Lurker Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 अरे गंगा पार वालों के कारण तो भला हो गया तुम लोगों का. वरना छै छै करते रह जाते. केना छै कथे छै. हाँ लिच्ची जरूर मिस्सिंग होता. भागलपुरी सिल्क साड़ी भी, हालांकि तुम लोगों ने उसका भी बैंड बजा दिया! पूरा इंडस्ट्री बर्बाद हो गया तसर सिल्क का. चलो अच्छी बात है के बाउजी बहुरानी के साथ comfortable हैं. यह आजकल बहुत देखने को मिल रहा है. मेरे घर पे भी भैया भाभी में झगडा हुआ तो पूरा खानदान भाभी के साइड में चल देता है
veeru_rocks Posted April 13, 2009 Author Posted April 13, 2009 I will prefer a love marriage to an arranged marriage any day of the year. As much as it sounds perfectly ideal, there are still a few flaws in the ‘love marriage’ system that most Indians follow anyway. Its one thing to have a good time going to beaches, seeing movies together or hanging out in coffee-shops talking sweet-nothings for hours, but an entirely different issue to actually live with that person. You don’t actually know how things will fare until you actually share emotional and physical space with the person. But the concept of live-in girl-friend is still too radical in India. In that sense, Indians living the U.S are very lucky. I know many guys who almost lived with the ‘girl’ for a while – They stayed together, ate together, cleaned together, brought groceries together and did all possible mundane activities that comes along with being a married guy. And if they found they could get by all this without pulling each other’s hair, they went ahead and married each other. In India though, its not possible for the guy and the girl to do all this without raising a lot of eyebrows. Meri salaah maan lo ye love marrige ka love kafi over-rated hai bhaya..
veeru_rocks Posted April 13, 2009 Author Posted April 13, 2009 अरे गंगा पार वालों के कारण तो भला हो गया तुम लोगों का. वरना छै छै करते रह जाते. केना छै कथे छै. हाँ लिच्ची जरूर मिस्सिंग होता. भागलपुरी सिल्क साड़ी भी, हालांकि तुम लोगों ने उसका भी बैंड बजा दिया! पूरा इंडस्ट्री बर्बाद हो गया तसर सिल्क का. चलो अच्छी बात है के बाउजी बहुरानी के साथ comfortable हैं. यह आजकल बहुत देखने को मिल रहा है. मेरे घर पे भी भैया भाभी में झगडा हुआ तो पूरा खानदान भाभी के साइड में चल देता है लट्ठा माड़ बोली से तो छे छे अच्छा ही है | सदियों से ससुरा-पतोहू में ज्यादा सामंजस्य होता आ रहा है | हमेशा सास ही बहु को परेशान करती है |
Ram Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 Meri salaah maan lo ye love marrige ka love kafi over-rated hai bhaya.. I know man, I agree with you. Ultimately, all of us get bored of our spouses. Its just human nature. Whether its love or arranged, you still have to do the laundry, you still have to vacuum the carpet, clean the toilet and change the diapers of your kids. But at least with love marriage, you give yourself a statistically better chance of not having a catastrophically disastrous married life.
veeru_rocks Posted April 13, 2009 Author Posted April 13, 2009 I disagree, actually lovelorn people have lower bar of tolerance if and when things go wrong. They invaribaly awlays have higher expectation from marriage and that means disaster more often than not.
Ram Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 I disagree' date=' actually lovelorn people have lower bar of tolerance if and when things go wrong. They invaribaly awlays have higher expectation from marriage and that means disaster more often than not.[/quote'] What you’re essentially saying is ‘with an arranged marriage, I’ve already resigned myself to the fact that my life is going to miserable, so things can only get better from there’. Its like you’re going to the doctor for a common cold and you say to yourself ‘I am pretty sure I have AIDS, a severe heart conditions and brain hemorrhage. So, surely the doctor must be giving me better news than that’ With love marriage, you atleast make sure the number irreconcilable differences are less.
veeru_rocks Posted April 13, 2009 Author Posted April 13, 2009 What you’re essentially saying is ‘with an arranged marriage, I’ve already resigned myself to the fact that my life is going to miserable, so things can only get better from there’. Its like you’re going to the doctor for a common cold and you say to yourself ‘I am pretty sure I have AIDS, a severe heart conditions and brain hemorrhage. So, surely the doctor must be giving me better news than that’ With love marriage, you atleast make sure the number irreconcilable differences are less. May be then it;s cultural thing .. north mein to arranged marriage mein you weigh things and both party know what they are entering into no starry-eyed expectations
coffee_rules Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 May be then it;s cultural thing .. north mein to arranged marriage mein you weigh things and both party know what they are entering into no starry-eyed expectations It confirms what I always knew The North is as conservative as the south. In the south, they usually don't marry across different faiths (within Hindus) like Vaishnavities and Shivites. In other words, Iyers and Iyengars don't seek alliances with each other. I am talking about arranged marriages. I have talked to older goras (and even chinese) who are in awe about arranged marriages. They think it will work better than their system. But, for Indians especially women, Love marriages are the best option. In arranged marriages, there is too much sexism and discrimination. It is more prone to failure than any other option.
