

We don't know what he considers good for his future,maybe comeback to tests

Pandya's case has declined due to his decline in batting and poor fitness for longer formats(that's what you are implying,correct?and plus you don't find him that good anyway)

Edited by Suhaan
Just now, Suhaan said:

Irfan wasn't superior to current Pandya,by no means

Both had similar stats in first 11 tests

Pandya's Achilles heels is surely his poor fitness,which he can't help

We don't know what he considers good for his future,maybe comeback to tests

Pandya's case has declined due to his decline in batting and poor fitness for longer formats(that's what you are implying,correct?and plus you don't find him that good anyway)

How can you hype someone who played as 5th bowler and compare with someone who opened the bowling and also took a hatrick with new ball. At 19 years he bowled that many overs. First and foremost requirement for a fast bowler is fitness. Stats can be misleading. Pathan's firs tour was against ATG team Australia in Australia. Then Pakistan in Pakistan. absolutely docile tracks. Then against ATG side Australia to India. He made a valiant 55 batting for nearly 4 hours against Mcgrath/Gillespie/Kaspa/Warne. He was mere 19. Then he opened at Perth. He was the man of the match for Perth Test win once against a strong Aussie side and Bucknor. Pandya has achieved zilch in Tests to be compared with any fast bowler from any era let alone Kapil dev.

1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said:

How can you hype someone who played as 5th bowler and compare with someone who opened the bowling and also took a hatrick with new ball. At 19 years he bowled that many overs. First and foremost requirement for a fast bowler is fitness. Stats can be misleading. Pathan's firs tour was against ATG team Australia in Australia. Then Pakistan in Pakistan. absolutely docile tracks. Then against ATG side Australia to India. He made a valiant 55 batting for nearly 4 hours against Mcgrath/Gillespie/Kaspa/Warne. He was mere 19. Then he opened at Perth. He was the man of the match for Perth Test win once against a strong Aussie side and Bucknor. Pandya has achieved zilch in Tests to be compared with any fast bowler from any era let alone Kapil dev.

No,i corrected it

Pathan started with a bang,read my post again

But,during those days as well,i thought he fared better against SC sides

7 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

No,i corrected it

Pathan started with a bang,read my post again

But,during those days as well,i thought he fared better against SC sides

Forget about Irfan pathan. He has not achieved as much as Shardul Thakur with bat and ball in Tests. As i said if T10 evolves he has a role to play. Even in T20 he bowls once every 3 or 4 matches. 

11 hours ago, rkt.india said:

No one can predict what could have Kapil done in modern day cricket. it is futile. Someone like pandya who can bowl 145K would be worth gold in the 70-80s for Team India, not so sure about Kapil in current cricketing scenario.  

I love how people here say that x can bowl 145, y can bowl 150.

One ball at 145 in 10 overs doesn't mean you are a 145 bowler, lol. 

Pandya is a 135-137kph bowler. 

For some Bumrah is also a 150kph bowler and Shami a 145 kph bowler lol. 

11 hours ago, Suhaan said:

He seems to be an intelligent bowler in T20 s

In short bursts ,when needed bowls consistently bowls in 140s to 145+

I have no complaints for his bowling,it has surely evolved but it's batting that has nosedived

Can you pls show us how may times he bowled 145+?

Any proof you have? 

Bas kuch bhi bol do kyuki Indian forum hai baaki sab bhi agree kar hi lenge. 

You have to be either blind, mad or delusional to call Pandya a 145 kph bowler. 

3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

I'm not advocating Pandya here,

But Pandya's sample size is too low for tests

11 hours ago, rkt.india said:

still batsmen would rather face Kapil than Flintoff.   

Pace is pace yaar.... Haina. 

Players will rather face Kapil than Lee, doesn't make Lee a better test bowler. 

Pace fantasy is getting to delusional level here, lagta hai Umran Malik ko over mai 6 sixes ghalne ke baad hi log line pe aaenge. 

1 minute ago, Adamant said:

Can you pls show us how may times he bowled 145+?

Any proof you have? 

Bas kuch bhi bol do kyuki Indian forum hai baaki sab bhi agree kar hi lenge. 

You have to be either blind, mad or delusional to call Pandya a 145 kph bowler. 

Tum bakloli mat Kiya Karo,did I mean anywhere he's a Mark wood type pacer?