Anakin Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 It was a lost match anyways, but the youth brigade failed to impress yet again.
Shehezaada Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 There's a difference between "we were par on the required rate" vs. "we were on par with their scoring rate". After that Dilshan over' date=' our score was something like 104/2 or something. Sri Lanka at the same stage were 106/3. Thats what I was referring to. Considering it was only Dravid and Yuvraj at the crease, and there were still Dhoni, Yusuf, Raina to come, and that middle order is supposedly one of the best in world, it shouldn't have been hard to match their scoring rate.[/quote'] See this logic is sound if your playing somewhere else - NOT Sri Lanka, and particularly at Premadasa. Chasing against SRL in SRL you need to be always ahead of the rate because of the pitch slowing down and breaking up. The ball also tends to do a bit under lights. Why do most of the teams who bat first win in SRL? Tendulkar has played enough with Dravid that they would know what they're doing at the crease. Bottom point is that it was a ball that had to be hit, and he didn't hit it properly. Why are you creating the circumstance around it to say that Dravid was fiddling around and not taking the singles? Yeah, Sachin was striking the ball well and he was doing that last time as well. But over the past year or so, he's gotten dismissed through a slower ball numerous times. So are all those dismissals due to the pressure around him? If there's a hallmark of Tendulkar...it's that he ALWAYS learns from his mistakes. You'll never see him dismissed continuously in the same fashion for too long. When was the last time he got out to a slower ball barring the last match? Unless Sachin says that he was trying to up the scoring rate and tried to hit a ball that didn't deserve to be hit, I don't believe the "Dravid took the momentum away from Sachin" nonsense. Sachin is the ultimate pro, why would he go out and diss his buddy in public? So under pressure, you play the same ball on the leg side than if you were without pressure. Do you even make sense to yourself. You admit that he played a lofted shot over extra cover to a similar slower ball from the same bowler that had an offside line. Again, "under pressure", facing a similar delivery (but on the middle-off line), he tried to loft the ball and mistimed it to mid-on (or I don't recall where the fielder caught him). So when he makes the mistake, its due to circumstances despite him having played the same shot to the same bowler successfully just a few overs before. That is prejudice - not logic. And yes, if you're saying that Dravid gave away the momentum and thats why Sachin had to accelerate - that is blaming Dravid for SRT's dismissal - whether you intend it that way or not. See you have to get your facts straight, and if you don't remember, you best be sure that you look it up. How is it the "similar" ball? The first ball was a straight ball, outside off stump, full in length and hit over the top cleanly. The second was of goodish length, not full, not a length ball, in between, that was OUTSIDE off stump and came in with the cutting action, in other words an off cutter. He made a mistake trying to go over the top with that one...it wasn't going to go anywhere. They are two completely different balls, two completely different results. The point is he didn't have to play that shot - but he did. The pressure was mounting was Dravid pottering around at the other end. And he KNOWS, you gotta take full advantage of the power plays. Dravid isn't going to do that. Because only Sachin can quarterback your chase. How long will he need to do it for? 2-3 years right? After that? Dravid's a support act now? NO. Dravid is an anchor.They are two different things. At #3, he is supposed to be a rock - taking singles, giving the strike to the stroke players, and then capitalizing when the part timers came on. He played his role to perfection today. That the others didn't play their roles properly makes him stand out. You expected him to have 36 out of 24 balls in the power play? You saw how difficult it was to score. IMO, 12 off 24 isn't bad if you were going to end up with 48 off 55 anyway. Because the part timers like Jayasuriya, Dilshan, and spinners ilke Mendis were going to bowl later on. That was a time when Sachin could've scored because he's a terrific player of spin. He played his role to perfection if we where chasing 230, NOT 307. You can't afford to strike at 50 in the powerplays. He played well the other day and that was his role. And again, you can't make it up after the power plays, what's done is done. And they showed that today by.. edging the ball behind to Sangakkara. Your argument would hold true had Raina or Yuvraj or Dhoni or Yusuf tried to hit and were caught in the outfield. 2 of those people were caught behind by simple off-side bowling. Yuvraj's dismissal could've been guessed by a drunken monkey, as I said in the match thread. To think that he's played some 230 matches and cannot restrict himself from nudging outside off is a shame to a player you were suggesting to move at #3. Brilliant stuff. Raina had a first ball duck to a ball that was well outside off. Dhoni and Yusuf failed today. You can't take one game and say that the theory fails. How many times has a different #3 come out for India in the past 1.5 years according to the situation? Sometimes it's been Dhoni, sometimes Raina, sometimes Yuvraj. One failure doesn't give the theory a miss.
graphic23 Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 Look, I've watched Sachin enough to say that unless the required run rate was very high and we had very few overs to make 100 runs or something, I don't think Sachin would do anything to risk his wicket, because its just not necessary. He's got the ability to score his runs all around the wicket, and with the recent innovations and cheeky runs that he's added to his repertoire, he can easily make up the # of dot balls. IF you cannot accept that, this is not worth a debate. The lowest that the run rate went upto was around 4.5 and the highest the rrr went upto was around 6.8 when he was still there. Preserving your wicket early was important rather than hitting out because scoring runs was NOT easy. As I continue to repeat myself, Dravid's 48 off 55 when he exited the field is more worthwhile than a 27 off 33 that Sachin contributed. I've seen the replays of the dismissal, and it was a mistimed shot still because I've seen him play that shot to a similar ball in England when we visited in 2007 and get a 6 for it. It was not the wrong shot for that ball. Mistiming it is different. But I don't think I can convince you because I disagree with your basic premise that what Dravid was doing in the first 15 overs was wrong. I think it was perfect as it showed in the end. You may have your own opinions of it though. Scoring was incredibly difficult as the rest of the batting line up showed, and whatever Dravid did, he got some 20 runs higher than the next highest, and that was Sachin. Whether you're scoring 230 or 307 or even 435 you can only score it if you're at the crease. Dravid preserved his wicket well when he could've lost it to acceleration. Later on he made up for the slow scoring initially. If he had Sachin at the other end, he wouldn't have tried to play that ball in the same way he did that got him bowled. In the end, what Dravid did was right, and blaming him indirectly for Sachin's dismissal is being unfair to both Sachin's mental capability and Dravid.
riya Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 its pretty obvious he still dosent . Such a poor generalisation.One of the batsmen need to keep the momentum.
riya Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 jusarrived is a bonafide Tendulkar baiter and troll across multiple message boards on the web - don't bother trying to get into a logical discussion with this guy' date=' instead use your grey cells elsewhere. His MO is trolling negative one liners about Tendulkar and disappearing into oblivion if someone responds with an intelligent post and then come out of his cave again when Tendulkar fails.[/quote'] So it is personal for him like fineleg,I wonder why?
Lord Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 Look, I've watched Sachin enough to say that unless the required run rate was very high and we had very few overs to make 100 runs or something, I don't think Sachin would do anything to risk his wicket, because its just not necessary. He's got the ability to score his runs all around the wicket, and with the recent innovations and cheeky runs that he's added to his repertoire, he can easily make up the # of dot balls. IF you cannot accept that, this is not worth a debate. The lowest that the run rate went upto was around 4.5 and the highest the rrr went upto was around 6.8 when he was still there. Preserving your wicket early was important rather than hitting out because scoring runs was NOT easy. As I continue to repeat myself, Dravid's 48 off 55 when he exited the field is more worthwhile than a 27 off 33 that Sachin contributed. I've seen the replays of the dismissal, and it was a mistimed shot still because I've seen him play that shot to a similar ball in England when we visited in 2007 and get a 6 for it. It was not the wrong shot for that ball. Mistiming it is different. But I don't think I can convince you because I disagree with your basic premise that what Dravid was doing in the first 15 overs was wrong. I think it was perfect as it showed in the end. You may have your own opinions of it though. Scoring was incredibly difficult as the rest of the batting line up showed, and whatever Dravid did, he got some 20 runs higher than the next highest, and that was Sachin. Whether you're scoring 230 or 307 or even 435 you can only score it if you're at the crease. Dravid preserved his wicket well when he could've lost it to acceleration. Later on he made up for the slow scoring initially. If he had Sachin at the other end, he wouldn't have tried to play that ball in the same way he did that got him bowled. In the end, what Dravid did was right, and blaming him indirectly for Sachin's dismissal is being unfair to both Sachin's mental capability and Dravid. i wont blame RD for SRT'S