Sh!t doesnt matter. Breach Candy is still called breach candy. Marine Drive will still be called Marine Drive. Altamount Road and Carmichael road are not called Narayan Dabolkar marg etc. Opera House is still Opera house. Pretty much the only people to whom this matters is the postmen.

I can agree to some extent that sometimes name changes are used as political tools. Example being all drama of Ambedkar gram, Ambedkar park by Mayawati. But certainly the great names like Lokmanya Balgangadhar Tilak, Swami Vivekanada(famous S.V. roads of suburbs), Chatrapati Shivaji, Shubhaschandra Bose, Lohprursh Sardar Patel, Vinayak Damodar Savarakar etc. deserve to be remembered and honored by Indians. I know we Indians are not that thankless!
Jesus , what next from Sandy.. it is dhimmi to write and converse in English language . And for God sake , if you are being so pretentious about nationalism and what not , try to type in some south indian names (at-least one) as well that deserved to be remembered and honored by Indians ! Is it too much to ask ?
Jesus ' date=' what next from Sandy.. it is dhimmi to write and converse in English language . And for God sake , if you are being so pretentious about nationalism and what not ,[b'] try to type in some south indian names (at-least one) as well that deserved to be remembered and honored by Indians ! Is it too much to ask ?
:winky: Boss Bhai also supports these renaming it seems! hmm, i smell a conspiracy :winky: it will always remain Bangalore! despite politician attempts to mangle it.
It is pronounced Bengaluru. They changed it to that. I don't see whats the big deal.
Jesus ' date=' what next from Sandy.. it is dhimmi to write and converse in English language .[/quote'] Extrapolating as usual. If language was an issue we might not be interacting in English at the moment!Besides, even gora historians have covertly admitted that origin of English and many such languages is indeed Sanskrit.:cantstop: My point is, you and your kind apologist liberals in India continue ignoring one simple question --- Why India should continue with Prince of Wales and Queen Victoria as names of their museum, public places/railway stations. What good they did to India and Indians in particular?? All I can see is the Queens british colonial rulers looted the resources and wealth of India to their heart's content, created many manufactured famines and left the country as world's one of the poorest in GDP. If it was only till economic robbery, Indians might forgive them, but they robbed us of our any civilizational achievment by creating Aryan Invasion Theory and shoving it down our throat as Gospel truth, dividing South and North Indian Hindus through Aryan-Dravidian BS. propping-up Jinnah and creating a radical Islamic empire right in our northern border for which we are still sufferring on daily basis, creating and sutaining ISI in it's early days etc. Tell me one reason why India should continue with Britsih Queen's name for CST station?
try to type in some south indian names (at-least one) as well that deserved to be remembered and honored by Indians ! Is it too much to ask ?
Seriously, you need to get over your North and South prejudice. I said those names from top of my head, never thought an educated folk like you will make such an issue for nothing! I should have mentioned South Indian figures, my bad. I am all for naming any new free zone/housing complex as Vijaynagar -- the great South Indian empire which resisted Islamic fascism , In fact there is one big colony by this name in Andheri(east) if you go further down Sahar Road. There are still many great South Indian empires which reflect lofty Indic values and ethos like Chola, Chalukya, Satvahana, Pallav, Rashtrakut awaiting to be named and remembered by young generation. Perhaps naming Indian army/Navies future assets may prove to be a great start.
And for God sake , if you are being so pretentious about nationalism
I am like LMAO, when p-secs talk about India's Hindu Nationalism and their miserable attempt to equate with other countries Nationalism, without understanding context and origin of Hindu nationalism.
Extrapolating as usual. If language was an issue we might not be interacting in English at the moment!Besides, even gora historians have covertly admitted that origin of English and many such languages is indeed Sanskrit.:cantstop: My point is, you and your kind apologist liberals in India continue ignoring one simple question --- Why India should continue with Prince of Wales and Queen Victoria as names of their museum, public places/railway stations. What good they did to India and Indians in particular??
All right Sandy , if calling me an apologist liberal makes you happy , then continue . It's much more easier to label you Hindutva fanatic , but I will resist from doing so . For your kind information , we used to always call Victoria Terminus in it's abbreviated form as VT. So let's see what we got here , a landmark which was built by the British so magnificently and being called by it's abbreviated form is so offensive to our pseudo Hindutva Nationalists namely Shiv Sena that they decide to rename it as CST and you support that ? Do you really think that millions and millions of commuters really care whether it is CST or VT . Are you suggesting that the poor guy alighting the train in kurla or Borivilli will suffer from colonial guilt if the name remains VT. He is more bothered about the fact that the train stops only for a brief moment and he better move his ars.e in as fast as he can. You will have a point only if any new infrastructure such as roads , buildings , hospitals etc gets called by the colonial names . But for existing infrastructure , their is no need to change the name unless the name is so offensive such as General Dyer , Aurangazeb etc
Seriously, you need to get over your North and South prejudice. I said those names from top of my head, never thought an educated folk like you will make such an issue for nothing! I should have mentioned South Indian figures, my bad.
I am not suffering from any prejudice , I am just pointing out to your obvious gaffe . I found it rather surprising that's all. I didn't insinuate that you suffer from any prejudice.

This is what I wrote in the old forum when Bangalore was changed to bengalooru.

IMHO you can restore your past pride if your present and future is rosy, it is all well and good to restore your culture et al, but what is the ROI? The temple restorations etc should not be in the realm of the government, if you restore temples, you shud restore mosques, churches and how exactly can anybody define which piece of culture is more important? The restoration of temples and other artifacts are the responsibilities of the respective Trust or any affiliated organizations, all big temples in india make a lot of money and have their own trusts, if they dont make enuff then comes voluntary donations from religious organizations etc. The governments primary responsibility should be the well being of the citizens, I agree pride in your culture is in that list of feel good factors but it will probably be in the bottom of the list. As an indian citizen what would you feel more safe and happy abt Health care for the indigent and old Abolishing child labor support for single moms Support for senior citizens Improving accessibilities to handicapped people or Restoring some antique temple changing city names etc
The amount of money that is spent to change names is not miniscule. People from Chennai will remember the fiasco of renaming bus routes from JJ to KK and back each time the ruling party changes. The cost estimate for each name change was 5 crores or close to that. It is just one more way to waste money, and one more way to get bribes for the politicians. Rename Madras to Chennai, give the CM's cousin the contract to paint over madras and change it to chennai, give the treasury minister wifes brother the contract to print new official documents etc.

This change of names is just a big farce nothing else - as many have already pointed out it serves no purpose at all but filling the coffers of people who are awarded contracts associated with the name change. Why not build something and name it according to your symbol of pride? There is nothing remotely common between CST and Shivaji - the architecture, the fact that there were no railroads during Shivaji's time etc. etc. It's just another exercise by the bhagwaa brigade to whip up emotions. Madras was nothing but a glorified fishing village till the British made it into a port, so what has it's erstwhile name of Chennai got to do with Madras as we know it today. Going back to a cities original name is something I can still remotely understand if not agree with, but renaming monuments which were designed and constructed by a particular regime has zero logic to it, but since when did the bhagwaa loonies start using logic.

One of the most insane, useless expenditure of public money and resources. Imagine how many individual would have spent their valuable times, coming up with the list of all the name changes. Instead of this, has anyone bothered to draw a list of roads that need to be fixed, sewers that need to be upgraded or primary schools that need to be built? As with most things in India, symbolism and emotions run high in every decision making, rather than logic and public convenience. Why should I EVER care what my local bus-stand is called as? All I care about is whether that bus-stand is properly equipped or not and if the buses ply on time.

One of the most insane' date=' useless expenditure of public money and resources. [b']Imagine how many individual would have spent their valuable times, coming up with the list of all the name changes. Instead of this, has anyone bothered to draw a list of roads that need to be fixed, sewers that need to be upgraded or primary schools that need to be built? As with most things in India, symbolism and emotions run high in every decision making, rather than logic and public convenience. Why should I EVER care what my local bus-stand is called as? All I care about is whether that bus-stand is properly equipped or not and if the buses ply on time.
:clap: Morris for PM
TMadras was nothing but a glorified fishing village till the British made it into a port' date= so what has it's erstwhile name of Chennai got to do with Madras as we know it today.
Did British do it as a favor, an unselfish act with no personal interest whatsoever? If you believe so, then you must be Jeffery Archer!
Did British do it as a favor' date=' an unselfish act with no personal interest whatsoever? If you believe so, then you must be Jeffery Archer![/quote'] Where did I say or imply that it was an unselfish act with no personal interests by the British?
Where did I say or imply that it was an unselfish act with no personal interests by the British?
You didnt imply but Coffee made you a Member of Parliament (although British one) and a multi-millionaire. So what are you complaing about? :winky:
and a prisoner who was probably taken advantage of by a gang of neo-nazis :--D. So, i guess Shewatabh has enough to complain about.
and a prisoner who was probably taken advantage of by a gang of neo-nazis :--D. So' date=' i guess Shewatabh has enough to complain about.[/quote'] :hysterical: Also if I remember correctly he was hauled over coal for having being caught in a sex-scandal with a prostitute. Coffee was quite mean and nasty when he had a go at Shwetabh,now me thinks.:secret:
and a prisoner who was probably taken advantage of by a gang of neo-nazis :--D. So' date=' i guess Shewatabh has enough to complain about.[/quote'] Ouch!! But hey, for a few million dollars who knows. h4te and flamy do it for free every day. :winky:
Ouch!! But hey' date=' for a few million dollars who knows. h4te and flamy do it for free every day. :winky:[/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical: And sometimes in tender moment they do the same to entire MB in the garb of poems and blogs.