suraj Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 ]I will prefer a love marriage to an arranged marriage any day of the year. As much as it sounds perfectly ideal, there are still a few flaws in the ‘love marriage’ system that most Indians follow anyway. Its one thing to have a good time going to beaches, seeing movies together or hanging out in coffee-shops talking sweet-nothings for hours, but an entirely different issue to actually live with that person. You don’t actually know how things will fare until you actually share emotional and physical space with the person. But the concept of live-in girl-friend is still too radical in India. In that sense, Indians living the U.S are very lucky. I know many guys who almost lived with the ‘girl’ for a while – They stayed together, ate together, cleaned together, brought groceries together and did all possible mundane activities that comes along with being a married guy. And if they found they could get by all this without pulling each other’s hair, they went ahead and married each other. In India though, its not possible for the guy and the girl to do all this without raising a lot of eyebrows. Stop spending time here and get a girl or its not happening :--D:--D (I agree whole heartedly with you of course!!!)
suraj Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 It confirms what I always knew The North is as conservative as the south. In the south, they usually don't marry across different faiths (within Hindus) like Vaishnavities and Shivites. In other words, Iyers and Iyengars don't seek alliances with each other. I am talking about arranged marriages. I have talked to older goras (and even chinese) who are in awe about arranged marriages. They think it will work better than their system. But, for Indians especially women, Love marriages are the best option. In arranged marriages, there is too much sexism and discrimination. It is more prone to failure than any other option. Oh please Northern grandmother is more advanced than than the southern young belle with 2 ponytails and coconut oil smeared all over !!
Rajiv Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 I've fallen in love so many times now, looks like I have to "arrange" a "love" marriage now B->
Rajiv Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 As for NORTH v.s SOUTH North Paisa Phekh > Tamasha Dekh South Degree Phekh > Tamasha Dekh
fineleg Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 Oh please Northern grandmother is more advanced than than the southern young belle with 2 ponytails and coconut oil smeared all over !! Which century are you still living in!? :bike: Have you been to B'lore, Madras, Hyderabad or any other cities (even in North cities are more advanced than rural)...Heck man, there is lot of style now in South and very few smear oil in the hair! Ofcourse Bombay is the best for fashion. PS: Lurker and DR - pls. provide a 'summary translation' of the अरे गंगा ...fonts/scripts in post #81 and 83 and there were ones before that :(( :D
Rajiv Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 But coconut oil is good for the head/hair..I think whole of India uses it
suraj Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 Which century are you still living in!? :bike: Have you been to B'lore, Madras, Hyderabad or any other cities (even in North cities are more advanced than rural)...Heck man, there is lot of style now in South and very few smear oil in the hair! Ofcourse Bombay is the best for fashion. PS: Lurker and DR - pls. translate the अरे गंगा ...scripts in post #81 and 83 and there were ones before that :(( :D only because us Northies have penetrated the south like intl players in IPL:winky:
punjabi_khota Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 Which century are you still living in!? :bike: Have you been to B'lore, Madras, Hyderabad or any other cities (even in North cities are more advanced than rural)...Heck man, there is lot of style now in South and very few smear oil in the hair! Ofcourse Bombay is the best for fashion. PS: Lurker and DR - pls. provide a 'summary translation' of the अरे गंगा ...fonts/scripts in post #81 and 83 and there were ones before that :(( :D Then what explains the prevalence of FATASS BALD UGLY MOFOS wearing white checked shirts getting LEAD roles in south movies ? Those guys would find it tough to find a role as a dhobi in a proper bollywood movie. I mean the most stylish hero Telugu films have got is Mahesh Babu, and at the very best, he could probably hope to play the guy who rapes hero's sister in a Bollywood movie. If south is so stylish, why can't they get more stylish stars ? And why are these people so famous then ?
suraj Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 Then what explains the prevalence of FATASS BALD UGLY MOFOS wearing white checked shirts getting LEAD roles in south movies ? Those guys would find it tough to find a role as a dhobi in a proper bollywood movie. I mean the most stylish hero Telugu films have got is Mahesh Babu, and at the very best, he could probably hope to play the guy who rapes hero's sister in a Bollywood movie. If south is so stylish, why can't they get more stylish stars ? And why are these people so famous then ? umm because Rajnikanth is still proclaimed as the best actor ever that existed in universe :winky: his emotions when the cigarette left the hand, crossed Kaveri, ganga & jamuna to land back in his mouth is what acting & style is all about- any woman in any bar in the world will be on her knees after that :hatsoff::hatsoff:
Macj Posted April 13, 2009 Posted April 13, 2009 I have talked to older goras (and even chinese) who are in awe about arranged marriages. They think it will work better than their system. But, for Indians especially women, Love marriages are the best option. In arranged marriages, there is too much sexism and discrimination. It is more prone to failure than any other option. Love marriage has all the ingredients for success but sometimes is not meant to be. In retrospect I think what really gives me happiness is knowing that I have felt true love in my past, I felt I was complete with that person. I have lived with this person for sometime, been through everything with her, but just couldnt marry her. Many reasons , some pretty mundane, but the key to me is I have felt this love , I know it and yes sometimes I yearn for it. BUT it wasn't stable, looking back, it was fierce, spontaneous and passionate but never stable, I would probably never be able to give up my home my son my business or my current life for that. This why the term moist nostalgia was coined.
fineleg Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 A lot of the movies are made for C class audience. PS: And, suraj - no - it is a myth that women will fall for the rajnikantz thingy. His movies are usually fun to watch - you can have a good laugh overall. Thats about it.
Desi Cartman Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 I put Narial tail on my body everyday during winters ... so all u coconut oil haters can go to hell :finger: As for arranged Vs love marriage : Neither can guarantee successful relationship, at the end of the day its all about adjustment and having realistic expectations.