https://united24media.com/latest-news/india-integrates-meteor-missiles-on-su-30mki-jets-boosting-long-range-air-superiority-12529

I think this 1500 crore meteor order should be read in the context of india integrating it with the home grown radar on all platforms. More need for missiles than 36.

I also think people need to avoid coming to judgements based on X. Its senationalises matters. India has a meteor shortage is for sure due to mbna.

18 hours ago, IndianRenegade said:

No Meteor. So after the Balakot fiasco to this day IAF will be fighting with its hands behind its back against an airforce with a fraction of its budget.

If this was Congress, ppl will be calling them inept at best or traitors at worst. IAF chief must be court-martialed & RM must be sacked.

They sold it as the deal claiming if we had rafale India would have had the edge during Balakot, MICAs don’t even out range AIMs that PAF has!

heads must role, f#ck BJP. They are corrupt a**holes too.

Will you be retracting this post based on what has been posted and discussed?

3 hours ago, G_B_ said:

https://indianmasterminds.com/news/india-su-30mki-super-sukhoi-upgrade-air-dominance-155818/

A suspect source. But in line with most of what i suspect

It shows how important Su30MKIs are for IAF.

Its the only jet in Indian airforce capable of carrying all Astra missiles, Rudram missiles, conventional brahmos as well as the NG variant.

Bigger fighter jets do have a key place, their higher payload delivering capacity gives them an unmatchable advantage.

7 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Our unpreparedness is bound to cost us...

China will continue playing these games to test the waters.

China is gearing up to gulp down Taiwan, and hence, it needs to ensure that any future second front strike from Indian side can be negated. Indian missiles reaching the depths of Shanghai & Beijing, they're seeing that as a potential challenge.

Key thing for us is to not get distracted and rather continue working on our programs. Kaveri, various missile programs, INS Vishal, Kusha, Submarines and indigenious fighter jets are the key.

Once we gain self reliance on these, it will be easier to produce new weapons courtesy of an established militaty complex, which would also contribute to our GDP growth.

18 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

China is gearing up to gulp down Taiwan, and hence, it needs to ensure that any future second front strike from Indian side can be negated. Indian missiles reaching the depths of Shanghai & Beijing, they're seeing that as a potential challenge.

Key thing for us is to not get distracted and rather continue working on our programs. Kaveri, various missile programs, INS Vishal, Kusha, Submarines and indigenious fighter jets are the key.

Once we gain self reliance on these, it will be easier to produce new weapons courtesy of an established militaty complex, which would also contribute to our GDP growth.

They will surely want to create a buffer zone in the five fingers region before Taiwan 

We should be on high alert

6 hours ago, MechEng said:

I don't see China engaging in any sort of conventional warfare, they will play all mind games and do posturing like Vajpayee's Parakram. Also, China was already miles ahead of us even without the bunker missiles. No contest at all.

Only place where China may lag behind is in the real world combat experience, since they've never fought real wars in a long time.

We should not prepare for China, they will keep playing mind games. Our primary focus should be the US-Pakistan nexus now.

Focusing on China cover all the bases 

They will fight us sooner or later, so preparing for them early is right

China will always put pressure while we are engaged with Pakistan 

Our military build-up should always be China specific 

2 hours ago, Suhaan said:

Focusing on China cover all the bases 

They will fight us sooner or later, so preparing for them early is right

China will always put pressure while we are engaged with Pakistan 

Our military build-up should always be China specific 

Yes, I think the inclusion of Zorawar is based on the same. Light tanks suitable for terrains.
Rail launch missile systems are another key to the same. We have Su30MKI in Pasighat airstrip as well.
Plus majority of Akash AD and Barack are pointed towards NE and Eastern borders only...to compensate for the less sq strength.

4 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

All this is pretty good while away.. a lot of the problems we face are immediate.

Enemy's won't wait for us to bridge the gap.

Problem is Import Bahadurs have screwed India in both short and long term.

MoD baboons are still sceptical of giving huge orders for domestic defence stuff.  CCS clearance takes a long while if they miraculously do.

Overall we face a lot of internal issues.  You can't face and enemy like China with both your hands tied.  Armed forces gear is sheer third world level.. it's comical when we see our Armed Personnel in those exercises with western modern equipped professional forces.  Those images regularly pop up whenever there is an exercise.

In short term we should shore up our defensive posture along LAC to make sure we keep the damage to a minimum and inflict serious casualties. Offense toh bhul jao..

7 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

It shows how important Su30MKIs are for IAF.

Its the only jet in Indian airforce capable of carrying all Astra missiles, Rudram missiles, conventional brahmos as well as the NG variant.

Bigger fighter jets do have a key place, their higher payload delivering capacity gives them an unmatchable advantage.

you will be surprised how effective even tejas mk1 will be with aesa radar and astra 2/meteor—limited and specific role as an interceptor hooked to ground-based radar. Its thrust-to-weight ratio is greater than 1 which makes it good for places like Leh

I also think that India should not rely on Meteor as French seem to have dangled it for more rafale and are simply saying yes to what India proposes.

Astra mk2 to mk4 is what India should rely on. But India should also get ToT for r37 export versions. Foolish to rely on the meteor, no matter how good.

Exclusive: HAL may miss 2026 Tejas delivery target; indigenous radar dropped

https://www.zeebiz.com/companies/news-hal-may-miss-2026-tejas-delivery-target-indigenous-radar-dropped-as-iaf-seeks-war-worthy-not-fly-worthy-jet-381992

According to the sources, the indigenous content in the Mk-1A variant has declined, primarily due to the inability to integrate the Uttam Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar developed by DRDO’s LRDE

Looks like spoke too soon....interestingly no issues with integrating Virupaksha AESA radar on mki.....mki being the bigger bird has no issues with size dimension etc? Seems we can integrate anything on it...brahmos astra. Truly more valuable to India than rafale.

I think India should have focused on 600 mki with new 400km indian aesa radar (upgradable) and brahmos 2 + astra mk3....with a capacity to produce 20 of these birds a year. The bird would stay the same but the armaments and radars and ground based network would constantly be updated. This would be a proper multirole 4.5 gen fighter over which you have 100% control. You can supplement this core with imported stuff. This jet would stay within indian air space to make up for lack of stealth.

While i think import lobby is not right, neither is the desi homegrown lobby. Truth lay somewhere in the middle.

46 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

I think India should have focused on 600 mki with new 400km indian aesa radar (upgradable) and brahmos 2 + astra mk3....with a capacity to produce 20 of these birds a year. The bird would stay the same but the armaments and radars and ground based network would constantly be updated. This would be a proper multirole 4.5 gen fighter over which you have 100% control. You can supplement this core with imported stuff. This jet would stay within indian air space to make up for lack of stealth.

While i think import lobby is not right, neither is the desi homegrown lobby. Truth lay somewhere in the middle.

I am sure along with MKI we can integrate anything with Su57 as well.

Extremely disappointed with Tejas fiasco so far, so much noise, very little end result.

20 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

I am sure along with MKI we can integrate anything with Su57 as well.

Extremely disappointed with Tejas fiasco so far, so much noise, very little end result.

The question is do you need su57 when mki does the job.

Better off buying gen 5 and 6 fighters off the rack or joining consortiums that exist like tempest etc. Focus on radar drones and armament. 

As i keep saying ghatak derivatives should be in within reach. Much lower bar. Focus on those.

India and drdo 15 to 20 years behind in capability for true fighter jet.

15 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

The question is do you need su57 when mki does the job.

Better off buying gen 5 and 6 fighters off the rack or joining consortiums that exist like tempest etc. Focus on radar drones and armament.

As i keep saying ghatak derivatives should be in within reach. Much lower bar.

MKIs engines is becoming redundant, and its heat signature is massive. Good for standoff strikes but it cant carry deep precision strikes without carrying a wingman (Man or Unmanned).

Su57 isnt a true 5th gen stealth, yet its RCS is quite lower than MKI, have more hard points, in body weapon storage and a potential variant with AL51 engine will give it an impeccable maneuverability. Although, there are question marks on the assembly unit in Russia.

Recently Indian engineers did went to Russia to check the AL51 engine development, and it will be a key military deal when Putin will come to India.

Edited by singhvivek141
15 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Will you be retracting this post based on what has been posted and discussed?

Sorry what specific info are you referring to? Opinions are bound to change based on new info, so certainly if there is information that contradicts my opinion I will change it.

but based on what I read it seems to suggest delay in MBDA deliveries, if that’s the information you are referring to, then I am not sure that it absolves the govt.

Everything I have read seems to suggest the very reason India went for rafales in fly by condition are because of the imminent need modern jet that can counter f16 threat, depleting squadron strength & the delays expected with indigenisation. So India should have got some meteors out of France’s inventory. If there was none, then the deal itself seems to be flawed. 

Edited by IndianRenegade