Ok, this is something that really fascinates me. Different people have different perspectives on it. The question is - Here in India, what do you think can be considered a really good salary/income per month? 30K? 40K? 50K? I'd say, anything above 50K is really good, specially considering how the daily expenses have sky rocketed in the last 10 years. Not that 30K or 40K is essentially very average, but in my opinion it can't be labeled very good, specially if you live in the metros. As for outstanding, I'd say it has to be 3 Lakhs per month or above. What's your take on the whole thing?

I would say it depends on which phase of life you are in, which part of the country and the industry you are employed under. For a Competent enough Trainee Engineer, should easily take home a min. of 35k per month, a package of 4.2L p.a. It could go upto 10-12L p.a. depending on the Institute he graduates from. All this presuming you are under-grad technical student.

I am on a visit to the motherland and I was shocked to see the prices :WTF: Gone are the days when a salary of ~6 lacs p.a. made you an elite graduating engineer (~5 years ago..when i graduated).

peekay kiddaaaaaaaaan? indiaaaaa????? :woot: :bhangra:

In Aus, a graduate engineer out of college, as a start, expects to make around 50 K a year. 1 AUD ~ 33 rupees. But the first two years out of college, forget about money and concentrate on the experience, I was told.

Yep experiece is more valuable in the early stages of your career especially in a industry like Engineering. Im studying engineering in oz atm, and my faculty keeps bombarding us with scholarships with various companies to gain experience and also get some money at the same time.
Yep experiece is more valuable in the early stages of your career especially in a industry like Engineering. Im studying engineering in oz atm' date= and my faculty keeps bombarding us with scholarships with various companies to gain experience and also get some money at the same time.
What stream ?

In India ( especially big cities ) it depends if you are living with your parents are not. salary of 25k is enough for a single person if living with parents/ no rent else one would need around 40-50k I guess. Its amazing how people in India dont value the inherited property or the fact that papa-mummy take care of most expenses ( if not all then at least the house ) and that how the disposable income is higher.

What era are you living in? Boss, 25K is nothing

25K would be sufficient if you are living in a small town. In fact, from the part of Orissa I come from, 25K would make you rich. Come to a big city, 50K is enough. Come to Mumbai, 50K will suddenly look insufficient. I would say 100K in Mumbai is cool. 70K is just about enough.

& 45k is nothing if you are paying up for house rent ' date=' especially in mumbai .[/quote'] I don't know anything abt Mumbai
Guest Gunner
I don't know anything abt Mumbai
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Guest Gunner
Ok . I assumed you are from mum originally .
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Guest Gunner
wth :stupid:
you beetch :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Thari gaaaaaaaaannnnddddd!! :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: