flamy Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 I wanna order some chinese, but my previous experience was too damn sweet (even when they were labelled as hot dishes). I was hoping some of my more experienced brethren can point me to the right dish. General Tso's chicken is way too damn sweet ( Is Hunan any better? HELP!
nospam Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 hunan, firecracker, black pepper - chicken mandarin - beef
Desi Cartman Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 chicken black bean sauce with extra chilli is safe to order anywhere schezwan chicken is also good
Mr. Wicket Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 General Tso chicken != Chinese. That's over sweetened crap for Americans who can't handle real heat. After 4 yrs living in Hong Kong, some time in Singapore and a number of visits in China, I haven't yet come across that on a good menu. Hunan cuisine in general tends to be very, very spicy but overly loaded with black pepper. Szechuan on the other hand is really spicy but with a better balance of spices and flavours. Probably my favourite cuisine in China. Xin Jiang style lamb with cumin (if you can find it) is one of the greatest Szechuan dishes there is. Absolutely ****ing explosive, and amazingly flavoured.
cowboysfan Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 chinese retaurants in US(apart from some in SF) are crap-i try to avoid them if i can.
Mr. Wicket Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 chinese retaurants in US(apart from some in SF) are crap-i try to avoid them if i can. Applies for about 98% of them. The other 2% tend to be absolutely stunning. Go to a place like Grand Sichuan in New York or Lao Szechuan in Chinatown in Chicago, and you will be blown away.
punjabi_khota Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 I eat curry chicken at a Chinese place. Super awesome.
nikred Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 I eat curry chicken at a Chinese place. Super awesome. I always end up ordering curry chicken fearing other dishes might turn out sweet like General Tso's chicken.:icflove:
flamy Posted March 16, 2009 Author Posted March 16, 2009 cant go wrong with some kung pao kung pao sucks bhai :((
flamy Posted March 16, 2009 Author Posted March 16, 2009 ZOMG! Hunan Duck is awesome, albeit a little on the oily side.
hassan_113 Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 Flamy- try the Szechuan fried noodles I think it is from Koramangala- I don't like chinese, but it's amazing...or the chilli aloo :D
Zap_Brannigan Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 I always go for soy based chinese food to avoid the sweet crap.
coffee_rules Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 Go for Thai, if you want spicy food that suits the Indian palate. Chinese is horrible in US. Greasy, sweet and bland.
flamy Posted March 16, 2009 Author Posted March 16, 2009 Go for Thai' date=' if you want spicy food that suits the Indian palate. Chinese is horrible in US. Greasy, sweet and bland.[/quote'] Ya Thai is awesome, but they close at 9 pm an I get hungry at 1 am :--D
suraj Posted March 16, 2009 Posted March 16, 2009 I like Chinese girls better than Chinese food. Slim, trim and no heartburn!