SachDan Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 Today we, Keralites are also celebrating Vishu- Zodiac new year of Kerala :eyedance: Happy Vishu to all :icflove:
Rajan Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 Thank you and wish you a great year too. yesterday night, an old neighbor called us on fone around 10.30 and explained the procedure to welcome the new year, Mirror, jewels, currency, fruits and all. we have never done this before. so, i could not convince my wife who just followed her regular ritual and not the advice by the aunty. i am surprised that u had done the mirror-jewels-currency-fruits-.... and other things , just like how that aunty told us! good to know u r following tradition where ever u r:two_thumbs_up:
Rajan Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 Happy Vishu to all keralites and Puththandu Nal Vazhththukkal to all fellow tamilians!
Ram Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 Back home, Tamil New year’s day had a truly celebratory feel about it. Its probably the third most celebrated occasion in T.N, after Diwali and Pongal. Typically, most channels telecast a just released movie on these days. So, it’s a lot of good food, banter and family time.
Holysmoke Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 lol @ moneys. lol @ sachinism saying happy vishnu Happy vishu to all.
SachDan Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 lol @ moneys. lol @ sachinism saying happy vishnu Happy vishu to all. holy, that is a custom called 'kaineettam'. On Vishu day elders in the family give money to younger ones. Really miss those days :((
Shane Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 holy' date=' that is a custom called 'kaineettam'. On Vishu day[b'] elders in the family give money to younger ones. Waiting ..... :cantstop:
SachDan Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 Waiting ..... :cantstop: Let's reverse it here ! I'm serious
Sachinism Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 lol @ moneys. lol @ sachinism saying happy vishnu Happy vishu to all. edited
Don Sharma Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 Back home, Tamil New year’s day had a truly celebratory feel about it. Its probably the third most celebrated occasion in T.N, after Diwali and Pongal. Typically, most channels telecast a just released movie on these days. So, it’s a lot of good food, banter and family time. Today isn't Tamil New Year's day:nono:They changed it to the first day of the month of Thai i.e. Pongal's Day effective from this year.
ViruRulez Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 Bhai happy new year to Kerela and Tamil members of this board BTW how many festivals does India have ... I see a thread or two almost everyday about a new festival .. are there 365 festivals in India or lesser :hmmm:
h4te Posted April 14, 2009 Posted April 14, 2009 holy' date=' that is a custom called 'kaineettam'. On Vishu day elders in the family give money to younger ones. Really miss those days :(([/quote'] :woot: i can has money then?
fineleg Posted April 14, 2009 Author Posted April 14, 2009 Thank you and wish you a great year too. yesterday night, an old neighbor called us on fone around 10.30 and explained the procedure to welcome the new year, Mirror, jewels, currency, fruits and all. we have never done this before. so, i could not convince my wife who just followed her regular ritual and not the advice by the aunty. i am surprised that u had done the mirror-jewels-currency-fruits-.... and other things , just like how that aunty told us! good to know u r following tradition where ever u r:two_thumbs_up: Happy New Year to you Rajan and Happy Vishu to those celebrating that as well But, no I did the simple prayer ritual like your wife did, this was just a "traditional photo" and "how it should be done", not what I did