Under any circumstance, if I could, I would move back to India. I'm in the middle of my studies here, and my plan is to move back as soon as I complete them. I find India a lot more lively than any other place I've been to. And tbh, I lived my 11 years there and then visit pretty frequently - but I've never had to change my life to suit someone else's fancies and whims. I don't see power cuts as a big issue, but thats just me, and when I lived in Hyd.- I very rarely experienced a power cut. I don't know what your 'basic amenities' are - because whatever mine are, I've found them in India.

I’d like to pose this question to all the people who say they like to live abroad because the roads are better, transportation is better, traffic is less, and there is less pollution and what not. How many of you would continue to live abroad, if the money you earn is equal to or lesser than the money you earned in India. I am not talking about the nominal value. i.e 20,000 rs > $5000, but the actual value. Assume that, all of a sudden, the exchange rate of the $ plummeted to 10rs. So, if you’re making $5000/month, that translates to 50,000 rs, which is roughly what most IT professionals with 3,4 years experience earn these days, in India. Lets also assume that the dollar’s purchasing power in the U.S is still preserved, i.e, with that $5000 you earn, you rent is still $1000, milk is still $3/gallon, gas is still $2.50/gallon and what not. So, you still end up saving roughly $2000 - $2,500 a month, that you managed before. However, this $2000 now translates to just 20,000 rs, unlike before when it equaled 1,00,000 rs. Would you still stay here, because you still get your ‘clean roads, no powe-cuts, less pollution’ etc? Of course not! I can promise that come such a day, Indians will be falling over their heels to book their return flights. People are here for the $$$. No harm in saying that and there’s nothing bad in it too. All the other fictitious reasons they come up are just lousy excuses they cook-up to somehow justify their not living at home. The day their presence here does not translate into significant wealth financially, the concerns over pollution and clogged roads will evaporate into thin air.

I am here for the lulz. Seriously though, if I could get a high paying good research job in India vaguely related to my area, I would go. But there are too few of them in India. I don't wanna go back and get a govt. research lab job with a PhD., paying me Rs. 40k per month, which is less than the amount my first job would have paid me 4 years ago had I taken the offer right after B.Tech (those who joined are now earning about Rs. 10-12 lacs per year, which is pretty darn good). The point is, it is not too hard to get a good paying job in India, but it is hard to get one which also involves stuff I wanna do. Everything else is negotiable (I don't give a eff about bijli or roads...yes it is awesome here, but it is not as if it was too bad in India).

An honest answer: Wife is from here and she prefers to stay here, her family and friends are all from here (America). I want to invest the least amount of effort / energy and receive the most rewards back, I have such a life in the US and have no intention of giving it up for the rigours of India. I love visiting and will continue visiting twice a year but moving back isnt an option.

I am currently doing my bachelors in electronics and communications engineering. I hope to graduate at the end of next year and immediately apply for masters. My immediate parents as well as family members back in India are encouraging me to go to the U.S. or Europe to do my masters. For them its a matter of pride to say their son / daughter studied engineering / medicine in Australia / America etc My sibling is aiming to study Aero space engineering and I am of view, they want him to follow in my footsteps also to do masters in the states. A family member who studied robotics in Hyderabad aims to sit the "GMAT" test and continue his further studies in the states Even family members who studied at IIT, after having gotten married, have applied for U.S. citizenship and moved there, despite them working in highly respected positions with high paying salaries in India I am in it for the money and reputation. Blunt, but whatever

:hysterical:@impure indians and outside india, where can u spit freely on the roads??? eat paan??? talk with ur neighbours freely??? in usa ppl living in the same hone chat via internet with each other & they have no social life at all be late by about half an hour to the office & still ur boss doesnt take any action against u??? watch cricket for free???

and even if i get a $20000 per month job in the us & a rs. 15000 per month job in india, still i will take the rs. 15000 per month job in india. there is something known as patriotism & dying for the country which u impure indians will never understand

and even if i get a $20000 per month job in the us & a rs. 15000 per month job in india' date=' still i will take the rs. 15000 per month job in india. there is something known as patriotism & dying for the country which u impure indians will never understand[/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
I am here for the lulz. Seriously though, if I could get a high paying good research job in India vaguely related to my area, I would go. But there are too few of them in India. I don't wanna go back and get a govt. research lab job with a PhD., paying me Rs. 40k per month, which is less than the amount my first job would have paid me 4 years ago had I taken the offer right after B.Tech (those who joined are now earning about Rs. 10-12 lacs per year, which is pretty darn good). The point is, it is not too hard to get a good paying job in India, but it is hard to get one which also involves stuff I wanna do. Everything else is negotiable (I don't give a eff about bijli or roads...yes it is awesome here, but it is not as if it was too bad in India).
Are you an IITian Panjabi Khota?
and even if i get a $20000 per month job in the us & a rs. 15000 per month job in india' date=' still i will take the rs. 15000 per month job in india. there is something known as patriotism & dying for the country which u impure indians will never understand[/quote'] o pure Indian! my pure Indian! what kind of patriotic work have you done so far for your country?:cantstop:

amits @ 48 Wrong Amits Wrong In the area I reside, there is a large Indian congregation. People volunteer their time, effort and money in holding cultural programs in community centers and temples. Its very easy to cut off contact but the fact that people go to great lengths to adhere their traditions, values, way of life etc to their best of their efforts speaks volumes of their commitment and dedication As for patriotism, can you imagine a scenario where the Indian community of a university, comprised of Indians of different nationalities - Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs etc, organize the flag waving ceremony on August 15 th of every year ? It happened last year and every year I've been at university. Preparations for this years ceremony are under way with flyers, emails sent out asking for greater involvement, participation and help in organizing the event I may not have lived in India, but I can assure you, and believe me, I am being very sincere and honest when I say this, there is no doubting where my allegiance is

:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
u cant be an indian. also u have ditched ur great country for some $$$$$
:hysterical:@impure indians and outside india, where can u spit freely on the roads??? eat paan??? talk with ur neighbours freely??? in usa ppl living in the same hone chat via internet with each other & they have no social life at all be late by about half an hour to the office & still ur boss doesnt take any action against u??? watch cricket for free???
Oh hai Mr I_desperately_need_a_gf_in_7_days. :fishing::fishing: :hahaha:

One of the main reasons for WANTING to go back to India is if you have immediate family back there. Your parents aren't getting any younger, and they'd hate to live in another country.

:hysterical:@impure indians and outside india, where can u spit freely on the roads??? eat paan??? be late by about half an hour to the office & still ur boss doesnt take any action against u??? ???
Oh! The irony....