AP CM YSR missing !!!!

cндябеяs

Oh! what lectures and sermons after admitting that the guy, his party, and his government were corrupt to the core. Whether they were less or more corrupt than X/Y/Z is not really the point of discussion here, but the fact that people choose to shed tears over leaders whom they admit were corrupt shows the despicable standards they expect from them. I am not well versed with Andhra politics but if it takes an "accident" of this sort to rid UP of Mayawati, Mulayam, Kalyan, and Rajnath I am all for reducing this kind of filth.
Agree with the sentiment, but we already see what is happening YSR' s son is being proposed as the new CM, so if one Mayawati goes there will be 100 Mayawatis in her place to tke her power. Jeez I am disillusioned

I don'f follow AP politics and have no idea who this guy is. But its disturbing when people think its ok for a CM to do part of his job right but have illegal business on the side? This is not some "partying with a hooker" type of illegal business but he uses his authority and power to illegally procure money, which probably ruined thousands of lives. The guy deserved it. No sympathies to the families who lived with this money.

you believe that atleast a 100 people had no other worry in life... no other loved ones to spend time with... just wanted to die for a person with whom they have never interacted on a personal basis, a person who they have only seen on TV / news paper etc. Sure they might feel sad / sorry for him and his family... but die for him... I dont think so. It is more likely that any deaths... be it suicides, heart attacks etc in those 3-4 days were attributed to YSR... nothing more.

YSR 'shock deaths' a charade to claim money? HYDERABAD: Andhra Pradesh CM Y S Rajasekhara Reddy's death earlier this month sent shock waves across the state that reportedly claimed lives of 457 people, including 40 who committed suicide. Now, what appears to be macabre "dead body politics'', overzealous Congress workers are allegedly offering money to the families of the dead many of whom died natural deaths or committed suicides for other reasons to claim that YSR's death pushed them into taking their lives. The families have been allegedly promised anything between Rs 5,000 and Rs 15,000 for the favour. The Jagan Sena or the brigade supporting YSR's son Jaganmohan Reddy allegedly handed over money to the families of even those who died due to natural causes. "Once Jagan is made CM, they said they would give them more money,'' a TDP leader alleged. Two youth who attempted suicide in Warangal for personal reasons were portrayed as trying to end their lives for YSR. Out of 58 deaths in Krishna, Guntur and Prakasam districts, at least 20 were above 60 and in some cases even 70. A Congress leader said a huge percentage of "shock deaths'' were false claims. In one case, Congress leaders declared that a youth in Ponnur committed suicide due to YSR's death and extended financial relief to the family. However, they retracted on finding that the youth was a TDP activist. In several cases, Congress leaders did the same to inflate death toll. Not just enthusiastic Congress leaders, even loyal officials lent support to this campaign. Collectors in many districts allegedly asked officials to gather details of deaths during YSR's funeral. The revenue machinery swung into action and started gathering the information. "To keep it suspicion-free, every formality, including the panchanama, was completed before recording the deaths,'' a revenue official said. He said officials visited houses of the deceased and interviewed the families. "They probed whether the deceased had watched YSR's funeral before suicide.'' Officials have promised money under different schemes if a person died after watching YSR's funeral. "So many families claimed that their kin had died after watching YSR's funeral,'' said the official. Another official said they had sent their reports a week ago to the collectors. "The data was then forwarded to the the Jagan camp, which released them to the media.'' Congress workers even offered pension to those who died of YSR shock. In fact, once this news spread, people started reporting deaths and suicides voluntarily as shock deaths. Officials called suicides and deaths in large numbers during the mourning period that ended on September 10. Some shock deaths are still being reported in the hope of a windfall. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/news/india/YSR-shock-deaths-a-charade-to-claim-money/articleshow/5019824.cms I am loss at words for this disgusting act. I mean can people stoop this low for political power ? :((

The problem is that a precedent is set, the number is 400. So if tomorrow Kalaignar dies, do you think DMK will be happy with anything less than 500 people? What happens with this charade is that, yuo can foresee a future where people are killed to make up this numbers (Scary thought, but that not far fetched if you see all the riots that happen when some leader dies).

The problem is that a precedent is set' date=' the number is 400. So if tomorrow Kalaignar dies, do you think DMK will be happy with anything less than 500 people? What happens with this charade is that, yuo can foresee a future where people are killed to make up this numbers (Scary thought, but that not far fetched if you see all the riots that happen when some leader dies).[/quote'] If the old man dies... Stalin and Azhagiri will fight for the CM chair even before the body is burned or buried...:--D

The problem is that a precedent is set' date=' the number is 400. So if tomorrow Kalaignar dies, do you think DMK will be happy with anything less than 500 people? What happens with this charade is that, yuo can foresee a future where people are killed to make up this numbers (Scary thought, but that not far fetched if you see all the riots that happen when some leader dies).[/quote'] You scare me.. You really do.

The problem is that a precedent is set' date=' the number is 400. So if tomorrow Kalaignar dies, do you think DMK will be happy with anything less than 500 people? What happens with this charade is that, yuo can foresee a future where people are killed to make up this numbers (Scary thought, [b']but that not far fetched if you see all the riots that happen when some leader dies).
It has already happened.. When the Reddy Congress was formed in the 80s, the CM had to be changed because of riots that broke out for no reason. They killed a lot of homeless people and beggars on the street just to get the CM changed.

It's laughable that people here who most probably are outside India talk about corruption. It's as if only politicians in India are corrupt and everyone else are saints. This is a blooody joke. Corruption is down to the grass roots level. In fact, the zilla parishads and MRO's are the #1 corrupt people in India, not politicians. When 1 rupee is allocated only 10 paise go to the public. In that at most 10 paise will be taken by politicians at the top (CM and his henchmen) but the rest of the 80 paise is stolen mercilessly by the zilla parishads and MRO's who allocate the money and distribute it to the common public. YSR to his credit did a lot of great things and because of that won the re-election EVEN when CBN was willing to give the entire farm to get elected (CBN promised free colour TV's and 1,000 rupees per month to pretty much everyone if he won, along with weekends off for government workers) He literally gave everything away and while YSR said "I will not add anything but people will judge me based on what I have done" He did: 1. Arogyasree - Free health care for everyone who are poor. You no longer had to die in a government hospital - you could get free health care from a good hospital and government would pay for it through the bills (Although highly socialist, we all have to accept that life is the most precious thing and it provided an avenue for the poor to survive and thrive) and it reduced the infant mortality rate by a crazy amount 2. 1 KG rice for 2 rupees. This was so successful that even the national government was baffled and they are planning to introduce it everywhere across the country by copying YSR 3. He really cared for people who believed in him. If there ever was anyone who you could bank on their word, he was that person. That's why he has such tremendous loyalty. 4. Padayatra - he is the only CM ever to WALK thousands of kilometers in blistering summer heat averaging 45 degrees C - and listen to people's problems. Ask the morons who lead our nation today and you will see if anyone will show this much dedication. He surely was corrupt but he had the foresight to do some great things that people were willing to forgive and move forward. He single handedly helped Sonia Gandhi's UPA win at the centre twice - without him, Congress would not have enjoyed the success they are now enjoying as he was loyal to the party and never asked to split. Although I never voted for him, I do realize I'm not the ideal voter for him, he represented the masses and rightfully so. I find it hilarious that posters talk about corruption - corruption is a part of life. Live with it. If you have some power in India - even the nicest of individuals and the most honest of them will use it for their benefit or for the benefit of their family. Getting out of corruption is impossible as it's down to the grass-roots level. But at the same time, with the political system we have in India - he who causes the least damage to people and provides the greatest value to others (YSR's arogyasree single handedly saved the lives of lakhs of people) wins.

Just one question Blueblood. Here are the facts you have already mentioned: 1). He was ****ing corrupt. 2). The biggest GOOD that he did was enormous freebies for poor people (super cheap rice, free health care) So tell me, how hard it is to do those things without giving a **** about the economic condition of the state. AP's finances are probably in their worst state ever due to populist schemes such as above. ANd he himself was probably a billionaire to say the least. How hard is to give freebies to poor through state money, let the finances go to hell meanwhile have your personal wealth grow to hundreds of crores through the same state money. I ask you, WHAT IS THE BIG ****ING DEAL ?

It's a big ****ing deal because no one else in India has done that truly touched the poor the way he did. No question about it. While politicians were busy distributing free colour TV's, liquor and other garbage, he provided cheap food and established irrigation projects and most importantly provided free health care. No other idiot politician in India has done that. And for good reason, do you know how many hoops you have to go through politically to get some good things done in India? Be it anything. YSR was the only one in prime position to get things done because he single-handedly made congress win in 2004 and made utter losers into super-star MLA's and MP's in 2004. He had enough loyalty to get things anyway he wanted them. No one else has that kind of luxury in the entire country. That's the reason why he got re-elected without any new promises or strong campaigning the second time - he reaped the rewards. The common man in a village doesn't understand how a government works, all he/she cares is whether their voices are heard and whether their problems are being solved - at least some of them. YSR solved many of those. That's why over 10 million people came to his funeral and the whole state came to a halt for 1 week. If giving freebies was so easy, why isn't everyone doing it? They all talk but never make sure it actually reaches the poor - or even get it implemented in the first place. To his credit YSR managed those two brilliantly, it's actually a model today. Put this in perspective when you talk of corruption too: Congress party in 2004 was completely shattered, dismantled and fallen over as CBN destroyed them in the election prior. YSR made complete losers such as small-time lawyers, small time farmers, mayors etc. into super-star MP's in 2004 single-handedly through his 'padayatra' - so obviously there will be corruption so they can strengthen their coffers to battle for the coming elections to boost their chances. Now don't tell me you don't spend money and win. JP Narayan is the only one in the entire country who didn't spend a single illegal penny to get elected nor did he kiss anyone's behind to get there. But he too respected many of YSR's programs - the only problem he had was the implementation of them. But in India, with grass-roots level corruption and greed, proper implementation is impossible. Let me give you an example, Arogyasree which is a brilliant idea - giving free health care from private hospitals to the poor. Basically that almost bankrupted the government because private hospitals started to charge 4 lakhs for a broken leg, 10 lakhs for a heart-attack patient etc. Ridiculous figures like that to the government to make money. Is that the government's fault? If the private sector is corrupt too, then how can we blame YSR for this? AP's state the poorest? You have to be kidding. Every year the central government gives sh*t to AP - the state is always ignored as Congress took the state for granted while they courted corrupt and alliance parties. Last year YSR - the sole reason congress won in 2004 and most important reason congress spent everything in UP (due to the confidence they had in the victory in south) in 2009. Yet, the state has always progressed. Then under CBN - today majority of software engineers in US are from AP thanks to CBN's foresight (even CBN was hella corrupt - he funded his thousands+ crores milk company by destroying the government-run milk board and companies) - today under YSR, "populist schemes" - you talk about actually destroyed CBN's free colour TV, government employees getting weekends off (2 days) AND 1,000 ruppes/month free for life income to pretty much everyone. Why would these schemes beat a complete "no-brainer" freebies from CBN? That too quite overwhelmingly. The fact is, they worked. Whether we like it or not, they worked. They saved lives and fed people. In India, if you can provide people with the basic necessities, food, clothing, water, shelter and health care, they'll worship you for life. They could care less if you are corrupt or not - that's the fact of life. We can sit and contemplate all we want, just as lobbyists are a way of life in the US, corruption is part of Indian politics as well. You have to live with it. That's why I have tremendous respect for YSR - his programs actually worked and although his son benefited from his schemes - he personally didn't benefit much as his earnings were where transparent.

