fineleg Posted October 23, 2010 Posted October 23, 2010 Who would you pick if you can select only one and must select one of them! Apart from "stats", any qualitative compare and contrast between the two? From cricinfo A pocket-sized powerhouse, Chetan Sharma made up for his lack of height and build with a good action and thrust from the shoulders at the point of delivery. He made his international debut at 17 and a year later, aged 18 years, 288 days, played his first Test. He made it memorable by bowling Mohsin Khan with his fifth ball - the third Indian to take a wicket in his first over in Test cricket. He remained Kapil Dev's able partner for almost five years. Though the experts were of the view that he would not last long because of his slight physique, Chetan proved them wrong by some lion-hearted performances. He first gave notice when he took 14 wickets in three Tests in Sri Lanka in 1985, including his first five wicket haul. He did even better in England in 1986 when he took 16 wickets in two Tests, including the first ten-wicket haul by an Indian bowler in that country. Against the West Indies in 1987-88, he had his fourth five-wicket haul in Tests at New Delhi. He played his last Test in the West Indies in 1989 but continued to represent India in one day internationals until 1994-95. Chetan was also a more than useful tailend batsman, as he proved by holding out against McDermott, Hughes and Reid for over two hours in making 54 when sent in as a nightwatchman against Australia in 1985, or when hitting an exhilerating 101 not out when he was promoted to No. 4 against England in the MRF World Series match in 1989. In retirement, Chetan has found success as a popular TV commentator.
fineleg Posted October 23, 2010 Author Posted October 23, 2010 poal added Again, any qualitative info (you can incl stats, but apart from stats also) you can post on CS vs AA will be cool
Raghav_12 Posted October 23, 2010 Posted October 23, 2010 Have gone for Chetan Sharma. However, Chetan Sharma's late comeback in Indian team should be an inspiration of Sir Aggy :-). Also should him hope of finding altenative profession afetr retiring from Cricket.
Deleted_User_1 Posted October 23, 2010 Posted October 23, 2010 Sorry chetan sharma was a trundler at best.....
Roshanrocks Posted October 24, 2010 Posted October 24, 2010 so many A vs B threads on here i would pick Ajit ...
Sid Posted October 24, 2010 Posted October 24, 2010 actually both are similar,skiddy bowlers,short in height but had good pace but i would go with chetan sharma becoz he was a better batsman between the two:--D
rkt.india Posted October 24, 2010 Posted October 24, 2010 but Agarkar hasnt picked those5 and 10 wicket hauls in Tests...he was gud in One days though just as a wicket taker in his first 2-3 years...after that he too was very ordinary for me....and i was a big fan of him when he debuted i was in class 9th...i was excited coz of his bowling as well as batting...but he disappointed and I dnt think he was a willing learner...he didnt have that hunger to success and to become better from what he was at the age of 20...he became the same that did not help him....even his batting was downgraded after a few years in comparison when he started first... i still remember his sixes of Jaysuriya iand Aravinda D-silva n a partnership with Robin Singh who wasnt able to hit the SL offspinners and it was looking very tough to win at that time..he came into bat and he finished the match very quickly....but then he was complacent just stayed there and never fulfilled the expectations people had...
Sir john Posted October 24, 2010 Posted October 24, 2010 sharma score hundred in ODIs and aggi in test.B->
Guest Gunner Posted October 24, 2010 Posted October 24, 2010 Just because he conceded that last ball six in sharjah I vote for Sir Aggy.
The Outsider Posted October 24, 2010 Posted October 24, 2010 Kuch kaam nahin hai tum logon ko - do jhandu cricketers ka comparison shuru kar diya. :dontknow:
fineleg Posted October 24, 2010 Author Posted October 24, 2010 ^ What does jhandu mean? (I can guess its not complimentary :)) And, I dont expect it to be complimentary, given that it is TAV (tenth avatar of vishnu) and Chetan Sharma we are talking about :winky: They are somewhat jhandu but they have some similarities - they have had moments when they have done well for India, they have gotten us wickets but also bowl 4 balls, and were defined by inconsistency. These cricketers have both caused us multiple irritations and heartbreaks, and that is a commonality as well, though they have had their rare moments of triumph too. The similarities is the reason for just trying to see who was the better shade of inconsistency LOL! It is timepass Agreed :) But a lot of the comparisons are timepass :)
fineleg Posted October 24, 2010 Author Posted October 24, 2010 BTW - shwetabh - who would you pick if you had to pick one, and you cannot play a 10 man team? :)