What is Dhoni's contribution to the team?

nballa

Really? keeping kaun karta hai? Aur tests mein run kisne banaye the?
Bhai what he/she said is true. Dhoni kabhi kabhi ajkal Run banata hai aur kabhi nehi.Yes he did really well in the test series and the Failure in the ODI series was a shocker for me, But if you look back, he was a failure in the test series against Aus, He came back well in the series against NZ By scoring one 98 in the last innings. Though he failed throughout. Not just that he failed in the tri series in Sri Lanka too. His contribution with the bat seriously remembers me of SCGs contribution with the bat in the later stages of his captaincy tenure. His average in the SA series was the least by any captain in a series (As far as the Captains who can bat are concerned).
Bhai what he/she said is true. Dhoni kabhi kabhi ajkal Run banata hai aur kabhi nehi.Yes he did really well in the test series and the Failure in the ODI series was a shocker for me' date=' But if you look back, he was a failure in the test series against Aus, He came back well in the series against NZ By scoring one 98 in the last innings. Though he failed throughout. Not just that he failed in the tri series in Sri Lanka too. His contribution with the bat seriously remembers me of SCGs contribution with the bat in the later stages of his captaincy tenure. [b']His average in the SA series was the least by any captain in a series (As far as the Captains who can bat are concerned).
Is a batsman allowed to go through a bad patch? MSD is going through a similar phase, when was the last time you saw him scratch like this esp in ODIs? So far in his career, don't think there has been a single tour where he has struggled in both tests or odis. Despite struggling, still had an ODI avg of 46 and test avg of 41 in 2010! For other keeper batsmen, that kind of an average will be considered HUGE, but in Dhoni's case he has set the benchmark so high that it looks as if he is struggling for so long. Off late the batting form has tapered off, but don't compare it with SCG's form as a captain. Dada after becoming captain averaged 25-26 in tests in 2000 and 2001!! And that despite being a specialist batsman. On the bolded part, check Dada's average in the NZ series in NZ in 2002 before the WC and also the pakistan ODI series in 2005.
Oh my bad i am wrong, But this kind of form with the bat is just inexcusable. Dada faced lot of heat for that, and he had to be removed for that. Hence MSD should face the same criticsm. Two wrong doesnt make one right, does it? Just because Dada was not doing well with the bat when he was a captain, doesnt mean MSD should be doing the same, or his form is justifying. We need Dhoni to fire to win the WC. Dada's team was not any world Beating team, But this team is. Now being a leader of a world Beating side you should step up.
.His recent form surely does remind me of Dada of the late 2004 and 2005. Anyways' date=' keeping out the Comparison Part, MSD should step up. He has become a walking wicket this days.[/quote'] Only this ODI series. But as I said him being a keeper helps him when he is going through a lean patch with the bat, can move down the order and let some one like Yusuf bat at 5-6 if he is struggling. Not such comforts for specialist batsmen.

No, he has been struggling for quite a while. I have given the facts on my first post on this page. He has had one good score in the SL test series and the new zealand before SA series. He is strugling since the end of Asia cup. But i do agree with your rest of the post.

Oh my bad i am wrong' date=' But this kind of form with the bat is just inexcusable. Dada faced lot of heat for that, and he had to be removed for that. Hence MSD should face the same criticsm. Two wrong doesnt make one right, does it? Just because Dada was not doing well with the bat when he was a captain, doesnt mean MSD should be doing the same, or his form is justifying. We need Dhoni to fire to win the WC. Dada's team was not any world Beating team, But this team is. Now being a leader of a world Beating side you should step up.[/quote'] If Dada could keep as well as Dhoni, he could've been persisted with
If Dada could keep as well as Dhoni' date=' he could've been persisted with[/quote'] Dhoni is an awfull Keeper,his Keeping is as good as Dada's bowling was.:giggle: Ganguly was removed because of the results under him in the later stages, Under Dhoni we have done very well so far.
Certainly. I'm not arguing about his batting, it has certainly taken a dip and to be frank, he has become too defensive as a captain (comparing to T20 WC and the Aussie series). But, his keeping is top class. And not just in India.
Does the keeping of a keeper differ with changing pitches? Curios. How does whether its in India or outside make a difference?
Dhoni is an awfull Keeper' date=his Keeping is as good as Dada's bowling was.:giggle: Ganguly was removed because of the results under him in the later stages, Under Dhoni we have done very well so far.
What a useless comment ,he is certainly the best we have got,a good keeper is one who catches what comes his way and does the stumpings whenever the oppurtunity comes and he does that very well .He is not a showman who dives around unneccesarily while taking catches,just does his job quitely and makes very few mistakes