AP's state the poorest? You have to be kidding
AP is 4th most debt ridden state in the country. Source: http://specials.rediff.com/money/2009/mar/31slide11-indias-top-ten-debt-ridden-states.htm
If giving freebies was so easy, why isn't everyone doing it? They all talk but never make sure it actually reaches the poor - or even get it implemented in the first place. To his credit YSR managed those two brilliantly, it's actually a model today.
FALSE. So you are saying providing cheap food is a novel idea in India ? Lol, infact CBN's father in law NTR himself introduced rice rupees 2/kg scheme way back in 1980s. TN has had a similar program (Rs 1/kg) for years. Or free electricity to farmers is a big deal ? Punjab govt has been doing that for decades and it has been a big issue politically. But it bankrupted Punjab too. And now it doesn't have enough money to pay its employees. The health care thing is novel and I agree with that. But these things in long term will hurt the economy because they can work for short time only if not accompanied by increase in state's productivity (in which case, Gujarat is a way better model state than AP any day). Padyatras are just gimmicks which a lot of people have tried before.

AP is 4th most debt ridden state in the country. Source: http://specials.rediff.com/money/2009/mar/31slide11-indias-top-ten-debt-ridden-states.htm FALSE. So you are saying providing cheap food is a novel idea in India ? Lol, infact CBN's father in law NTR himself introduced rice rupees 2/kg scheme way back in 1980s. TN has had a similar program (Rs 1/kg) for years. Or free electricity to farmers is a big deal ? Punjab govt has been doing that for decades and it has been a big issue politically. But it bankrupted Punjab too. And now it doesn't have enough money to pay its employees. The health care thing is novel and I agree with that. But these things in long term will hurt the economy because they can work for short time only if not accompanied by increase in state's productivity (in which case, Gujarat is a way better model state than AP any day). Padyatras are just gimmicks which a lot of people have tried before.
NTR did it 20 years ago - doing the same thing now is something special. AP went bankrupt due to drought for almost 8 years and the flooding problems caused recently. Hence, irrigation projects which were instituted almost 15 years ago were completed only recently due to bad management by prior governments and drought. Plus, the state is always over-looked by the UPA and is never provided any benefits that TN or other southern states with turbulent politics receive. Also, you fail to realize that 80% of the economy is run by farmers. Indian government forgave all the debt farmers had totaling thousands of crores because of suicides as well as to prevent a food crisis due to viability of farming declining as farmers started to sell lands. Economics is a different cookie in India - it's not as simple as capitalism because when the majority is under poverty, the safety net increases exponentially to prevent a collapse. Padayatra is no gimmick - YSR's was heavily covered - go do some research please. He walked through the entire state (totalling several thousands of kilometers) over several months - a feat no one to date has achieved because due to AP's heat it's almost impossible. He himself admitted he will never be able to do it again. He was able to do it due to his will power and the fact that he is a licensed MBBS doctor who was able to aptly take care of himself. Unfortunately, these schemes are necessary because unlike the west where majority of the people are in the middle-class, majority of Indians are in poverty. It's an undeniable fact. Reading some wikipedia article is not a way to judge a man. Although he may not have been perfect, he had the pulse of the masses. AP is the rice bowl of India - Had YSR not taken care of the farmers, believe me, whole of India would have been screwed in the long run. Free electricity - now that's a whole different issue - I'm personally against it and that's why I didn't include it in his achievements.