Want to get in shape for summer? Join in...

Anyone else into bodyweight exercise stuff ? Koi tips ? My major exercise is cardio (sprinting (100mX10), some running (2-3 miles), biking (10-20 miles) on different days of course) but I have been doing body-weight stuff (2X a week) for couple of months, since I can't really stand going to the gym. My main aim is to get higher fitness for tennis, and fitter body overall. Since I weigh 210, this bodyweight thing will keep me busy for a while..:pray:

i weight 165 lbs dead lift 250 so far.. bench sucks ball mere 120 lbs. that too 3 reps tops. squat... undetermined as there are some practical difficulties like i mentioned above. Maximum done so far 110 lbs.

Squat i can definitely improve.. but i don't have squat rack. It is difficult to lift up bring it down to my shoulders and do it. My forearms fail big time. Regarding bench' date=' my worst enemy is triceps.[/quote'] If you don't have a Squat rack dont do squatting man. It can be very dangerous. Specially with the way you are trying to do, lift it over your shoulders. Instead try doing Stiff Legged deadlifts, and lunges with high reps and low weight. If you can get 75-125 lbs for 12 reps on lunges (each leg), that would be great. Plus the weight is not that heavy to put your body in any dangerous situation. Again, dont risk squat without squat rack. With benching, it is a fairly common issue actually. Benching is one exercise where spotter comes in pretty handy. When you lift the bar off the rack your joints are weakest so typically they are always handed to you. Since you work solo, like me, the heavier you go the more energy you spent just lifting it off the rack. That said, you can improve on the triceps part by going light say 100 lbs, dont go your usual heavy weight, and then doing short range bench press, meaning go only half way frm your chest upto the middle of the range, then come down to the chest and push it back. The lower half uses triceps and you can force them to grow like this.
Anyone else into bodyweight exercise stuff ? Koi tips ? My major exercise is cardio (sprinting (100mX10), some running (2-3 miles), biking (10-20 miles) on different days of course) but I have been doing body-weight stuff (2X a week) for couple of months, since I can't really stand going to the gym. My main aim is to get higher fitness for tennis, and fitter body overall. Since I weigh 210, this bodyweight thing will keep me busy for a while..:pray:
She is your friend. Look through a couple of the videos. Most of them are body-weight and the few that aren't only use tiny weights.
Squat i can definitely improve.. but i don't have squat rack. It is difficult to lift up bring it down to my shoulders and do it. My forearms fail big time. Regarding bench' date=' my worst enemy is triceps.[/quote'] VVS bhai ... Triceps/front delts is mostly used when u raise the bar which is also called as Positive reps. When u lower the bar its called as negative reps...triceps is used as a resistance and u r chest is fired up (when u do slowly) ... My Fav. Dorian Yates always used to say that chest is worked out 80% during the negative reps and 20% during +ve reps. So if u have a good spotter he can help u with +ve reps and u can get good workout with -ve... but keep in mind u shouldn't worry if u cannot lift heavy while doing +ve rep.
VVS bhai ... Triceps/front delts is mostly used when u raise the bar which is also called as Positive reps. When u lower the bar its called as negative reps...triceps is used as a resistance and u r chest is fired up (when u do slowly) ... My Fav. Dorian Yates always used to say that chest is worked out 80% during the negative reps and 20% during +ve reps. So if u have a good spotter he can help u with +ve reps and u can get good workout with -ve... but keep in mind u shouldn't worry if u cannot lift heavy while doing +ve rep.
:hatsoff: Thanks man.. That was a hitherto unknown info for me.
I just found out my cap barbell FM-100 bench can be adjusted to use as a squat rack. Didn't want to try too much. went upto 164 lbs. Couldn't go beyond 8 reps first attempt.
Thats alright mate, weight will come. Make sure your form is correct. You may want to switch between back and front squat every other week to balance hams and quads.
Thats alright mate' date=' weight will come. Make sure your form is correct. You may want to switch between back and front squat every other week to balance hams and quads.[/quote'] yup.. I just try to follow Arnold's advice of not involving back at all.

Medicine ball has its place, but not for exercises like that. Frankly I am always amazed how people end up using weights on medicine ball. You can get hurt so bad. Use medicine ball for abs exercises

Medicine ball has its place' date=' but not for exercises like that. Frankly I am always amazed how people end up using weights on medicine ball. You can get hurt so bad. Use medicine ball for abs exercises[/quote'] Yeah medicine ball is really good for abs specially is you do in tandem with another person or trainer that allows you to introduce some rotations and side abs lately I have been using it for shoulders & arms too ( overhead- to ground throws)

Started hitting the gym again :cantstop: Need to get in shape in terms of endurance and stamina before the summer when I start playing all kinds of sports: basketball, cricket, soccer, tennis, volleyball, etc

Meanwhile I have been silently trying to raise my game with pull-ups :--D On good days I super set 8 pullups with 25 pushups. 3 sets of each of those. Pumps up upper back and upper chest like none other. If I am not cranking supersets I can easily crank pull ups in double digits, with real wide grip (hands seperated about twice the shoulder width) and palms facing away from the face. Pretty happy with it so far this year. Amazing how I wouldnt crank half of it a few months back. So I guess the lesson here is one can continuously improve yourself. :yay:

Need to update my ICF Journal....started running on the Indoor track...Could run 1 Mile Non-Stop....Timed it at Approx 11:00 minutes...Give or take 15-20 seconds on either side. Need to Improve my timing as well...1 mile non-stop is pushing it...need to get it to atleast 3 Miles Non-Stop atleast by March.

Meanwhile I have been silently trying to raise my game with pull-ups :--D On good days I super set 8 pullups with 25 pushups. 3 sets of each of those. Pumps up upper back and upper chest like none other. If I am not cranking supersets I can easily crank pull ups in double digits, with real wide grip (hands seperated about twice the shoulder width) and palms facing away from the face. Pretty happy with it so far this year. Amazing how I wouldnt crank half of it a few months back. So I guess the lesson here is one can continuously improve yourself. :yay:
I badly want to do pull ups. Don't have facility at home. I bought a bar that can be attached to door frame. But i don't think it is that safe. Afraid of breaking the frame. Thinking of installing pull up bar in the backyard. It is lot of hardwork . I have to wait until the winter is over.
Started hitting the gym again :cantstop: Need to get in shape in terms of endurance and stamina before the summer when I start playing all kinds of sports: basketball, cricket, soccer, tennis, volleyball, etc
Take up boxing training. That is the ultimate fitness training for anyone. Speed, endurance, strength, energy, alertness.. everything is there. I seriously consider that.
congrats Luks paa ji... just an observation.. i have found that wide grip pull up is not the best way to have big back.. wider the grip Teres Muscles comes into play and gets pumped up.. but if u want to have a big back u have work more on Rhomboid / Dorsi and the only way to do it a 1 meter apart grip , palm facing towards u ... try that one u will see the pump u get as all the muscles at the back gets activated. Even Dorain Yates was a big advocate for close grip pull ups..