Holysmoke Posted February 23, 2010 Posted February 23, 2010 Dhoni will lift the trophy.. unless he has a change of heart and lets SRT go to the podium and pick it up instead...
Chorazin Reto Posted February 23, 2010 Posted February 23, 2010 The Aussie side does not have the greats of the past, be interesting to see if they can still pull it off with the modern lineup, the last World Cup Gilchrist blasted Sri Lanka out of the game.
cowboysfan Posted February 23, 2010 Posted February 23, 2010 australia would dominate all the teams and it is not even close.there is a way for the the sub contienent teams to win against them and that is a pitch which assists their spinners.If its a patta flat wicket then the aussies will simply overwhelme teams with their batting.
ViruRulez Posted February 23, 2010 Posted February 23, 2010 China... who is their captain BTW and are they playing :giggle: Yaar ek saal baaki hai .. predictions thread to time pe shuru karo :wall:
Bradman99 Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 India are a chance Of taking out the world cup later this year. I think it's quite clear that India and Australia have the best one day sides, Australia are probably better at the moment though as shown in the previous series (4-2). However, I think India have learnt a lot from that series loss and have a slightly stronger side now and if they keep progressing in a positive manner, will be in a very good position to go a long way in the World Cup. And lets face it, it's about time India put up a big performance at the World Cup and won it, the fans deserve it. The reasons I think india have a good chance of taking it out are: - Sehwag. The way he is playing at the moment, if he gets going he is virtually unstoppable, such a tough player to come up against. - Tendulkar's last world cup. This will no doubt spur the group on. Tendulkar will no doubt want to retire having won the World Cup, if he leaves with it then he can say he has achieved all there is to achieve in the game. A determined Tendulkar is a scary sight. - Yuvraj. He is another key player for India, he needs to be consistent in the middle order if India are to cash in on good starts by the top order. - Dhoni. The present and future of Indian cricket, he's not #1 one day batsman in the world by chance. One to watch out for, no doubt. India have arguably the strongest one day batting line up in the world. Although it is clear to everyone what lets them down, their bolwing. Zaheer is the only reliable pace bowler you have, I think you're gonna need more then him to win the World Cup. So it is up to players such as the talented Sharma and Sreesanth to step up, we all know what Harbajan can do, If India hit form early on in the wolrd cup, I know it's still a long way away, but I think you will have every chance of lifting your first world cup in 27 years. However, I expect you to have to overcome what would be a orgasmic final... Aussies :nervous:
vvvslaxman Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 Our bowling is not really a concern. They just don't know how to bowl in the power plays, bowl in the death, bowl in the middle overs. Most of the time they struggle to pick up wickets. Otherwise they are good.
flamy Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 Our bowling is not really a concern. They just don't know how to bowl in the power plays' date=' bowl in the death, bowl in the middle overs. Most of the time they struggle to pick up wickets. Otherwise they are good.[/quote'] :cantstop:
Gunner_Mania Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 Our bowling is not really a concern. They just don't know how to bowl in the power plays' date=' bowl in the death, bowl in the middle overs. Most of the time they struggle to pick up wickets. Otherwise they are good.[/quote'] You are on song , aren't you:cantstop:
Ultimate_Game Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 Aussies are favorites as usual and anything can happen as far as India is concerned - they can reach finals and are capable of losing in quarters as well. I think India should follow a similar gameplan to what SL adopted in 96 - bank on spin and spin based all rounders. It's clear India have the best spinners going round in Bhajji, Ojha, mishra, Jadeja etc. I say play 2 fasties, Harbhajan, Jadeja and get the rest through Yuvi, Sehwag, Yusuf Pathan and Raina. In fact I would play Irfan as one of the two fasties and have a strong batting lineup. Indian bowlers generally give away as many runs as non-specialist or occasional bowlers so we should try to bat our opponents out of the game. Just imagine what this team would do on a typical batting or a spinning pitch :- Tendulkar Sehwag Gambhir Yuvraj Dhoni Raina Yusuf Pathan Ravindra Jadeja Irfan Pathan Harbhajan Zaheer This team bats right through and we can use pathan brothers as pinch hitters during power plays. Zaheer and Irfan can get through the first 10 overs and power play overs and the rest can be handled by our spinners or part timers. If it's a fast pitch (maybe Mohali) I would have one of Nehra/Ishant/Sreesanth/Kumar (preferably Praveen Kumar) in place of Harbhajan. I say let's post 300+ every time and let scoreboard pressure act as additional bowler because our bowling attack is not capable of defending anything less than 300 no matter how many specialist bowlers we play.
patriot Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 I know a jyotish baba from Nasik , who is renowned for cricket predictions. He is never wrong. Never. I will ask a friend who resides in Poona and visits him often for personal reasons to see what can we expect from team India. :wizard:
Equinox Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 Our bowling is not really a concern. They just don't know how to bowl in the power plays' date=' bowl in the death, bowl in the middle overs. Most of the time they struggle to pick up wickets. Otherwise they are good.[/quote'] :haha: So true.
Temujin Khaghan Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 Our bowling is not really a concern. They just don't know how to bowl in the power plays' date=' bowl in the death, bowl in the middle overs. Most of the time they struggle to pick up wickets. Otherwise they are good.[/quote'] yay! you need to be paid for posting here at icf.:two_thumbs_up:
Feed Posted March 3, 2010 Posted March 3, 2010 India 'scary' at 2011 World Cup - Parnell India are going to be a scary proposition in the 2011 World Cup, says young South African swing bowler Wayne Parnell. More... India 'scary' at 2011 World Cup - Parnell Michael Doman March 03 2010 India, who recently beat South Africa 2-1 in a One-Day International series at home, are going to be a scary proposition in the 2011 World Cup, says young South African swing bowler Wayne Parnell. "India were missing some key players against us and, although we didn't play to our potential, the Indians must be one of the favoured teams for the 2011 World Cup," said Parnell. "At full strength they look a very scary team." By his own admission Parnell did not have the best series against India and he is looking to continue to hone his one-day bowling skills during the 2010 IPL and the World Twenty20 in the Caribbean, in the next couple of months. "I'm going to be trying to pick up more tips and information from people in India and the West Indies, where they say conditions are similar to the sub-continent, and bring that all with me back into the South African set-up," added Parnell. The 20-year-old left-armer won the golden ball for being the leading wicket-taker in the 2009 ICC Champions Trophy 2009 with 11 wickets. He is set to be a key performer for the Warriors in their Pro20 semi-final second leg at Newlands on Wednesday night and says his franchise is finally reaping the benefits of consistent selections. "We haven't done that well in the past couple of seasons, even though we have won more Pro20 games than we have lost. But we have stuck to the same core of guys and they are all coming good this season." The Warriors won the MTN 40 title in February, their first trophy in the franchise era. Parnell will stay with them until the final of the Pro20 on March 12, should they reach there, and then jet out to join his IPL team, the Delhi Daredevils. With him at the Daredevils will be Proteas team mate AB de Villiers, as well as Indian headliners Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir. The recently concluded Proteas tour to India was Parnell's first visit to that country and he found that thinking on your feet and instant adaptation to unfamiliar conditions were vital. "We had set plans to various batsmen. But on the day the plans don't work. You plan to bounce a guy and the ball doesn't get above waist height. So you need to have a Plan B and even a Plan C." Parnell believes the 2011 World Cup will see some big totals put on the board. "The wickets are batter friendly and the outfields are quick. The sooner you make peace with the fact that even good balls will go to the boundary the better; that'll make you feel less frustrated," he said. Reverse swing shapes up as a vital skill in the sub-continent, too. "It's very diffcult for bowlers in India but Dale Steyn showed that if you use reverse swing well you can pick up wickets."