vroomfondel Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 Apparently I may have inattentive type ADHD. There has been a semi-diagnosis...the full battery of tests will happen in the next few weeks. But the options are Adderall/Ritalin type stimulants, or breathing exercises/yoga, EEG Biofeedback stuff etc. All of this seems like hocus jumbo to me, because until yesterday, I thought ADHD was a disease made up by the Americans (it still may be, but now I have it :winky:) I went to a pysch because I was having serious focus issues that are getting worse as the work load increases in grad school. Shrink sent me to a clinical psychologist, who gave me these computerized tests to check for stuff (basically crappy reaction-time video games). He identified the issue as an actuation/arousal problem rather than attention-deficiency. Not sure what this means -- am I just lazy and normal, and is this dude making shyte up, or does ADHD exist in seemingly normal people. I guess I'm looking for anecdotal evidence, rather than a medical diagnosis. Anyone has it? know people who have it? tell me about it...
Zap_Brannigan Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 Does any of this qualify me for ADHD ? - browsing internet all the time when at work, - cant focus on research papers properly anymore, - cant listen to girlfriends babble for more than 5 minutes, - cutting out running from gym workout, - too lazy to change the disk in the 360, so keep playing the same game every week - keep forgetting to download the vacation video from camcorder into my computer and sending it to my brother for the last 4 months - Not paying bills on time and pay a lot of fines
vroomfondel Posted January 16, 2009 Author Posted January 16, 2009 zap, is this recent or lifelong? if it's recent, then it can be a lot of things. people have temporary paralyses sometimes, and knock themselves out if it -- ie, if your gf threatens to dump you and you get shipshape. i have had this kind of self-destructive profile for as long as I can remember. managed to keep up by half-assing my way through (much easier in India than here), and am currently half-assing my way to a PhD -- but why bother if I'm going to BS my way through. I get frustrated that I can't break out of the cycle, and hence the psych. intervention. Can't read stuff for more than 5 minutes at a time usually, and I have three books open at once. Sucks for Physics work. I wouldn't take the pills though. although I hear they worked for sartre, kerouac etc. even Erdos. http://www.slate.com/id/2118315/ Usually college health plans cover this sort of testing. If you're than worried about it, I would get checked out. Doesn't hurt. But I wouldn't take the pills, personally. At least I think I wouldn't. Amphetamines are weird.
fineleg Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 Does any of this qualify me for ADHD ? As vroom says, no harm in getting checked out. Your insurance will cover this. Then you can evaluate options and strategy.
punjabi_khota Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 Does any of this qualify me for ADHD ? - browsing internet all the time when at work, - cant focus on research papers properly anymore, - cant listen to girlfriends babble for more than 5 minutes, - cutting out running from gym workout, - too lazy to change the disk in the 360, so keep playing the same game every week - keep forgetting to download the vacation video from camcorder into my computer and sending it to my brother for the last 4 months - Not paying bills on time and pay a lot of fines Haha...that particular one I can relate to. :hysterical: But I tried making up for it by playing racquetball twice a week.. I have tendency to browse at work too, but a combination of strict deadlines, and a somewhat strict advisor wh o asks regular updates has kept me in check so far.
vroomfondel Posted January 16, 2009 Author Posted January 16, 2009 I have tendency to browse at work too' date=' but a combination of strict deadlines, and a somewhat strict advisor wh o asks regular updates has kept me in check so far.[/quote'] sadly I am losing patience with this "motivation by fear" business...still works for me, but annoys the crap out of me too. there have to be better self-actuation methods.
coffee_rules Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 I feel the claims by some of the drugs approved by FDA to treat ADHD is bull. The kids need coaching and personal attention. Some school districts in USA mandate that parents give the FDA approved drugs to kids, else they refuse to coach them in schools. That is a scary aspect of this society. That is instutionalising the industry policies and forcing it on the public. Atleast in India, the government doesn't butt in so much in people's lives.
cowboysfan Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 this is how american health care works.when they run out diseases then invent new conditions and phobias-absolute bull-crap.
fineleg Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 Dhondy the doc - any comments? (lets drag you to post :winky:)
Holysmoke Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 i have had this kind of self-destructive profile for as long as I can remember. managed to keep up by half-assing my way through (much easier in India than here), and am currently half-assing my way to a PhD -- but why bother if I'm going to BS my way through. I get frustrated that I can't break out of the cycle, and hence the psych. intervention. Can't read stuff for more than 5 minutes at a time usually, and I have three books open at once. Sucks for Physics work. Story of my life. You can get out of it, all you need is will power. I managed to get out of that state for a year and half to 2 years, but I feel I am slowly going back there. :((
Online Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 i have had this kind of self-destructive profile for as long as I can remember. managed to keep up by half-assing my way through (much easier in India than here), and am currently half-assing my way to a PhD -- but why bother if I'm going to BS my way through. I get frustrated that I can't break out of the cycle, and hence the psych. intervention. Can't read stuff for more than 5 minutes at a time usually, and I have three books open at once. Sucks for Physics work. ditto I have made peace with myself. That is how I am, I am not even trying to change.
flamy Posted January 16, 2009 Posted January 16, 2009 He identified the issue as an actuation/arousal problem rather than attention-deficiency. noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! :((
Dhondy Posted February 2, 2009 Posted February 2, 2009 Apparently I may have inattentive type ADHD. There has been a semi-diagnosis...the full battery of tests will happen in the next few weeks. But the options are Adderall/Ritalin type stimulants, or breathing exercises/yoga, EEG Biofeedback stuff etc. All of this seems like hocus jumbo to me, because until yesterday, I thought ADHD was a disease made up by the Americans (it still may be, but now I have it :winky:) I went to a pysch because I was having serious focus issues that are getting worse as the work load increases in grad school. Shrink sent me to a clinical psychologist, who gave me these computerized tests to check for stuff (basically crappy reaction-time video games). He identified the issue as an actuation/arousal problem rather than attention-deficiency. Not sure what this means -- am I just lazy and normal, and is this dude making shyte up, or does ADHD exist in seemingly normal people. I guess I'm looking for anecdotal evidence, rather than a medical diagnosis. Anyone has it? know people who have it? tell me about it... Don't listen to shrinks. They have no clue. Here, try this- this worked for me. Leave your PhD or a week. That's right- just leave it. Think of something from another area of academia- something you have always wanted to do, but never had the time because of the demands of your own subject...I dunno, stem cells....Fourier transformation....The Henderson Hasselbach equation...apoptotic neurons, Keynes' masterpiece... anything that remotely turns you on. Now, log into amazon and buy a couple of books on the subject, preferably one with the highest number of positive reviews. Get it by supersaver delivery, so that you have to wait for it to arrive. When it does, lose yourself in it, like your life depended on it. If you don't undestand anything, go back to it, and read it again...and again, if necessary. Revise, practice concepts and test yourself on nerd websites. Then go back to your PhD. Your mind has had the greatest detox that the human brain can experience. It's not often realised, but relaxing with music, fiction, or watching National Geographic on TV doesn't turn your brain on. But challenging it to grasp concepts totally foreign to the one you are tackling, does. It hardwires new neuronal connections in your brain and leaves you ready to go back to challenges that had become too familiar.
punjabi_khota Posted February 2, 2009 Posted February 2, 2009 ^Thats an awesome idea. In related news, I am leaving my PhD. for 2 weeks to attend a wedding in India. Will looking at all the pretty friends of the bride turn my brain on ? After almost 4 years in US, I need some brown in my life.
Brainfade Posted February 2, 2009 Posted February 2, 2009 ^Thats an awesome idea. In related news' date=' I am leaving my PhD. for 2 weeks to attend a wedding in India. Will looking at all the pretty friends of the bride turn my brain on ? After almost 4 years in US, [b']I need some brown in my life. Heh heh heh! You could just go visit the Niagara Falls in May :).
flamy Posted February 2, 2009 Posted February 2, 2009 Heh heh heh! You could just go visit the Niagara Falls in May :). :--D:--D:--D:--D:--D
vroomfondel Posted February 2, 2009 Author Posted February 2, 2009 wow, i missed your response doc. I have some thoughts, I will get back to you in a bit if i don't get distracted and forget about it :winky: (btw, i arrived at a parallel if not entirely similar conclusion. i have had an interest in photography, and so bought an slr and a few books and have been doing a lot of reading on the technical (optics) side of it. i wonder if art can be approached from an analytical perspective). (p_k, what's your phd in? and i think girls help everything, brown or not).
punjabi_khota Posted February 2, 2009 Posted February 2, 2009 Heh heh heh! You could just go visit the Niagara Falls in May :). Yeh kya funda hai ? Desi crowd there ?
Aditi Posted February 2, 2009 Posted February 2, 2009 I've had serious focus issues since early childhood, can't focus for more than 5-10 minutes on any task (and that includes driving), I just drift off or completely blank out. I suspect its some form of ADD, but I never got myself checked, just read books on it and worked hard to overcome it.