The stagnant water nearby is a problem. The whole complex should be 'netted'. Otherwise droves of mosquitos gonna come from the swamp..What are the chances of getting Dengue fever? Malaria has cure. Dengue has no cure so far (is it true?). I'm travelling to India this October for a month and the GP told me carry Anti-Malarial tablets (9 weeks dosage - 1 week prior to travelling and then4 weeks there, and then for 4 weeks after coming back). I asked for the Anti-Dengue medication, She told me, there are none! She told me to use enough Mosquito repellants for myself and my family..But how can you always apply mosquito repellant? She told me that Dengu Mosquitos bit during the day time..(No I'm not paranoid..Just being bit cautious as I've my kids travelling)... Dr. Dhondi ji, is it true? Please advice..

How can dengue be prevented? There is no vaccine to prevent dengue. Prevention centers on avoiding mosquito bites when traveling to areas where dengue occurs and when in U.S. areas, especially along the Texas-Mexico border, where dengue might occur. Eliminating mosquito breeding sites in these areas is another key prevention measure. Avoid mosquito bites when traveling in tropical areas: Use mosquito repellents on skin and clothing. When outdoors during times that mosquitoes are biting, wear long-sleeved shirts and long pants tucked into socks. Avoid heavily populated residential areas. When indoors, stay in air-conditioned or screened areas. Use bednets if sleeping areas are not screened or air-conditioned. If you have symptoms of dengue, report your travel history to your doctor. Eliminate mosquito breeding sites in areas where dengue might occur: Eliminate mosquito breeding sites around homes. Discard items that can collect rain or run-off water, especially old tires. Regularly change the water in outdoor bird baths and pet and animal water containers.
http://www.dhpe.org/infect/dengue.html
Tau cure hai dengue ka' date=' vaccine nahin hai...there is a difference :idea:[/quote'] I was not thinking of vaccine. I was thinking of any sort of prevention method just like Anti-Malerial tablets. if you take them once a day (Adult dosage), You'll not get Maleria, even if the Malerial mosquito bites you. In case of Dengue, you just have to get infected and then go through the curing process..There's no medical prevention.

The sad thing is if they has completed them on time, then the village would have indeed been one of the best ever seen. There are 9 days to go and right now their at faults but I feel in 9 days time they may well end up being a fantastic development

Apparently the pictures are from one of the abandoned blocks of apartments which are to be used as a dumping house. Though that does not mean the rooms should have been in such a pathetic condition. The other thing is if you listen to wht the representatives from countries other than Eng, Aus, NZ , Canada and Scotland are saying, one would get the impression that the games village is truly better than some of the other similar villages built for sporting events. Like during the Melbourne CWG in 2006, Athletes were put up in temporary apartments. Even then a number of athletes had chosen to stay in hotels than stay in the games village but bck then there was hardly a noise in the media!!