Desi Cartman Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 Yes it has .. to me it was something in the news , something that was affecting investors in property and shares. An average family was still doing ok. Only yesterday a friend of mine was telling me that "its not that bad .. the houses are still getting sold and the price is not as bad as many think".. I tried to convince him that it is going to get a lot worse in Aus but he didn't agree. I went to pick up my wife from work yesterday, it was only yesterday that she had returned to work after 2 weeks sick leave (she had an operation done). I saw her holding some folders and her back-rest pillow. I knew something was wrong and she then told me that her company employed more than 150 people till 2 years ago and now they have only 14 left. She has been given salary of 2 weeks but she doesnt need to attend work since there isnt any work. She worked in a wholesale travel agency who deal (or used to deal )with big travel agents & booked their holidays (cruise , work tours , air tickets , etc ). Anyway now the recession is going to affect us. Only last week she applied for a job and the agent who called her informed "don't leave your job, I'm an agent and I'm telling you there aren't many jobs". (
vadodaravictor Posted February 16, 2009 Posted February 16, 2009 Damn too many job losses around. I am so scared these days..But keep the faith desi..This too shall pass..
Desi Cartman Posted February 17, 2009 Author Posted February 17, 2009 yea as long as I have my job we'll be fine and IBM gives 3 months notice in case they decide to fire ! Its just that our future plans are on hold and of course its not pleasant to lose your job so since yesterday she has been sad :((
Ram Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Man, terribly sorry to hear that. I know its a truly sinking feeling to know you've been laid off. Good luck for your wife's future job prospects..
suraj Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Good luck to you and your wife Desi; hope everything gets back on course soon.
Desi Cartman Posted February 17, 2009 Author Posted February 17, 2009 Thanks guys ! what makes it weird is that there are NO jobs in the market. My friend's wife has been applying for 2 months now and she hardly gets 1 or 2 phone interviews a day. Once she got hired (2 weeks ago) and during training the entire batch was sent home because the company decided that they cant afford new employees.
Guest Hiten. Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Alok bhai i know how exactly do you feel atm. I am hoping recession dies out at the end of this year (very very unlikely), lekin asha hi toh hume zinda rakhe gi :D
Desi Cartman Posted February 17, 2009 Author Posted February 17, 2009 Alok bhai i know how exactly do you feel atm. I am hoping recession dies out at the end of this year (very very unlikely)' date=' lekin asha hi toh hume zinda rakhe gi :D[/quote'] true .. PS: please send Asha to work address ASAP :two_thumbs_up:
fineleg Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Alok, Sorry to hear that. Ask your wife to not worry too much. The situation is very bad in US. Jan and Feb have been brutal in terms of job losses, and there seems to be no short term end to the job woes, as I had posted in another thread that I had started last month.
Cricketics Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Sorry to hear that DD man. It's really tough time and i have recieved a warning or two alredy from the small company i work for. I have enjoyed this work. I have stayed at home gazillion amount of times and worked from home through this very job of mine but now everyone has been given early warning here at my office. Things just not looking good. We have alredy started looking for another job, cauz you never know...
flamy Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 true .. PS: please send Asha to work address ASAP :two_thumbs_up: since when is pimping allowed on ICF?
Desi Cartman Posted February 17, 2009 Author Posted February 17, 2009 Alok, Sorry to hear that. Ask your wife to not worry too much. The situation is very bad in US. Jan and Feb have been brutal in terms of job losses, and there seems to be no short term end to the job woes, as I had posted in another thread that I had started last month. yes .. its still hasnt sunk in yet .. We all read it everyday and watch it on TV but when it hits , it makes you feel that its REAL
flamy Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 yes .. its still hasnt sunk in yet .. We all read it everyday and watch it on TV but when it hits ' date=' it makes you feel that its REAL[/quote'] Nothing is cliche when it happens to you :) Sorry desi bhaiyya. :icflove:
The Outsider Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Terrible news! I was given a promotion in October with the promise that part of the raise would be immediate and the remaining in January. No one has mentioned the word raise till now and I thought wise not to delve the issue further after a sheepish query was received with indifference. Scary times.
Desi Cartman Posted February 17, 2009 Author Posted February 17, 2009 ^ Same here . My boss asked me "are you ok if you dont get a big bonus this year" .. I said "last year's bonus was no way big either but this year I wouldnt complain even if I get $1"
vadodaravictor Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 In 2009,"Job saved is job earned":(( Raise ya bonus ke liye mu phad nahi sakte
Desi Cartman Posted February 17, 2009 Author Posted February 17, 2009 since when is pimping allowed on ICF? since h4te joined ICF :banghead:
graphic23 Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Sorry to hear that desi. :(( Hopefully everything works out soon.
Willow_on_fire Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Sorry to hear that Desi, overall job situation is not that good, it affects my Realtor profession too, many of my Buyers want to wait & see how the house market goes, well I had a very good last year ( mainly first 7 months), and a decent start this year...so it is ok...also my wife is a RN in health care field...her job has absolutely nothing to do with recession....minimum 40 hrs/week...and that is good enough. good luck to your wife, hopefully she finds a suitable job.
SachDan Posted February 17, 2009 Posted February 17, 2009 Very bad news :(( Good luck for the future job plans.