In the flurry to fete and honor AR Rahman, the world seems to have forgotten that the lyricist and poet Gulzar has also won a Grammy along with Rahman. In fact, his Grammy trophy was announced at the ceremony on Sunday evening. But Gulzar has no idea where his Grammy has gone. "It's a strange situation," he laughs. "Both Rahman and I were accorded our respective Grammy trophies. Unfortunately I wasn't in Los Angeles to collect mine. I don't know where it is. I hope it reaches me." Unlike popular Indian awards, Oscars and Grammys are not handed over to the other members of a crew when the actual winner is absent, so Gulzar doubts that Rahman collected it. "When I got my Oscar along with Rahman, he wasn't allowed to collect it on my behalf. It was sent to me by courier. I'm hoping the Grammy will reach me the same way." Strangely, there has been no talk in the media about Gulzar winning the Grammy alongside Rahman. Reasons Gulzar, "Rahman is now the global face of Indian popular music and we must all rejoice in that. The fact that Jai ho got such worldwide popularity has a lot to do with Rahman being the global brand ambassador of our music." ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- So Dileep saab, Bhool gaye kya?

First- During the Oscars, Sukhwinder Singh's visa was not granted at the last minute. Gulzar also had similar hassles and then didn't go. Now- For the Grammy's, AR goes alone AGAIN and claims his Grammy and the entire praise. Is fame changing AR Rehman for the worse? Coz I haven't read & heard much about him praising Gulzar & Sukhi (Please don't put a random vid of him doing that, ppl)! And this has happened twice with Sukhi and Gulzar & its really humble of them to let AR "steal the thunder"

WTF does AR Rahman has to do with their visa problems? 1st case, Sukwinder Singh wasnt nominated at all and probably never got a direct invitation (maybe got one as a crew member for the movie). 2nd case, why didnt Gulzar go? It wasnt like AR Rahman locked him up in a room. AR Rahman has no power over who gets visa or who gets to go on stage. If someone is nominated it's their right to go on stage and collect their awards, something which Gulzar didnt do. Both your claims are absurd and stupid.
First, Sukhwinder wasn't supposed to go to the Oscars as a random kid in the audience who'd jump with delight after SM wins Oscars. He was invited by the Academy Awards team to perform "Jai Ho" as part of the intro of the category, which ultimately AR had to do with the guy who was nominated with him, from the film Wall-E. So it would've helped if AR would've thanked Sukhi by name coz no one can deny the fact that Sukhi's song and Gulzar's lyrics were as important as AR's music and AR has been basking in glory while these guys sit at home. I think its their humility that they've not really taken offence to this. Second, you again to refuse to note the fact that AR didn't acknowledge Gulzar's role in him winning the Grammy. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT is what I'm talking about. Its the key point in my previous post as well. Its the last para of the previous post, if you chose not to read it before forming your opinion. And I stand by my opinion. A little more of humility from AR's side wouldn't have hurt.
First' date=' Sukhwinder wasn't supposed to go to the Oscars as a random kid in the audience who'd jump with delight after SM wins Oscars. He was invited by the Academy Awards team to perform "Jai Ho" as part of the intro of the category, which ultimately AR had to do with the guy who was nominated with him, from the film Wall-E. So it would've helped if AR would've thanked Sukhi by name coz no one can deny the fact that Sukhi's song and Gulzar's lyrics were as important as AR's music and AR has been basking in glory while these guys sit at home. I think its their humility that they've not really taken offence to this. Second, you again to refuse to note the fact that AR didn't acknowledge Gulzar's role in him winning the Grammy. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT is what I'm talking about. Its the key point in my previous post as well. Its the last para of the previous post, if you chose not to read it before forming your opinion. And I stand by my opinion. A little more of humility from AR's side wouldn't have hurt.
If the singer was important, he would have got nominated. But since there is no such category in Oscar for best singer, singer doesnt matter to them. So i doubt Sukvinder was invited. It was probably an invitation to rahman and his group to perform, which Sukvinder was a part of for that song. Did Rahman had anything to do with rejecting his visa? Or why in the world should he be obligated to mention Sukvinder and not the other dozen people who worked on that song. Why does Sukvinder feel that he is more important than the other people who has worked on his song ? Do you also believe that James Cameron should thank the guy who played jake sully for every award he gets for avatar? Besides, Gulzar won the award too. So i dont know why Rahman has to thank him too ? I dont understand how AR not thanking them on the speech means that he doesnt acknowledge them or is trying to hog the limelight. If you intend to believe in conspiracy theories, so be it.

^ You are going to stick to your point and I'm going to stick to mine. No point in continuously arguing. Its not that AR & Sukhi are reading this and will be getting an orgasm. So lets just leave it here :icflove:

First time around, Sukhwinder & Ar.Rahman were both invited to perform at the Oscars. http://www.newsline365.com/20093760/a-r-rahman-and-sukhwinder-to-perform-at-the-oscars/ but instead only pigface showed up there..guess what..lol some fame-hungry bugger he is, also unlike many stupid people here, I don't suck up to cheats even though they won oscar for India, screw them...many here do blind pooja..numbnuts :finger:
Chhod na yaar. We all know that AR's done way way better in the past. He could've won International awards for films like Roza & Bombay, but well, these films weren't exactly international. I liked the movie of SM, but its just a shadow of his actual music. And I still believe that Sukhi was really kind to have let go of all this. And so was Gulzar saab.
First time around, Sukhwinder & Ar.Rahman were both invited to perform at the Oscars. http://www.newsline365.com/20093760/a-r-rahman-and-sukhwinder-to-perform-at-the-oscars/ but instead only pigface showed up there..guess what..lol some fame-hungry bugger he is, also unlike many stupid people here, I don't suck up to cheats even though they won oscar for India, screw them...many here do blind pooja..numbnuts :finger:
why is he a cheat? :dontknow:

ARR is basically a reflection of our times(read NRI affect), me thinks. Yes he is a great artist and all that but hardly the best we have produced. I can rattle 10 music directors that I think were much better than him. This could very well be a matter of personal test but I very much suspect that if a list of top 50 Hindi songs were compiled ARR would get more than a handful of mention. Gulzar on the other hand is a complete genius who may very well make a case of the greatest genius we had in the field of lyrics, and thats saying something considered we have had pehelwaans ranging from Sahir Ludhianvi to Gopal Das Niraj. Although I was probably more ecstatic than most when ARR won Golden Globes(I remember getting overly excited in a thread at ICF while the GG were happening Live), I have started to get a bit miffed at ARR showing up at every second award everywhere ranging from Oscar to Grammy to mohallewaala Latin beats. I thought the man had a reputation of being recluse and shunned award functions and crowd. Apparently when the felicitation comes from the West it is much to ignore. xxx

Some of the posts here make my jaw drop 2 feet.. You can only marvel at the sheer ignorance of people sitting in the comforts of their home and passing judgments on the characters of other based on some news reports.

can anyone name any other INDIAN who has won an OSCAR and a GRAMMY? If you are not proud of him, you are not an INDIAN. PS: ofc Gulzaar also has, so let's be proud of him as well. Just stop the *****ing.

^ Good to see the way you picked on the "Daddy" part :hysterical: SD da was awesome too. Any of his songs which come to your mind?
Any?? Actually many Start with songs from Guide: Aaj phir jeene ki tamanna hai Har fikr ko dhuein mein udaaata chala gaya Move to Aradhana: Roop tera mastana Mere Sapno ki Raani Move over to Pyaasa Hum aapki aankhon mein is dil ko basa dein to Jaane wo kaise log the jinke Ye duniya agar mil bhi jaaye Then Abhimaan Meet na mila re man ka Teri bindiya re tere mere milan ki ye raina etc etc