dismissal but to say his a perfect innings would also be wrong.wat RD did was to wait for tha bad ball n keep blocking the good ones.he didnt make any effort to hit the good ones or like he earlier used to do,just drop the ball close to him n pinch a single. there no doubt that he left the attacking thing to SRT completely n u cant do that in powerplays wen chasing 307.that SRT failed at attacking is another thing. RD's 48 off 55 included a 4 n a six off part timer Dilshan,dont forget that n to say hat RD's contribution was more worthwhile than SRT just bcoz he had a marginally better S/R is wrong IMO.both were worthless.SRT needed to make use of the powerplays n he failed at that.n RD needed to stay till the end n he failed at that too
Texy Posted September 13, 2009 Author Posted September 13, 2009 So what did your bookmark indicate? He shouldn't be in the playing XI He shouldn't be struggling like the way he did in the beginning... this is ODI...you lose momentum if you keep blocking ball after ball and do not rotate strike... He will prove to be very costly for India..... esp if we don't get to have Gauti
Aadhavzone Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 He shouldn't be in the playing XI He shouldn't be struggling like the way he did in the beginning... this is ODI...you lose momentum if you keep blocking ball after ball and do not rotate strike... He will prove to be very costly for India..... esp if we don't get to have Gauti I agree he shudn't be in P Xi, but 2mrw no other go he scored some runs, but he never trusted confidence yesterday! What happened to his face! :nervous:
jusarrived Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 Yes. to your superior understanding of a player whom the rest of the world (barring the idiots next door) consider as one of the greatest players of all time (and greatest according to some). Man, just because I supported Dravid doesn't mean I thought Sachin played badly. You look at the # of times he failed, and I look at the number of times he's succeeded, and succeeded damn well too. How many players in world cricket (ever in ODIs) are experts at chasing scores 275+ that they've contributed every single time. It always requires something special. We didn't get that from Sachin nor from anyone today. But hey, since he's the scape goat, let's say that its his fault. Get off your high horse where you claim you know best because the rest of us are all "worshipers" or "blind". if you go through this thread , its not Tendulkar , but Dravid whos been made a scapegoat here. i was merely responding to that . unless you are a "worshiper" or "blind" , if any one deserves criticism its tendulkar , for playing a fault stroke when it wasnt required .
jusarrived Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 So it is personal for him like fineleg' date='I wonder why?[/quote'] nothing personal , its his fan boys who take it personally .
Guest Hiten. Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 if you go through this thread , its not Tendulkar , but Dravid whos been made a scapegoat here. i was merely responding to that . unless you are a "worshiper" or "blind" , if any one deserves criticism its tendulkar , for playing a fault stroke when it wasnt required . Exactly. Tendulkar is yet to learn how to bat out an innings when the target is above 300 (infact, he needs to learn how to bat in the 2nd innings. PERIOD!). Tendulkar could have scored at run a ball or at a SR of 60-70 till the 40th over and then blasted the Lankan bowling attack in the batting powerplay and fetched India somewhere around 100-120 runs in the last 10 overs because Tendulkar is a superman (GOD, to some) and could do anything if he is on the crease. I tell you these tendulkar worshippers are yet to understand the simple game of cricket :girly1:.
jusarrived Posted September 13, 2009 Posted September 13, 2009 Exactly. Tendulkar is yet to learn how to bat out an innings when the target is above 300 (infact, he needs to learn how to bat in the 2nd innings. PERIOD!). Tendulkar could have scored at run a ball or at a SR of 60-70 till the 40th over and then blasted the Lankan bowling attack in the batting powerplay and fetched India somewhere around 100-120 runs in the last 10 overs because Tendulkar is a superman (GOD, to some) and could do anything if he is on the crease. I tell you these tendulkar worshippers are yet to understand the simple game of cricket :girly1:. am not falling for this :finger:
riya Posted September 14, 2009 Posted September 14, 2009 nothing personal ' date=' its his fan boys who take it personally .[/quote'] Alright,so far I saw those who have such hatred for Tendulkar belong to either of these three categories Pakistanis Dravid fans(not all) Ponting fans(not all) I thought u belong to one of them.
Laaloo Posted September 14, 2009 Posted September 14, 2009 Exactly. Tendulkar is yet to learn how to bat out an innings when the target is above 300 (infact, he needs to learn how to bat in the 2nd innings. PERIOD!). Tendulkar could have scored at run a ball or at a SR of 60-70 till the 40th over and then blasted the Lankan bowling attack in the batting powerplay and fetched India somewhere around 100-120 runs in the last 10 overs because Tendulkar is a superman (GOD, to some) and could do anything if he is on the crease. I tell you these tendulkar worshippers are yet to understand the simple game of cricket :girly1:. WTF are you talking about dude? If tendulkar really is a great player, then HE HAS to hit the winning runs for India. Iz knowz he haz done onze in Australia but when has he done that in India? I just want to see him hit the winning runz! Is that too much to ask?
Guest gaurav_indian Posted September 14, 2009 Posted September 14, 2009 WTF are you talking about dude? If tendulkar really is a great player, then HE HAS to hit the winning runs for India. Iz knowz he haz done onze in Australia but when has he done that in India? I just want to see him hit the winning runz! Is that too much to ask? :finger: This year against england in chennai test who hit the winning run?
Guest gaurav_indian Posted September 14, 2009 Posted September 14, 2009 its pretty obvious he still dosent . Welcome to cricket. FYI cricket is a team game yet the guy like Sachin Tendulkar mastered it with his individual brilliance and hardwork that allows people like you to question his performances. That tells a lot about Sachin. Sachin Tendulkars haters can kiss Venkatpathy Raju's a**. :finger:
DomainK Posted September 14, 2009 Posted September 14, 2009 Exactly. Tendulkar is yet to learn how to bat out an innings when the target is above 300 (infact, he needs to learn how to bat in the 2nd innings. PERIOD!). Tendulkar could have scored at run a ball or at a SR of 60-70 till the 40th over and then blasted the Lankan bowling attack in the batting powerplay and fetched India somewhere around 100-120 runs in the last 10 overs because Tendulkar is a superman (GOD, to some) and could do anything if he is on the crease. I tell you these tendulkar worshippers are yet to understand the simple game of cricket :girly1:. Whatever you are smoking must be strong.:two_thumbs_up:
Guest gaurav_indian Posted September 14, 2009 Posted September 14, 2009 Exactly. Tendulkar is yet to learn how to bat out an innings when the target is above 300 (infact, he needs to learn how to bat in the 2nd innings. PERIOD!). Tendulkar could have scored at run a ball or at a SR of 60-70 till the 40th over and then blasted the Lankan bowling attack in the batting powerplay and fetched India somewhere around 100-120 runs in the last 10 overs because Tendulkar is a superman (GOD, to some) and could do anything if he is on the crease. I tell you these tendulkar worshippers are yet to understand the simple game of cricket :girly1:. Bhai Ashes Cricket 2009 khelne ke baad yehi hota hai. :hysterical:
Laaloo Posted September 14, 2009 Posted September 14, 2009 :finger: This year against england in chennai test who hit the winning run? I waz referring to ODI FINALS! What haz sachin done in the last 10 years. Remember all those ODI finals which the yuviz, the dravidz, the gangulians, the dhonis, and the sehwags won for uz while your glorified "GOD" was scoring in binaries!
jusarrived Posted September 14, 2009 Posted September 14, 2009 Alright,so far I saw those who have such hatred for Tendulkar belong to either of these three categories Pakistanis Dravid fans(not all) Ponting fans(not all) I thought u belong to one of them. this is some thing i have said a million times , talent & technique tendulkar is head an shoulders above ponting , lara or Dravid ...never denied his contribution to indian cricket ...but hes never convinced me under pressure ...so rate the likes of Dravid , shewag & VVs above him . dunno who i have been made a tendulkar hater , just cos i criticize him ..like i do every player