Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) project - India's reply to SSN

:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Sorry for being rude but I couldnt help it. I mean you are talking about a nation that doesnt even follow simple things like existing Traffic rules which will actually save literally 1000s of lives on a daily basis and you hope that they will adopt SSN like system which will eventually result in avg citizens being forced to pay taxes as they will be all tracked down by this id ... Think ! :--D
It wont work overnight but it will surely work in the long run. A definite identity would be required for tracking down people. I admire and respect Nandan Nilekani who left Infosys for this project and I trust that he will implement it a lot better. If it was done by a govt. only I would never have trusted but for sure Nilekani is a great intellectual person and I am quite sure he would do it quite well. Nilekani has said that it will not be a quick fix but he will gradually get everything implemented one by one. And from all his interviews he has said that he is given almost independent charge of UIDAI with hardly any interference of the govt. There are two schools of thought amongst people. One who would always take out the negatives out of everything and would never try anything positive and the other who would also take the positive side of things alongside the negatives. If everybody complains and pulls down the nation at every possible step then we would be following the wrong path for sure. There are a lot of negatives for sure but there are also positives and we should also try to see those. Just my 2 cents.
Calling a frigin spade as a spade isnt negative thinking. Its called being blunt and straight. The road rules were also written for the greater good and infact actually cost a fraction of what this SSN proj will and there is a added bonus of lives saved and improved quality of life. So why doesnt our janta adopt them religiously ? Its very very simple ..... we just dont have the requisite mindset' date=' maturity and discipline. You can have the best of intentions while designing a new system but it is going to be just as good as the avg citizen. How is Nilekani goinng to convince a shop keeper to adopt this system when he knows that it is not in his interests to pay more taxes ? What about the 1000s of sarkari babus who will have to forego a considerable amount of "side income" if this system gets implemented in total like in the USA ? Does he have some majic wand that will convince a billion people who have it in their DNA for flouting rules ?[/quote'] Nobody follows road rules. We are extremely strict in the UK, with massive fines for not following the rules and yet they get broken numerous times daily.
peej' date=' you are comparing Indian road violations with UK :--D[/quote'] I know the difference, just saying even with so many deterrents people can't stop violating the rules. Its a 'rules are there to broken' attitude i guess. And its not something limited to only India

The UID is way more superior to the SSN and much more complex to execute. We are talking about the 2nd largest population on this planet and the very fact that there has not been 1 delay is a feather in the cap.

Calling a frigin spade as a spade isnt negative thinking. Its called being blunt and straight. The road rules were also written for the greater good and infact actually cost a fraction of what this SSN proj will and there is a added bonus of lives saved and improved quality of life. So why doesnt our janta adopt them religiously ? Its very very simple ..... we just dont have the requisite mindset' date=' maturity and discipline. You can have the best of intentions while designing a new system but it is going to be just as good as the avg citizen. [b']How is Nilekani goinng to convince a shop keeper to adopt this system when he knows that it is not in his interests to pay more taxes ? What about the 1000s of sarkari babus who will have to forego a considerable amount of "side income" if this system gets implemented in total like in the USA ? Does he have some majic wand that will convince a billion people who have it in their DNA for flouting rules ?
Nilekani is advocating that it must be made mandatory for every Indian to provide his UIDAI number in his bank account, economic transactions, driving licenses, PAN card and in nearly all fields. I have heard a lot of his interviews and he says that he will gradually implement all these one by one and even implement UIDAI for ration cards. UIDAI would also help in tracking the income of a family. It might not be immediately effective or 100% effective to be frank but unless it is started we wont be able to move forward. Frankly speaking if say 5-10 years down the line UIDAI is implemented largely to a nearly accurate extent then I would also advocate replacing all the quotas based on SC, ST etc. with quotas based on economic conditions though I doubt any govt. has the balls to do it. There are a whole bunch of things that can be done in the long run with the help of UIDAI. it is not an immediate quick fix but will help in the long run for sure.

Here is a brief preview at the initial phase of UIDAI. Check this article at TOI. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Aadhaar-How-to-get-your-unique-ID-from-govt-of-India/articleshow/6653604.cms This is the starting information and Nilekani has proposed to integrate it into almost all aspects as I mentioned so that it can give a complete history of the person with the click of a mouse. The only concerns I have are: 1) The ability to pull up history with UIDAI should be given to only authorized persons as it might have chances of somebody using the information for malicious objectives might be possible if every bank, institution or office has access. For example, if anybody can see that xyz person has made supposedly 2 crores transaction in the last year then there might be chances of obnoxious persons using the same information to kidnap him for ransom etc. 2) Secondly as most of you in the US might know that pulling up the SSN results in somewhat decreasing of the credit score of SSN points of the person. This is a reason why SSN is not easily shared as they fear about reducing their credit score. UIDAI should not result in any negative effects irrespective of how many times it is pulled up and only then can it be made mandatory for providing it in nearly all applicable fields. That is one big demerit of the SSN and I hope UIDAI is not implemented in the same fashion. Credit score would not be a bad idea however as that would help in economic conditions of the person and thereby in more transparency in dissemination of public funds.

I understand how UIDAI works in theory ... but I kinda prefer to look at reality and practicality ... and the reality as I explained earlier is that any system is as good as the citizens who put it to practice. The govt machinery is sooo corrupt in India Iam amazed that people here have soo much hopes on this system just because a very succesfull IT man is heading the project. Remember the voter registration project that was started about 15-20 yrs ago? What came out of it ... anyone remember ?
I agree it would be extremely difficult to implement especially in India where corruption and indiscipline is there in every strata of society. But the reason why a lot of people have trust on Nilekani is because he is doing it at a rapid pace. Never in the history of India was such an extensive project start to be implemented within a year and a half. Nilekani has till date given dates for every step and to be frank he has outperformed and done those steps before the cut-off dates. It is the first time that words have started to turn into actions in such a short span of time in India and Nilekani has to be given due credit for it. Otherwise we would have taken another 10-20 years to even get it passed from one dept. to another. As I said it will not a quick fix and wont happen overnight or in a year or two. But it is the right step and it is essential for transparency in the nation and better implementation of public funds. On a second thought if CWG games were given to some other successful IT czar like Narayan Moorthy then maybe it would have been completed within the initial projected costs and in a better manner and without corruption. I would say from next time onwards give every big project to trusted and successful IT professionals and it would be done in a better manner and without corruption and using a lot lesser funds. Frankly speaking I would advocate even giving roads and infrastructure of honest people (not contractors who loot 80% of the funds) rather than keeping in the public domain where there is possibility of mass corruption. But if all these are done then how will govt. and public sector employees loot the money and fill their pockets. :--D

The thing is that you live 1000s miles away and criticizing the country. Ofcourse its not perfect, far from it. But I don't see why should criticize it when you don't even are part of it.

Now you are talking ... there is a saying in Kannada ... "Beli yedd hola maydidanta" ... meaning .. the fence that was being put up for protection of the farm land from cattle itself started eating up whatever was growing on the farm. What will Nilekani do to prevent these thugs ? Hows he going to prevent misuse of these numbers in remote areas especially those bordering BD with literally millions of BD illegal immigrants ? Hows he going to prevent absolutely decrepit village panchayats to be honest while issuing these numbers to newborns ? Hows he going to prevent goons who will obviously start a parallel system with Fake id's ? I know all this is depressing but that is the reality of India ... a once great country raped time and again mostly by its own citizenry for absolutely petty short term gains ... its a faking crying shame.
I agree to some of your points. Here is a quote from the UIDAI details published today in TOI. I am quoting it and hopefully you will get your answer.
The UID team acknowledges the fact that a large number of people may not have any supporting documents to prove their identity. In this case, one is allowed to bring another resident who is already in possession of an Aadhaar number to be an "introducer" by vouching for the person seeking to enroll. Of course, there is scope for fraud either with a colluding introducer or by just using fake supporting documents. However, the whole point of Aadhaar is that one can only fake one's identity once and this prevents large-scale "ghost identity" creation, which is the bane of most Indian government schemes. The great PAN (Permanent Account Number with the Income Tax department) card scam after all involved a single person creating thousands of different PAN numbers. Read more: Aadhaar: How to get your unique ID from govt of India - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Aadhaar-How-to-get-your-unique-ID-from-govt-of-India/articleshow/6653604.cms#ixzz10xmyn2G3
i got my number. did you get yours? apply today.
abe champat only 10 people in India got UIDAI till now and that too yesterday. I dont suppose you are a tribal village in a remote village in Maharastra. Bekaar me post mat kar. :wall:

when are my 10 million fish eating bangladeshi buddies going to get their uuid pamphlets? i can refer them for 10,000 rupees each. god i wanna be a billionaire so freakin bad.

UIDAI fails to register RR Patil and Narendra Modi's fingerprints http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/rr-patil-and-narendra-modi-in-the-same-boat-aadhar-system/1/207742.html

In a development that could put the whole Aadhar Unique Identification project into question, for two days the Aadhar system failed to register the fingerprints of Maharashtra home minister RR Patil. A few days back officials had come to meet Patil to take his biometric details. But the machine that was to register the prints, was not able to read them. After many attempts, the officials gave up and came back with a new machine on Wednesday. Mantralaya officials said that a number of tricks were tried including applying Vaseline on Patil's hands. Officials told a concerned Patil that it was a common occurrence among people above 45 years of age. For the record after Patil inquired with the Aadhar officials whether there was any other politician who faced a similar problem, he was told that the machine also faced difficulties in reading Narendra Modi's fingerprints.
UIDAI is going to dogs.
It happens a lot, but I'm surprised that they had such problem. I doubt that they do much physical work. My mom had to face similar situation.
It clearly shows that people haven't really thought about the project before implementing it. Typical "jugaad" attitude like apply vaseline etc.
What could have they done?