Kolkata team owner Shah Rukh Khan apologised to the team's fans saying that his team could not perform to their expectations.

Sourav Ganguly led Kolkata team were knocked out from the race to semifinals of the Indian Premier League for the third consecutive year. The team lost to Chennai by nine wickets. "I completely take the blame for not putting up a good show. The team was outbatted, outbowled and outclassed," Khan wrote on his Twitter page. "Thanks to the Kolkata audience...you make us proud..couldn't do the same..and can't make any promises for future either," The superstar thanked the players for trying their best but said that sometimes his side's best was not enough. "I will call and thank them for trying, even if it wasn't good enough," he wrote. Khan had left the tournament in South Africa mid-way last year after the Kolkata team were sure to languish at the bottom. "I am not sad. Just feel awful for Kolkata and all of this..my kids gave me a hug for the first time in 3 years when we lost. They have overcome the sadness of defeat better than me. It is time to learn."
source

wow.. wat a dramaqueen.. he knows how to earn sympathies.. --------------------- i am not sad. just feel awful for kolkata & all of this, most wonderful city & my sponsors..nokia & xxx drink. no promises anymore.bye all. about 14 hours ago via web bye all. i am off now to deal with disappointments in the way i know best. u find ur poison. love u all. unconditional apologies to all. about 14 hours ago via web substance leads to style & glamour. supporters of kkr v can say goodbye to ipl now.better than last yr is not good enuff. about 14 hours ago via web many friends at home..so will be with them.will try & get over this loss too..like in the last 2 yrs. all supporters try the same. bye about 14 hours ago via web just disappointed. cant do anymore for kkr. sorry cant sound fakely uppity about next season & thanx for support tweets. about 14 hours ago via web my kids gave me a hug for the first time in 3 yrs when we lost. they have overcome the sadness of defeats better than me. time to learn. about 14 hours ago via web final thanx to kolkata audience. u make us proud...couldnt do the same...& cant make any promises for future either, have lost the right. about 14 hours ago via web will call all & thank them for trying, even if it wasnt good enuff. all r a good bunch. all of them. sometimes our best not good enuff. about 14 hours ago via web i completely take the blame for not putting up a good enough show...so much love for kkr & i couldnt reciprocate. about 14 hours ago via web

The Feker is such a drama queen. That's exactly why it gives immense pleasure when he is forced to do these type of dramas.. BTW Shammi Kapoor says this to Gayrukh in his Twitter message: "@iamsrk Bete pathan rotte nahin. Get up and prepare to face another challenge." Love about 4 hours ago via UberTwitter in reply to iamsrk http://twitter.com/shamsheraj :giggle:

I remember his comments from IPL2: "I will take the trophy (after winning IPL) down to them (those from Calcutta who talked against SRK) and tell them to suck on it." Humility after losing pathetically for three years in a row is more of hypocrisy. He should have shown humility when his team had gotten off to somewhat good starts in IPL1 and IPL2.

you guys are funny. instead of blaming it on others and blasting everyone else, he is talking the blame and is thanking the fans for support, etc, the perfectly right thing to do and say. haters :finger:

Somewhat opposite of Gangz .. while dada blames other team members inspite of being captain/opener/seniormost player, SRK blames himself despite being just a celebrity.

:ohmy: Yeh kya hai ... in 3 years ????
i guess he was probably talking about the hug he was expecting each time his underperformed over the 3 ipls... but the kids only gave him a hug this team ... :hysterical:
I never hugged my father in my whole life..:sniffle:
Are you SRK junior ? :hmmm: Its unusual .. I mean no father hugs his children everyday or even once a month .. but im sure any father would like to hug his kids on their b'days ?
Nope:yay: It's not a common practice in our parts of the country to hug our close ones:dontknow:
:ohmy: Yeh kya hai ... in 3 years ????
Mr. SRK was busy hugging others for those three years ! so the kids had to wait for 3 years !!! :giggle: