It does feel bad: Irfan Pathan

Feed

Guys like Irfan' date=' Piyush, KKD have some spark about them something you cannot ignore. They provide life to the team overall instead of lethargically standing and grinning like Munaf, Nehra do.[/quote'] Nehra is surely within the top 15 players of India .. Munaf is not .. I agree with BCCI's policy of bringing on upcoming talents but Irfan is only 27 and can play upto 8-10 years of cricket .. so he is a good asset and cannot be ignored .. I can understand a 35+ player but a 27 year old player is still a very important asset .. nobody should be ignored but a 27 year old all rounder with loads of international experience cannot and should not be ignored .. I think Jadeja is doing a good job but we will require a fast bowling all rounder instead of a spinner all rounder in seaming conditions and Irfan will be needed in such conditions .. at least he should have been in 30 players list if not in the final 15 .. but making him feel as if he is not even within India's top 30 players will weaken his confidence .. hope he bounces back really well in IPL . . anyways he has always played very well at IPL and I dont know if that will affect the selection in any way
i feel its Dhoni himself.remember how he fought wen Irfan was favoured over RP even though RP was bowling terribly? agree about the second part.he needs to get into media attention n ask question of selectors through media.atleast wen the next time our esteemed pace battery of Sree n co. leak runs,the media will ask questions
I dont think so .. RP is Dhoni's friends and so he might have favored them But I remember Dhoni being a very close friend with Irfan too when they came in the team .. in the initial days I remember Irfan and Dhoni being very good friends and used to do a lot of fun ... both were upcoming stars then and if I remember correctly both were very good friends back then .. so dont think Mahi will be against Irfan
Unfortunately every snigle bowler in India suck in Indian conditions when they are up against top teams. Even Zak goes for runs. In helpful conditions Irfan can be as good as anyone else. So you have to take the punt that he will come good. Atleast use him as a bits and pieces player if not genuine bowler. Invariably our fast bowlers are also the worst fielders in the team. Basically they bring nothing to the team. Irfan is definitely a better fielder. Only Agarkar and Irfan are the decent fielders among fast bowlers. You have to say he is a match winner on his day. You cannot say that about others. Irfan helped INdia win test at perth, helped India win at T20 final, helped bash the minnows to oblivion.
Well let's just focus on one thing at a time. The problem with Pathan isn't that he doesn't have talent or hasn't had very good games. The problem is his lack of accuracy and consistency. Right now Zaheer/Nehar/PK are far more accurate and consistent than Pathan/Sree/Ishant, so those guys are and should be ahead of him in ODI/T20 cricket. The way I see it, the selectors have chosen to take a punt on Sree/Tyagi and give them an extended run along with Jadeja. And we already have Bhajji. It may not be the best decision but right now the focus is on giving Sree/Jadeja/Tyagi an extended opportunity to see what they can do and that is what the team should be doing. It's a lot worse when you bring in a bowler and then immediately drop him after a few games. If Sree/Jadeja/Tyagi or even Yusuf Pathan struggle and can't secure a place in the limited overs format then I'm sure the selectors will be giving the next group of guys a chance like Pathan, and let's not forget that he did get an extended run the last time only to do very poorly apart from one good game with the bat against Sri Lanka. But all of this doesn't really matter. What matters is whether Pathan can consistently bowl to his strength by pitching the ball up and with the right seam position and use his left arm angle to make things difficult for batsmen. It's been literally years since he's done that and no amount of opportunities in the side is going to change that until he changes it himself. He's argueably the biggest waste of talent along with Sree in the past few years. It's a shame that even after years of cricket neither one of these guys has improved one bit.
He's argueably the biggest waste of talent along with Sree in the past few years. It's a shame that even after years of cricket neither one of these guys has improved one bit.
I don't think he hasn't got many chances in recent times. On Indian surfaces he is going to be cannon fodder just like the rest of the bowlers. Any place where there is a bit of swing he can be more than useful. Talentwise Sree is better. But he is not fit for ODIs because his lengths are more suitable for Tests than ODIs. Rest of the bowlers far from impressive on docile surfaces may be with an exception of Praveen. Infact i rate Irfan's limited bowling skill ahead of some of our current bowlers.

Guys I really dont see Irfan competing with the regular faster bowlers. He is probably competing with two people directly. Yousuf Pathan and Praveen Kumar. And he is most definitely better than these two. India needs to invest some confidence in this cricketer. As you sow, so you reap! If Irfan becomes a regular in our squad, we would actually have two all rounders. Dhoni and the junior Pathan. :)

I don't think he hasn't got many chances in recent times. On Indian surfaces he is going to be cannon fodder just like the rest of the bowlers. Any place where there is a bit of swing he can be more than useful. Talentwise Sree is better. But he is not fit for ODIs because his lengths are more suitable for Tests than ODIs. Rest of the bowlers far from impressive on docile surfaces may be with an exception of Praveen. Infact i rate Irfan's limited bowling skill ahead of some of our current bowlers.
Well the last time Pathan bowled in swinging conditions was on the tour to NZ where he played in the two T20 and got the new ball when it was swinging. His bowling was very disapointing. He wasn't accurate, didn't swing the ball, couldn't hit the right seam position consistently. I was very disapointed with the way he some what wasted the new ball when it was swinging. I'm not sure how he's doing recently in his control and seam position.
Irfan you ll be back bebo :(( Bless you.. My special ashirwaad is with you ! :D
OT :- daadi amma aapke kya kehne. Irfan Pathan not in the 30 probables list is a bigger joke than Nehra being in our senior team as a strike bowler.
No funning of ashirwaad :nono: And Nehra is gooood okay ! :hitler: Atleast according to the current bowling standards,he is ! Thori bohat jo izzat bachi hai Indian bowling attack ki, he helped :headshake:
Well let's just focus on one thing at a time. The problem with Pathan isn't that he doesn't have talent or hasn't had very good games. The problem is his lack of accuracy and consistency. Right now Zaheer/Nehar/PK are far more accurate and consistent than Pathan/Sree/Ishant, so those guys are and should be ahead of him in ODI/T20 cricket. The way I see it, the selectors have chosen to take a punt on Sree/Tyagi and give them an extended run along with Jadeja. And we already have Bhajji. It may not be the best decision but right now the focus is on giving Sree/Jadeja/Tyagi an extended opportunity to see what they can do and that is what the team should be doing. It's a lot worse when you bring in a bowler and then immediately drop him after a few games. If Sree/Jadeja/Tyagi or even Yusuf Pathan struggle and can't secure a place in the limited overs format then I'm sure the selectors will be giving the next group of guys a chance like Pathan, and let's not forget that he did get an extended run the last time only to do very poorly apart from one good game with the bat against Sri Lanka. But all of this doesn't really matter. What matters is whether Pathan can consistently bowl to his strength by pitching the ball up and with the right seam position and use his left arm angle to make things difficult for batsmen. It's been literally years since he's done that and no amount of opportunities in the side is going to change that until he changes it himself. He's argueably the biggest waste of talent along with Sree in the past few years. It's a shame that even after years of cricket neither one of these guys has improved one bit.
i think everybody agrees with ur criticism of him as a bowler.i dont think he'll get in even BD team based on his bowling alone.but we cant ignore his batting.hes a very good no.7.capable of hitting n stabilsing both wen required.as things stand,no pacer apart from Zak n to an extent Nehra can be picked on bowling alone,so why not pick a bowler who can bat?we need a couple of things in our ODI team: a)a good no.7 batsman who can be relied to be a good finisher n cn stabilise wen we lose early wickets. b)a 3rd pacer who can bowl tightly according to the fields n bowl with discipline. Irfan certainly meets a).he meets b) too wen hes good form.on an average he may give 10 runs more than Sree/Tyagi but if can make 25 runs regularly with the bat n be better in field too,i dont think thats bad bargain at all.
I agree with you, however if our batting was weak then definitely Pathan should be a choice. As it is, because our batting has been so dominant, his skills as a batsmen aren't such a big commodity right now.
I agree with you' date=' however if our batting was weak then definitely Pathan should be a choice. As it is, because our batting has been so dominant, his skills as a batsmen aren't such a big commodity right now.[/quote'] no.7 is a problem for us still.i dont think Jadeja's the man.even Yusuf is not reliable.Irfan is best option. Irfan offers a batting option at no.7 n third pace option,two areas we struggle most in.
No funning of ashirwaad :nono: And Nehra is gooood okay ! :hitler: Atleast according to the current bowling standards,he is ! Thori bohat jo izzat bachi hai Indian bowling attack ki, he helped :headshake:
haha good joke. Our current bowling standards which is going in the negative direction is all due to bowlers like Nehra. Yeh kaho ke thori bahut izzat jo Zaheer ne bacha ke rakhi thi woh bhi Nehra ne khatam kar di. :giggle:
no.7 is a problem for us still.i dont think Jadeja's the man.even Yusuf is not reliable.Irfan is best option. Irfan offers a batting option at no.7 n third pace option,two areas we struggle most in.
Well for ODIs/T20s, right now, I prefer Jadeja as his spin is very useful and he's an ok batsmen and Yusuf is a better batsmen than Irfan purely down to his slogging abilities, especially with the power plays becoming so important. But for Tests, I definitely agree, Pathan would be my long term all rounder but he needs to win the spot on merit and he can only do that if he plays better cricket from the limited opportunities he has. Maybe when we go to three fast bowlers Pathan would be a better choice as the third seamer?
i think Jadeja's spot is secure in the team but as a second spinner.hes not fit to bat at 7.hes already lost us games due to his snail paced batting specially in Aus series.but hes improving n he would definitely be my no.8.Yusuf knows nothing but slogging n if theres bit of help for bowlers or if we lose early wickets,then hes not reliable at all.Irfan can fulfil both roles