Watched any new movies? *Please use spoiler tags*

the latter one no smoking is one ****ed up movie and i mean in that ina good sense....if you have seen and are a fan of charlie kauffman movies like being johnmalkovich' date=' human nature, adaptation, eternal sunshine of a spotless mind you are gonna like this one otherwise forget it the second half is really ****ed up ... brave attempt none the less i liked it understood most part of the movie but most of the desi audience didnt understand head or tail of it hence bombed big time.. I was in the theatre and there were only 9-10 people in the theatre but worth a watch ....[/quote'] I know what you mean Suma, specially about the analogy with Kauffman. However my reason for watching No Smoking would be simply Anurag Kashyap. The man is one of the most interesting character to have emerged in Indian cine history in past 20 years or so and I personally would support his cinema. Been a fan of him ever since Satya, Shool and of course Black Friday.

JohnnyG is a must watch.

However my reason for watching No Smoking would be simply Anurag Kashyap. The man is one of the most interesting character to have emerged in Indian cine history in past 20 years or so and I personally would support his cinema. Been a fan of him ever since Satya, Shool and of course Black Friday. However my reason for watching No Smoking would be simply Anurag Kashyap. The man is one of the most interesting character to have emerged in Indian cine history in past 20 years or so and I personally would support his cinema. Been a fan of him ever since Satya, Shool and of course Black Friday.
Don't forget Yuva and Kaun. BTW his first two movies as director were banned. :cantstop:
Arre dont laugh!! It is shameful that in India we are happy to dish out SRK cr@p Om Shanti Om but a Black Friday gets banned. One of the banned movie is Black Friday. The second one is Paanch, a cult Tarantinosque violent saga. Unfortunately the ch****a that Indian censor board is has created issues when there shouldnt have been one.
Black Friday was never banned. There was a stay order because of the ongoing court cases related to the bomb blasts. It did have a limited release in Theatres in India. It was is released on DVD worldwide. Actually OSO doesn't seem the run-of-the-mill SRK movie directed by Yash Chopra or Karan Johar. The promos look different. Seems "different".
Black Friday was never banned. There was a stay order because of the ongoing court cases related to the bomb blasts. It did have a limited release in Theatres in India. It was is released on DVD worldwide.
That stay order was for over 2 years. And I can only imagine how it feels for a 20 something old to have his first two movies not allowed to be screened. That said why was Black Friday even stayed? I mean what did the movie that the Indian censor board found out of the place? In my opinion it is one of the better cinemas we have produced in last decade.
As I said, the TADA court cases on the alleged criminals were still going on and they could not make anything public as the prosecutors thought defence would get the charges devalued because of the publicity to the cases and the trails/judgements would not be fair. In one of his blogs, he (AK) talked about it.
bf was stayed because of what coffee said paanch is totally different matter.the reason given was its not totally family entertainment and there are too many abuses and swear words init. one anecdote i think he(kashyap) mentioned in his blog abt his paanch encounter with censor boards was hilarious they had censored all the mc in the film but not c******s the reasonng was that censoring out mc would make it less vulgar and it compensates for the number of C****** words used in the movie :haha::hysterical:

Dhamall- good comic relief 8/10 Dhol- another comic relief but I rate Dhamaal higher 7.5/10 Bhool Bhuliyaa - mix of humour and horror(if you get scared that is) 7.8/10 Jab we Met- classic Bollywood movie 8.1/10 Daem when was the last Hollwood movie I watched? I dont know but recently saw season one and two of Prison Break. It was so good that I watched both seasons in like 5 days Now this show was magnificient 9.7/10

Classic indeed. Did you know Rajeev that Danny was supposed to play Amjad Khan's role and Shatrughan Sinha the role of Amitabh?? By the way I watched Parvarish over the weekend, one of the rather less known Amitabh-Vinod Khanna movie. Had a good first half but second half was so cr@ppy. Still nothing beats a baritone Amitabh, a suave Vinod Khanna(he really could have beaten Amitabh had he persisted) and a buxom Neetu Singh.

Anyone planning to watch "Sawariya" or Om shanti om". Guys can give it a miss I guess because it seems to be stripping contest between shahrukh and Ranbir Kapoor. Apparently the censors had to snip of some of the towel tease sequences of Sawariya done by Ranbir Kapoor.Ky zamana aa gaya hai......:D

Classic indeed. Did you know Rajeev that Danny was supposed to play Amjad Khan's role and Shatrughan Sinha the role of Amitabh?? By the way I watched Parvarish over the weekend, one of the rather less known Amitabh-Vinod Khanna movie. Had a good first half but second half was so cr@ppy. Still nothing beats a baritone Amitabh, a suave Vinod Khanna(he really could have beaten Amitabh had he persisted) and a buxom Neetu Singh.
I didn't know about Danny Parvarish = Yes, I can watch those movies all over again. I tend to collect all these classics I ventured with that Desimoviesplugged, but I really don't have time and bandwidth for those things
Yeah it was Danny who was slated to play Gabbar originally. He turned down the offer since he was busy shoooting for Feroz Khan's Dharmatma at the time. Another interesting bit about Sholay is that Dharmendra wanted to play the role of Thakur Baldev Singh which was played by Sanjeev Kumar. Amitabh wanted to play Gabbar of course. Seems in the end it was only Ramesh Sippy that got everything right!

Another bit of trivia was that both Sanjeev Kumar and Dharmendra were wooing Hema Malini at that time. And there was a lot of tension in the sets related to that. Dharmendra would get drunk a lot in the sets due to that. None of that is visible on screen. I have a copy of SHolay with the changed ending where the Thakur kills Gabbar. That version is much more effective than the PC version that was shown in India.

I have heard that CA. Hema was also being wooed by Jeetendra and cricketer Venkatraghvan. The latter specially was well accepted in Hema's family and not that Punjabi Jutt Dharam garam

saw machinist again and identity both pretty goodish movies (actually machinist is average) . have to hand it out to christian bale for for his dedication.....