Money,fame distracting Indian cricketers: Tiger Pataudi

patriot

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/devils-advocate-money-fame-distracting-cricketers-says-pataudi/102679-5.html?from=tn
Karan Thapar:Would you then stepping back accept that money in a sense is beginning to spoil some Indian cricketers? MAK Pataudi: No, I think fame where there was no money also spoilt Indian cricketers. But obviously the temptations are much more now than it was in my time. Karan Thapar:And the combination of money and fame, particularly when it comes easily and early, can be very dangerous? MAK Pataudi: Well, it is very difficult to deal with for most people.
Guest Hiten.

Back to square one, are we ? Just because doctors were paid $100 per year (figuratively) 100 years ago, does it mean we should continue paying them the same in fear of them not working hard , losing focus in their field, not doing their job right, if we start paying them the ridiculous amount that we are in today's world ?

I think you guys should read the full interview before commenting. What he is indicating is that, most young cricketers from modest backgrounds would struggle to handle the instant fame and massive money that Indian cricket has to offer these days. It is easy to lose focus when one good series performance as a teenage debutant wins you crores worth endorsement and these days that BIG FAT IPL deal.

He answered the same way anyone of us would have answered to the question. And it is certainly not something we don't know already. Some handle fame well (Tendulkar). Some don't (Kambli, L Siva). It is not applicable just to cricket , applicable in any walk of the life. At the end of the day it is upto individuals.

You cannot stop progress and money, there is a businessman and want for money even for the little master - nothing wrong, paisa sabko pyara hain Its upto each individual how they handle themselves

I think you guys should read the full interview before commenting. What he is indicating is that, most young cricketers from modest backgrounds would struggle to handle the instant fame and massive money that Indian cricket has to offer these days. It is easy to lose focus when one good series performance as a teenage debutant wins you crores worth endorsement and these days that BIG FAT IPL deal.
Agreed. What do you suggest? Folks like Rahul Dravid and Anil Kumble have spoken to some of these youngsters about how to handle the sudden income rise + fame. They are the best, IMO, to speak to these guys. There was an idea being thrown around that all the young kids will have a manager until they are 22 (or 23 years) and after that, they could handle their own finances. I dont know whether BCCI implemented it or not. Bottom line is that folks like MSD also came from very backward financial positions, and despite being one of the top earners in cricket, has won 2 consecutive ODI player of the year award, is leading the ICC World Test and ODI XI. Something must be different about Dhoni, isn't it? Maturity being one of them. I think if the youngsters (who, lets not kid ourselves, are old enough to learn by example) paid attention to the right stars in Indian cricket (Dhoni, Sachin, Dravid, Kumble, Laxman (!), Sehwag, Gambhir) - they can definitely manage their lives properly. If they are looking for something else in life other than cricket once they get their money + fame, then they don't deserve any help from BCCI, me thinks. One cannot blame IPL for all the misdoings of these youngsters because opportunities for quick money in cricket will continue to pop up - its about how one prioritizes his/her life, and decide what they want to do with their talent. You can never blame the institution - only the person who gets deceived by it (at least in this case). Post is rather disorganized, forgive me for that. Its late, and I'm half asleep already.

As any economist wd say... in accordance with the serious lack of any celebrity Icons in India, all the marketing money will go to Cricketers thus Over valuing them. Anyhow... it is a reality...and in the future they may earn even more absurd amt of money.... All we can hope is BCCI selects cricketers with good work ethic.....

Why does it so happen that most of the so called "Spoiled" youngsters are bowlers ? Probably their lack of performance doesn't have anything to do with money, our bowlers just can't keep up their performance for other reasons. I would like to know the names of spoiled cricketers first. Are we talking about Ishant Sharma or Sreesanth Or Irfan Pathan ? Or Rohit Sharma ?

I kinda agree. BCCI is the most powerful org compared to rest of the world cricket boards in terms of money.Corruption do take place at every single step. Advertisements? remember there was a limit put up? Bhajji said "Yeh to umar hai paise kamane ke" wtf? you are representing India on a international level.

Why does it so happen that most of the so called "Spoiled" youngsters are bowlers ? Probably their lack of performance doesn't have anything to do with money, our bowlers just can't keep up their performance for other reasons. I would like to know the names of spoiled cricketers first. Are we talking about Ishant Sharma or Sreesanth Or Irfan Pathan ? Or Rohit Sharma ?
:cantstop:
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
I kinda agree. BCCI is the most powerful org compared to rest of the world cricket boards in terms of money.Corruption do take place at every single step. Advertisements? remember there was a limit put up? Bhajji said "Yeh to umar hai paise kamane ke" wtf? you are representing India on a international level.
Disagree.
Please state your point instead of saying one word
Artificial caps on money cricketers can earn is not a good idea. If not IPL, they can play in some other league in OZ or Eng. If IPL had not been created, ICL would still be alive and get bigger each year.

What a joke of an interview!! Over the top!! Look at some of the questions and one would be tempted to believe Indian cricket is ina deep crisis and hasnt been winning anything at all. Senseless questions by Karan Thapar! Absolutely over the top criticism. The team india is going to slap some of these critics very hard very soon. BTW did Karan Thapar do one single interview wth an ex cricketer in last 2 years when we won practically everything?