maniac Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Watch ganguly's debut test or Dravid's 84 in his debut series. that is called "announcing oneself" . I don't know if anyone has that video. That was one of the most beautiful test innings i have seen. Akmal played well in the boom boom (for loins) series in sl.and then did well in aus and nzl....he is definetely not a natural slogger.....just wants to be one
FischerTal Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Moyo is washed up.....I will watch a umar 30 over a moyo100 I agree. I will watch kamla bai's full toss hit straight to the bowler anyday :nice:
maniac Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 I agree. I will watch kamla bai's full toss hit straight to the bowler anyday :nice: He sacrificed his wicket for the team....moyo was selfish....spread rumors about brave umar of faking injury....family comes first....everyone appreciates a man with family values
FischerTal Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 He sacrificed his wicket for the team....moyo was selfish....spread rumors about brave umar of faking injury....family comes first....everyone appreciates a man with family values Usually I hear of tailenders sacrificing their wicket. Good to know kamla bai belongs to that group :giggle:
maniac Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Usually I hear of tailenders sacrificing their wicket. Good to know kamla bai belongs to that group :giggle: Give him.the no.4 slot , he will shut down haters
maniac Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Even in wc2011 sf umar was looking the most threatening....the way he was attacking yuvi.I was most releived with his and razzaqs dismissals
Magneto Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Give Akmal the oppurtunity to bat against Faulkner and Watson on the roads of Karachi and Lahore' date=' he probably wont score a 200 but definitely a big 100 with 100+ S/R.[/quote'] Umar Akmal's List-A average on the roads of Pakistan against mediocre Pakistani bowlers is a piddly 36, and you talk big. :hysterical: Most of the current Bangladeshi batsmen are better than Umar Akmal.
Magneto Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Even in wc2011 sf umar was looking the most threatening....the way he was attacking yuvi.I was most releived with his and razzaqs dismissals Umar Akmal is the 'Ishant Sharma' of Pakistani batting.
saneindian Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Give Akmal the oppurtunity to bat against Faulkner and Watson on the roads of Karachi and Lahore' date=' he probably wont score a 200 but definitely a big 100 with 100+ S/R.[/quote'] On the roads of UAE averages 29 :hatsoff:
jalebi_bhai Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 He took on the challenge to hit over the thirdmans head....garam khoon.... x give him time' date= he will learn LOL......he was trying to play across the line on to the leg side but ended up top edging it....:giggle:......that is the sign of a tailunt.....
jalebi_bhai Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 His innings today pretty much summarized everything that is wrong with him.......inability to comfortably rotate the strike, faulty footwork and lack of balance while playing his shots and a penchant for playing a rash shot every 5-6 balls.......
ganeshran Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Abdv struggled too....akmal took on steyn.....heartwarming bravery....umar and masquood would have finished it in 40 overs....scoreboard pressure needs to be considered and also tough on him as he was tired keeping....there is only so much a 20 + yr old can do.....ask kohli to keep and bat at 6 :beee: :giggle::giggle::giggle:
Crookbond Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 An average of 38 around position 5/6 is pretty decent. Yuvraj Singh averages 36.41 and has played >50% of his career at 5/6.
FischerTal Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 An average of 38 around position 5/6 is pretty decent. Yuvraj Singh averages 36.41 and has played >50% of his career at 5/6. Make him an opener like sharma. :giggle:
Crookbond Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Make him an opener like sharma. :giggle: TBH, I believe he would be better out there just like Kamran Akmal. It would give him more freedom than to bat at No.4, 5 and 6. The issue with Umar (like most of the Pakis) and particularly the Akmal family is temperament. They just CAN'T hold their heads together and run like spring chickens when push comes to shove. To a certain extent, Misbah has helped improve this tendency but the killer instinct we saw in Pakistan during the Imran, Waqar, Wasim era is lost. Even during Inzy bhai's time they were not the same. Earlier a match against Pakistan is never over till the last ball was bowled, they were able to create panic with their bowling in particular. One can't say the same about them now. Watch below to understand my point - XJpBEavG6_M
FischerTal Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 TBH, I believe he would be better out there just like Kamran Akmal. It would give him more freedom than to bat at No.4, 5 and 6. The issue with Umar (like most of the Pakis) and particularly the Akmal family is temperament. They just CAN'T hold their heads together and run like spring chickens when push comes to shove. To a certain extent, Misbah has helped improve this tendency but the killer instinct we saw in Pakistan during the Imran, Waqar, Wasim era is lost. Even during Inzy bhai's time they were not the same. Earlier a match against Pakistan is never over till the last ball was bowled, they were able to create panic with their bowling in particular. One can't say the same about them now. Watch below to understand my point - XJpBEavG6_M I don't think padosi cricket has been the same after the Amir/asif scandal. I think mentally, the players are always doubting each other's abilities, which affects team cohesion. Also, they historically relied on their bowling to run through batting lineups. Even though irfan and Judaic are very good bowlers, they lack the same killer instinct you talk about. I think, Amir, if he was around right now, would quite easily have taken that role by now
Crookbond Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 I don't think padosi cricket has been the same after the Amir/asif scandal. I think mentally' date=' the players are always doubting each other's abilities, which affects team cohesion. Also, they historically relied on their bowling to run through batting lineups. Even though irfan and Judaic are very good bowlers, they lack the same killer instinct you talk about. I think, Amir, if he was around right now, would quite easily have taken that role by now[/quote'] Good point about the Amir-Asif scandal. I think they plunged to depths after that spot-fixing scandal. Both Amir and Asif were really good bowlers. As a matter of fact, I cheered for Amir and Pakistan in the 2009 WT20 SF and finals. Loved the way he removed the dangerous Dilshan in the 1st over and pegged back SL.
FischerTal Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 Good point about the Amir-Asif scandal. I think they plunged to depths after that spot-fixing scandal. Both Amir and Asif were really good bowlers. As a matter of fact' date=' I cheered for Amir and Pakistan in the 2009 WT20 SF and finals. Loved the way he removed the dangerous Dilshan in the 1st over and pegged back SL.[/quote'] Amir's spell against England was the best. I love the way he got rid of cook. I was rooting for that boy, but alas Kya kare. Hopefully he comes back as the same bowler he was before
deathmonger Posted November 9, 2013 Posted November 9, 2013 An average of 38 around position 5/6 is pretty decent. Yuvraj Singh averages 36.41 and has played >50% of his career at 5/6. He avgs 35. Pakistan play so many games against Afghanistan/Zimbabwe/Scotland/Ireland etc that Pakistani batsmen/bowler increase/decrease their average by 2/3 points. So comparing absolute averages with people from other countries is unfair on the players from other countries. PAKISTANIS EXCLUDING MINNOWS Umar Akmal - 35.33 (compared to 37.xx) Umar Gul - 32.11 (compared to 28.59) Junaid Khan - 26.05 (compared to 23.72)