SachDan Posted November 27, 2008 Posted November 27, 2008 Former Prime Mimister VP Singh dies at Appolo Hospital,Delhi at the age of 77 due to prolonged illness
Desi Cartman Posted November 27, 2008 Posted November 27, 2008 he was suffering from cancer for at least 12-14 years
SachDan Posted November 27, 2008 Author Posted November 27, 2008 he was suffering from cancer for at least 12-14 years yeah.He was battling with blood cancer.
talksport Posted November 27, 2008 Posted November 27, 2008 RIP ...VP , High Points : Bofors Low Points: Mandal
Laaloo Posted November 27, 2008 Posted November 27, 2008 RIp Was this guy good or bad? Please excuse my ignorance in indian politics
Desi Cartman Posted November 27, 2008 Posted November 27, 2008 RIp Was this guy good or bad? Please excuse my ignorance in indian politics a topic for another day ... he just passed away today ...
Gambit Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 Given his actions, it was quite fitting that his death got almost zero coverage.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 Given his actions' date=' it was quite fitting that his death got almost zero coverage.[/quote'] Other than Bofors even there he didn't puruse it after coming to power. Exactly (1) Mandal nonsense (2) Precedence of releasing terrorist for fake kidnap of Rubia Saeed (3) Propping up likes of Laloo and Mulayam It wud be icing on cake if his advisor that geriatric Prem Shankar Jha dies similar ignominous death.
The Outsider Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 I hope this guy does not rest in peace.....I lost a family friend in Mandal commission immolations/riots and can never forgive this ba$tard. I hope he shares a prison cell with Saddam Hussain in hell.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 I hope this guy does not rest in peace.....I lost a family friend in Mandal commission immolations/riots and can never forgive this ba. I hope he shares a prison cell with Saddam Hussain in hell. Man nobody likes him suddenly I have some sympathy for this guy:haha:
vroomfondel Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 Man nobody likes him suddenly I have some sympathy for this guy:haha: Strange. I was thinking the same thing. I actually remember shouting VP Singh hai hai with a bunch of other kids in school, before I even knew what the hell Mandal commission was, or why I was hai-haing. There is a well written obit piece in frontline: http://www.flonnet.com/stories/20081219252512400.htm “I AM standing before you here in flesh and blood. If you like to physically assault me, you can do it now. You do not have to throw stones from a distance or scream at me from afar. Come here, do what you want. I am ready to face everything. I have the conviction that I am doing right when I seek to bring social justice and equality to this society and our country.†With these words Vishwanath Pratap Singh moved sideways from the mike and took two steps forward on the dais. He was right in front daring potential attackers. Silence engulfed the environs of that extraordinary public meeting. Until that moment, the predominantly Dalit-Other Backward Classes (OBC) meeting was under constant brickbatting from a group of people who had taken cover in nearby buildings. Bottles and stones that came hurtling through the air had found two other important targets on the dais – former Union Ministers Sharad Yadav and Ajit Singh. Both suffered injuries on the head and were rushed to hospital for first aid. It was at this moment that V.P. Singh stepped in to speak. The silence hung in the air for what seemed an eternity; the assault too stopped. It was a rare instance of magical, emotive political oration that one had the privilege of witnessing. The meeting progressed without untoward incidents thereafter. This happened 18 years ago, in November 1990, and remains one of my most enduring experiences as a political journalist. Barely two weeks had passed after V.P. Singh had been ousted as Prime Minister following the withdrawal of support to the National Front (N.F.) government by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The political atmosphere in the country, especially in North India, was surcharged in the tussle between the Mandir and Mandal positions represented respectively by the BJP and other members of the Sangh Parivar and the V.P. Singh-led N.F.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 Rajeev Gandhi's response in parliament against Mandal is a discourse in fairness. Everyone should read it. V P Singh was a moron he did ithat for politics. Fact is there for everyoen to see all these years for instance average marks of UPSc successful candidates in general category and OBC differed by mere 1-2%. This knd of difference one cud see if one restricts any group under some category. OBC were never persecuted in fact they were and have been champion persecuters of dalits. 67% of ruling class have historicall been OBC right from Chandrgupta Maurya to Jaat rulers. So this OBC affrimatve action was nothigin but political nonsense.
Guest dada_rocks Posted December 4, 2008 Posted December 4, 2008 Can I lock this thread? Nobody cares you can even delete it. That guy deserves the complete ignominy. Some pity once in a while may arise but that's it, no respect whatsoever.