Ram Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 Is the minister a women? That makes it even worse..
flamy Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 ^ The age-group I was talking about was 18ish. And I really don't know whats the big deal if the government of a country begs you to not wear bikinis and run around naked in the country. Every country has its rules. Ask these rule-breaking fundies to try challenging the law in Europe or America and they shall know. India is not some lame country in which you can do what the hell you want to, despite being told not to, and then blame it on the government. These people need to grow some brains Dude, what you on about? Is it illegal to wear bikinis?
The Outsider Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 This isn't about the 9 year old girl, which is absurd. However, there are some common sense safety precautions that people must take when visiting anywhere. This applies more so when you are visiting a foreign country where your skin color is going to make you stick out. If I am an Indian tourist visiting USA and decide to go out for a stroll at 11 PM in Camden or North Philadelphia, I am setting myself up to be a target. Foreigners, specially whites have to follow some common sense and simple procedures to stay safe in India. I've had a few friends visit India and none had any problem, but you cannot just go in with a bull headed mentality of "It's not illegal", "This is a curb on my freedom". There are certain places like Manali, Simla etc. where they can be more normal and unrestricted, but in Delhi for example certain precautions have to be taken to ensure higher chances of safety. It's not the ideal scenario and there are obviously problems to sort out in the country, but till that is done tourists, specially whites women, just have to be extra careful.
flamy Posted February 2, 2010 Posted February 2, 2010 All common sense, Prof, but a minister making such statements especially when it is concerning a 9-yr old child who has been raped is ridiculous and irresponsible.
Desi Cartman Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 This isn't about the 9 year old girl, which is absurd. However, there are some common sense safety precautions that people must take when visiting anywhere. This applies more so when you are visiting a foreign country where your skin color is going to make you stick out. If I am an Indian tourist visiting USA and decide to go out for a stroll at 11 PM in Camden or North Philadelphia, I am setting myself up to be a target. Foreigners, specially whites have to follow some common sense and simple procedures to stay safe in India. I've had a few friends visit India and none had any problem, but you cannot just go in with a bull headed mentality of "It's not illegal", "This is a curb on my freedom". There are certain places like Manali, Simla etc. where they can be more normal and unrestricted, but in Delhi for example certain precautions have to be taken to ensure higher chances of safety. It's not the ideal scenario and there are obviously problems to sort out in the country, but till that is done tourists, specially whites women, just have to be extra careful. in all honesty, this is what the aussies say about attacks on Indians but desis still continue to make thesse mistakes over and over again BTW there is no way one can justify crimes whether its stabbing or rape of a 9 yr old. I hope the bastards get caught and punished.
suma25 Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 BTW there is no way one can justify crimes whether its stabbing or rape of a 9 yr old. I hope the bastards get caught and punished. They have been caught within the next day of the incident .Justice will be delivered in this case since none of the minister's kin are involved as was the case in earlier ones.
Desi Cartman Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 BTW this reminds me about an incident over 10-12 yrs ago. I was having a smoke at the local panwala and couple of 20yr old guys were standing next to me smoking. They saw a girl pass by who was wearing Jeans and a sleeveless top. One of the guys said " itnay chotay kapday pehanti hai , fir kehti hain baladhkaar ho gaya" .. These guys looked educated ( at least college students ) were from decent family ( as they had come on bike ). The idea that a girl who shows a lil bit of flesh is either a **** or inviting for rape is weird but very common
Texy Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 I thought the victim was molested not raped.... either way it's a horrible crime and that ******* should be put in jail for life .......the minister's statement reflects India's political image
achilles Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 But there is no law that women should walk around in burkhas' date=' so don't blame the victim for wearing what she is comfortable in[/quote'] Directive, for the lack of a better word, is what the Goa government has given to people coming from around the world. They asked them to dress decently. We need to understand that the tourists aren't Mother Mary's in disguise. They are just as responsible for their security as the stupid politicians are for their state. It takes two-to-tango. You run around naked, you attract that sorta crowd. And I'm really surprised that no one has picked up on the part that when you goto a country, you respect the rules/directives there. Why don't they run around naked in their country and do so in ours? Coz the directives of their country don't allow them to while they think anything goes in India. Your post is absolutely senseless and stupid. If you don't have anything smart to say the best option is to stay quiet. Which part of the word "OPINION" do you not understand? :hmmm: Dude' date=' what you on about? Is it illegal to wear bikinis?[/quote'] No. It isn't. But if it is causing problems and the government begs you time and again to dress decently, I don't see why the tourists should not agree. Don't we (rather, aren't we made to) follow the rules and directives when we goto different countries? Why is it so difficult for people to do so in our country?
Sachinism Posted February 3, 2010 Author Posted February 3, 2010 I'm sorry but I cannot agree with your views at all. You saying even if a 9 year old runs around half naked, she should be blamed for bring the attention on herself? Dude I think Chris Hansen needs to pay you a visit
achilles Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 ^ Dude, didn't I already state TWICE that all I've been saying is about ADULT FOREIGNERS and women above 18ish? No one on the planet can condone the man who raped the child. He needs to tackled in the strictest manner possible. We all know what would've happened to him had this been Saudi Arabia or any nation in the UAE!
achilles Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 Yes. No one can. Not even a chimp (hope you know who I'm referring to)
Riley's Girl Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 Yes. No one can. Not even a chimp (hope you know who I'm referring to) :dontknow:
flamy Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 No one on the planet can condone the man who raped the child No one can condone rape. Period. Child, adult, woman, man - no extra specs necessary.
Riley's Girl Posted February 3, 2010 Posted February 3, 2010 No one can condone rape. Period. Child' date=' adult, woman, man - no extra specs necessary.[/quote'] :dito:
Sachinism Posted February 3, 2010 Author Posted February 3, 2010 No one can condone rape. Period. Child' date=' adult, woman, man - no extra specs necessary.[/quote'] What about if its rape on the cricket field. Not in the literal form of course. Because a certain team has been suffering quite a bit of it down under
achilles Posted February 4, 2010 Posted February 4, 2010 No one can condone rape. Period. Child' date=' adult, woman, man - no extra specs necessary.[/quote'] Agreed. What about if its rape on the cricket field. Not in the literal form of course. Because a certain team has been suffering quite a bit of it down under :punter: