Cricketics Posted December 25, 2008 Posted December 25, 2008 Lurker a) Tell me about yourself. No really. I supposed I have discussed online cricket with you for a while but I have absolutely no clue about you. So let us in on your secrets, if only a bit. Well I am a very simple, modest and a very "Down to earth" person. I am nature lover and enjoy visiting different places. My Friends are very important to me as they are the ones with whom i spend most of time here in States. I love playing Pool and have a Pool table at home where we all play the game while watching cricket match side by side on tv located rite near the table. I have seen almost every phase of life. from the bad ones to the good ones. The curreent life is great. I just love this life. Also, I just hate Birthdays. Not because I am aging but because I hate too much attention which comes with it. I never liked it since my teenage life. Never was fond of it. Always used to tell a fake b'day date to Amigos, whenever asked about it. Apart from all that, i am an easy going person trying to win a mega billion lottery here in states, so that i can close the damn IT work and go back to India, and live my dream, which is to represent India. And just how do you manage to be so Active in Political & Current Affairs section. What? Kya baat kar rah hai yaar. I am active there but not that much. There are some other folkz who are more then me. I just go there from time to time. Don't post too much there, but read the threads avidly started by all the posteres. starting from dada rocks, boss bhai, you(lurker), sandest etc... c) Has it ever happened to you that you christen someone as "legendz" only to think a few weeks later - Cr@p what was i thinking? If so who ? lol, Rofl. Na that doesn't happen often. Infact it never happens. since i chose this great term only for some special players who i know would not disappoint me. d) Your 2 favorite cricket matches. One whose video you have and another whose video you wished you had. So many man. Just to name 1 - Australia vs South Africa semi final 1999 wc. and the one which i wish i could see, is the the Dhaka final against pakistan. The third of the best of 3 finals. Kanitkar's game as it is commanly known as. e) You seem to have serious desire to play at the highest level of cricket. What is the highest level of cricket have you played? And any chance of taking it further? I studied in Salwan school. A very famous school for Academics plus sports. The Coach of our school was and still is Bantu Singh. A very famous name in the Indian dressing room. Perhaps almost every current Indian player would be aware of. He is a Sikh and is often seen sitting in Indian dressing room whenever the game is in Delhi. Because of him I managed to earn a spot in tryouts for Delhi team. where i met folkz like Virat Kohli, Aakash Chopra(he was alredy in Delhi side that time and used to just come to practice), Dhawan, Sanghvi etc. but guess, that wasn't written in my destiny since I had to come over to USA all of a sudden. and since then i never returned back to India. I played for Salwan Public School against Modern School in a famous game which we lost. That was my last major game in Delhi. Now here in States, i restarted my Cricket. f) Cricketics would prefer to be: 1) A woman's man. A playboy who can dress right, day the right things and in general have his way with women. 2) A man's man. A rugged male who treats women with respect but thats that, all of his friends want him on their side when chips go down. The 2nd one g) Your most awkward moment in the Internet world? I was chatting on yahoo messenger with one of my friends and was typing on the chat window "abey harami" and all of a sudden another window popped up on my screen which was of my cuzon sister and that message which said "Abey harami" was typed in that window because of that sudden pop up which i wasn't aware of and she was like "Huh?" are u (my name)? Rite" Then I called her rite away and told her that my account got hacked, someone is using my account and stuff etc etc and put curtains to the topic in my style. ------------------------------------------------------------------------- Desi_Cartman 1. Meaning of life ? Life is all about spending time with parents and siblings and friends. and nothing else. as a sportsman - CRICKET IS LIFE 2. Your favorite cricketer ? Not one seriously. Plenty man. To name few - Tendulkar, Sehwag, Dravid, Rhodes, Cronje, Warne etc. 3. Your biggest achievement in life ? Having born in India. Apart from that, Nothing yet. Craving something great, hope to achieve that one day. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Ludhianvi -I sense that you play cricket. Are you primarily a batsman or a bowler and what type of batsmen(aggresive) and fast/spin bowler? I am picked by my team as a bowler. I love bowling. but at the same time i often feel for my batting. I am too good a batsman to be just considered as a bowler. I haven't done anything great in batting here in States and hence people have their false views but i haven't been given much chance to bat on top either. I am Fast bowler and often say to the umpire "Rite Arm Over the Wicket from Darjao End" -Give an interesting feat or story you would like to share of your playing days Well there have been many great moments in my cricket games. The one which i would never forget would be the one in which i was trying to sledge a batsman for the very first time. I was the Bowler and appealed for LBW 3 times in 4 deliveries which i bowled to this pakistani who was batting. Umpire denied me all the time(since he had alredy given couple of lbw decision and thats how the umpiring works here). So when my over came to an end, I went to that short mid wicket area and stood there yawning to eat that packhole umpire. I was getting bored since batsman where just ticking ticking and not scoring runs and then all of a sudden i said loudly "Chalo Chalo, agli ball pe HIT WICKET hoga" that didn't happen. but the next over which i bowled, it happend that time. All the team players just came and Desi style celebrations were on. Everyone climbed over me. Hit Wicket, a rare dismissal which doesn't even happen, and had never happend in our league from past 3 yeas, happend so quickly and that too after someone predicted it.. thats one of the most memorable moment. That Celebration of the wicket infact. -When picking groceries, do you pick up a fruit and assume its a ball and spin it like a spinner before putting it in your cart? O YA man. That happens all the time. Here, there is a Korean store called "Grand Mart" where i often go to get fruits and vegetables and there we see so many apples, beautifully qued, and from there I pick one and start assuming it as a cricket ball and play catch-catch with it. -Suppose you have a get-together with Predator_05 and Holysmoke and Blue_Brigade. How would it pan out? I would be fine with predator and i think we would get along well since we both hail from same place. We wiill be buzy talking trash about Mumbai and the two of its guju knuckleheads holy and briage. They will end up leaving the party and would to patel brothers to buy the on-sale manikchand supari packet ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- SachDan 1.When did you start watching cricket seriously? Any particular player who made you addicted to this beautiful game? To be frank, i seriously don't remember that. I am watching from long long time and don't remember which game was the first one which i watched seriously. Infact the first game which i might have watched would have been watched by me with a lot seriousness as i was playing and watching cricket since i was 3 yrz old 2.If you have to pay 1000$ to watch a particular player on a day,who would it be Sach.. or Lara? SACHIN TENDULKAR......any day. 3.How much you think will affect us once fab five retires? can Fab one alone save us? I just love our Indian team and each and every player who plays for India. I will back all of them all the time. Whenever thes FAB players would retire(couple of them alredy have), I don't think Indian team would lose anything but some great cricketers. All these guys - Sachin, Dravid, Laxman, Ganguly, Kumble have embeded the fight and spirt among the young generation of India so much that it will show it's Great and Brutal after affects when they would retire. Those 20+ years of Cricket from Tendulkar, those fantastic performances in crucial test victories from Dravid and Kumble and those mighty centuries, captaincy and fivers from laxman, ganguly and Kumble respectively have been watched by millions of young Indians who now strive for that Indian cap day in day out just to emulate or better their idols. Our Country has been blessed with such talent, and we have been starting to see the affect of the FAB FIVE already. Our Indian Cricket is on sky high rite now and may it continue to prosper like this. People say they will stop watching when Tendulkar and all would retire. I won't. I will be very sad the day Dravid, Tendulkar, Sehwag, Laxman retire. but it won't stop me from seeing India play in their next match even if it's against any minnow nation. I have seen and followed massive amount of cricket matches and hence retirement of these special players won't stop me from supporting and watchign my next generation India. 4.Is ICF the best forum you have been posting?if so why? As a Cricket forum, yes this is the best cricket forum i have been too. I have been member of, and admin of various other forums which included cricket as just a mere section on its forum. Plenty of people used to pay more attention towards other section and not to cricket. People won't discuss cricket on such forums and the thread would have 500 views and 1 reply often. So I had begun my quest to find a good decent Cricket forum, where i could post often and my quest ended last year in March 07 Coffee_Rules Just one request. List all the funny Hindi oneliners you know. Like this one. Ghagre mein Dhaam Dhoom. To be frank, they just come in my mind just when a funny thing takes place or whenever there is a situation which deservz to be polished with few humorously insulting sentences/words. Can't thing of any new ones. it just strikes whenever there is a given situation. they come and they go away. May be i will try to make a list one day. Marirs_Mania 1) What are the countries that you have lived in? Which is your most favorite and least favorite? India, Australia, Bangkok, Singapore, Canada, Uk and United States. Most Favorite - India Least Favorite - Singapore 2) Whats the main reason behind this unbelievable passion for cricket in you? Did any of your family member encourage you to follow this sport right from childhood. It just happend itself. I just used to change TV Channels and used to stop at star sports or espn where some old cricket game highlights used to be coming. Used to wait for next morning so that i could play cricket again. At 6 o clock in the morning, i used to be hitting the ghanti buttong of my friend's house so that i could wake him up and call him to play. His father used to get mad at me sometimes... Well it's not that any family member of mine asked me to play cricket. There are parents which mak their kids study all the time. thankfully my parents never did that. My Dad always wanted me to play and study both. He never forced me to study all the time. Infact even during board exams, he used to say me "Woh udhar Khel rahe hai, tu kyon nahi jaata?" translation "they are playing, why don't you go? 3) Amongst all Delhi players, who is your most favorite? Virender Sehwag 4) How many cricket matches have you seen live, in the stadium? O, a lot of them. Mostly in Delhi. My personal favorite is the Kumble test of 1999 against pakistan at Kotla. 5) Any other past-times, apart from cricket? I do photography now. Wherever i travel, i take my camera and take pictures. Love playing Pool, Tennis, table tennis 6) And, have you ever been to South India Nope, but would definately visit one day. Dravid - your fav. paki player? Wasim Akram Satishg 1) Have you ever been to Chennai? No Mate.. would love to visit one day though. May be bunch of ICfers would meet one day at chepauk stadium watching a rained out game. that would be kool. 2) So is cricketics the same positive guy as he is in following cricket where u say India will win no matter wat? You Bet. I don't like pessimistic thoughts and often feel like sending an insulting remark to a person who is always showing pessimism 3) Where are you put up rite now and wats ur profession? Working for small software company owned by a Great person. 4) How come u seem to watch all cricket matches, dont u have a boss or u are the boss at the place where u work? I am lucky to have a job which i have. I can often work from home and finish and don't even have to go to the work place. I am not the boss. 5) So if u ever meet Hari in person do u think u wud be able to have a meanigful conversation with him or u feel u both wud end up in a brawl Well if i meet Hari, the first thing i will do is, i will start throriwng questions at him of Indian cricket history. LIKE "Hari bhai, woh krish shrikanth ne is match mein kitne catch liye the" etc etc. i don't think the conversation would be meaningful. Beetle 1)Your posts have become pretty tame these days Are you scared of Chandan? - since i am answering these questions pretty late so this question might look little awkward to people. Well no my post didn't get tame cauz of Chandan. She is a good mod and moderates well and tries to keep the forum clean which is good. May be those days i might have been going through some utter crap life which could be seen in my daily posts. 2)Who is your fav poster and why? Dhondy.. I don't really agree with his posts everytime when he talks about cricket. but more often he makes a lot of sense and describes the whole situation in big paras which are worth reading again and again. Just love his threads and i posts. If he ever writes a book in future, i would be the first one to buy that, regardless of the topic the book is on, or regardless of me not interested in the topic. i would just buy it and may be read it actually to gain something 3)How do you find this MB compared to others out there? So many Indians chatting together, discussing together the game we love, sharing emotions etc. All of this makes me like this forum. 4) Tandoori chicken or Palak Paneer? none of the above, actually the paneer dish which i like the most is Shahi Paneer 5) Kadak Chai or Beer? A good home-made Cold Coffee 6)What is more romantic....A drive in the rain, sailing together in a calm river or trekking together in the wild? Trekking together in the wild....that one 7) Who is your best friend here? No one in particular..They all are good to me. Shwetabh 1. Who writes your lines? The class in me is perhaps the answer to this question. My parents never forced me to study-study all the time which alwasy kept me kool and i had to never take any stress.. As a student i never had to take any pressure from parents and hence my approach to life was always easy and thats benifiting me today. Holysmoke -What do you do when India does so bad in a game.(like this one against SL). Does it affect your mood for a couple of days? Are you grumpy and getting frustrated with everything around you? Or have you learnt to control it, if so how? It does affect my mood. On such days, I curse few people again and again in a mute tone and take out my frustration. As for Indian players, I go to cricket forums and try to back them in front of many cricket fans who would have started to talk trash about a certain individual player who didn't perform well in the game which we had lost. I never lose hope and i am never frustrated on any player after such defeats. I continue to back them. Predator What makes us dilliwaale so cool ? Our Location, Our Brain, our approach, our punjabiness and kamini-panti, our h@raminess, Our Capital Status etc.. Rajeev How much money you send home every month Nothing. No one needs it there. Everyone in my family is well settled. BossBhai You are by far the biggest cricket fanatic I have ever come across .... is there anybody you know that is even more fanatic ? How much time do you spend on Cricket per day ? Thanks for that compliment. To be frank, i seriously haven't met anyone as crazy as me about cricket. I wish i could meet someone who can talk with me about cricket all the time. I did meet few Australians while watching a game in some stadium, but India being such a cricket crazy nation, i am yet to meet one crazy dude from India who can entertain me with his cricket Knowledge in real Life. Not on internet. on Internet i find many. Waggy or Boss ? Yaar hard to choose. I don't think i can choose one. If Tendulkar is Class, then Sehwag is Jhakaas If Sehwag is Brutal, then Tendulkar is Lethal You can put even Dravid in your question and i won't be able to pick one of the three either. Bradman or Waggy ? Sehwag. since i never watched Bradman play live. Even if i would have, still the entertainment which an Indian player would provide to me would just make me select an Indian player over an Aussie. Dada_Rocks Which party have you been voting for and why? I am a big time BJP supporter. but won't disagree with anyone that we have some serious crooks in our BJP department too. Pain_Killer - What's the craziest thing you've done to watch a Cricket match? Getting of from the school bus on some random stop which is near our house and waiting for my parents to go to work and then going him later to enjoy the game. - Do you daydream of being an Indian cricketer? Ya man.. all the time.. - Name one Pakistani cricketer who you wish was born in India & one Indian cricketer who you wish was born in Pakistan. No One.... - What if Mrs Cricketics hates crickets and does everything she can to stop you from following the sport... will you give it up? I won't marry such person. I know if there will be any Mrs Cricketics, then she would atleast won't mind me spending time on this game. Cricket would never be given up. - Walk us through a typical day in your life As per current schedule.. Wake up at some random time.. work, browse net... work again, browse net... keep doing this back and forth and whilst i do all this, i chat with my parents and friends and give them comapny... Rahulrulezz in a fight Hariyanvi Jaat or Punjabi Jatt ? Punjabi all the way.. He wouldn't even need to indulge in any physical contact.. he will speak out some trash words which would make the hariyaanvi feel dizzy on the spot
ludhianvi Posted December 25, 2008 Posted December 25, 2008 'ticz, Thanks for replying man... just wanted to say thanks..will read it in a moment [edit] Great Responses man...complete package..typical legendz innings :hatsoff: Interesting experience about the Delhi tryouts part
Desi Cartman Posted December 25, 2008 Posted December 25, 2008 Thanks tics ... didnt know that you have been to Aus
Rajiv Posted December 25, 2008 Posted December 25, 2008 Rajeev How much money you send home every month Nothing. No one needs it there. Everyone in my family is well settled. ---------- abhey sala, why u worried abt dollar to rupee rate all the time then..koi londiya ka chakkar to nahin hain
Ram Posted December 25, 2008 Posted December 25, 2008 Nice, straight from the heart replies there! :two_thumbs_up:
PaiN_KiLLeR Posted December 25, 2008 Posted December 25, 2008 Not as arsenic as i had expected, but a nice read nonetheless.
Online Posted December 25, 2008 Posted December 25, 2008 nice one tics, thanks for sharing. The hit wicket story was awesome. How big is your league in washington? how many teams? Idhar we have just 14 teams but it is growing...
Cricketics Posted December 26, 2008 Author Posted December 26, 2008 . How big is your league in washington? how many teams? Idhar we have just 14 teams but it is growing... it's pretty strong...lot of teams. we have 2 divisions here. Division 1 and 2. division 2 has all those lower teams, like plate league u can say. and the other one is the main division where all the major teams play. also we have teams from all 4 states - Maryland, Virginia, Washington, Delaware. lot of former international players(mostly of west indies) come and play in our league. Venkatpathy Raju was also playingl till 2006.
Cricketics Posted December 26, 2008 Author Posted December 26, 2008 abhey sala, why u worried abt dollar to rupee rate all the time then..koi londiya ka chakkar to nahin hain well i do send money to invest in property over there.. to buy a house in good area and put it for rent or sell it.
Rajiv Posted December 26, 2008 Posted December 26, 2008 Apne ko bhi bata yaar, u send thru family or some services in US I dont trust any builders there, any proper way to do it
Cricketics Posted December 26, 2008 Author Posted December 26, 2008 Apne ko bhi bata yaar, u send thru family or some services in US I dont trust any builders there, any proper way to do it no service yaar. just through some close family members...
Holysmoke Posted December 26, 2008 Posted December 26, 2008 Thanks ticz :--D, honest replies there... So calling you a "Bhaav-Khaav" worked :hysterical:
Dhondy Posted December 26, 2008 Posted December 26, 2008 Thanks for the very kind words, Cricketics. I enjoy reading your posts and your huge enthusiasm as well. Keep going!
The Outsider Posted December 27, 2008 Posted December 27, 2008 Haven't read it completely yet.....but wanted to say thanks anyway! Lurker, who is next?