CSK Fan Posted November 24, 2010 Posted November 24, 2010 Some of the posts on ICF regarding the super rich made me think. Most were of the opinion that the open flounting of wealth by some of the very rich is shameful and one musn't spend more than whats needed. I wanted to start a debate on these lines How much is a person obliged to give to charity. Is charity an obligation or is it just a voluntary act? Do we expect a low wage worker to give some money to charity? What about middle class people. At what point does someone go from being having enough to filthy rich? And does this vary from person to person IMO, the super rich have done something right to reach the place they have. They had radical ideas which affected the life of thousands, they have employeed thousands, they generate wealth for their respective countries. And they have a lot of money.So why do we feel that they are obligated to part with some of their hard-earned money? Or that they should be modest in the show of their wealth. No one will ask you or me to part with our hard-earned money Charity is still very much a need in our world where the majority are poor and a handful rich. But charity in itself is not a solution. Bill Gates has given more to charity than the combined GDP of a few countries. Should we grudge if tomorrow he wants to flaunt some of his wealth. Even if the Ambinis dont spend a single paise of their money to charity, they would have still contributed to our country, and many of its employees much more than all of us together. In the long run, charity is just that. Its not a solution to anything, it does not empower people, it does not improve their standings. It makes people beg instead of seek.
Guest Gunner Posted November 24, 2010 Posted November 24, 2010 In my opinion everyone who can should contribute to educational trusts and orphanages for educational purposes, this is the only way we can empower the poor. We should always remember that the herd is only as fast as its slowest member. If we say I don't care then there won't be much of a herd left.
flamy Posted November 24, 2010 Posted November 24, 2010 Once you reach a certain financial point in life, when all your luxuries are met, charity is the logical step forward, at least for me. Of course, it is not an obligation, but if I imagine right now about having all that I want, my mind naturally turns towards the betterment of other people. Still, I'd like to point out that there is nothing wrong with a rich person not doing charity. True altruism is rare. Even when people donate to charity anonymously, there is still some satisfaction achieved in helping other people, isn't there? So, there is still some selfishness involved. :) For me, selfishness is a virtue. If I can't take care of myself, how would I help others? I can only give what I have. Finally, the best charity is donating time instead of money.
Sachin=GOD Posted November 24, 2010 Posted November 24, 2010 IMO, the super rich have done something right to reach the place they have. They had radical ideas which affected the life of thousands, they have employeed thousands, they generate wealth for their respective countries. And they have a lot of money.So why do we feel that they are obligated to part with some of their hard-earned money? Or that they should be modest in the show of their wealth. No one will ask you or me to part with our hard-earned money Yes, the super rich have idone somethings right to reach the place they are and they deserve to enjoy that wealth BUT when you see Mukesh Ambani building a house worth Rs 4000 Crore then thats not enjoyment of his income, its just pure Waste of money. Charity is still very much a need in our world where the majority are poor and a handful rich. But charity in itself is not a solution. Bill Gates has given more to charity than the combined GDP of a few countries. Should we grudge if tomorrow he wants to flaunt some of his wealth. Even if the Ambinis dont spend a single paise of their money to charity, they would have still contributed to our country, and many of its employees much more than all of us together. In the long run, charity is just that. Its not a solution to anything, it does not empower people, it does not improve their standings. It makes people beg instead of seek. charity in itself may not solve many purposes unless it helps the person in finding a means of earning a regular income because as its been rightly said "Give a man a fish, and he will eat for a day. Teach a man how to fish, and he willl eat for a lifetime".
Desi Cartman Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 If one understands and acknowledges that he has been lucky enough to get the education , support and love then he/she should see the people who are less fortunate and they are behind because of reasons beyond their control. Its one thing to say that I work hard and thats why I am rich , its another to realize that a rickshaw puller's son didnt get the opportunity to learn and to find out his strengths and work on his abilities to make it big. IMO donation doesnt have to 1000s of dollars , just 30-50 bucks a month can be a lot for someone poor, an orphan or a victim of abuse. It depends on each person and its a personal decision but i think when people realize that they were/are fortunate to have basic needs fulfilled just because they were lucky to be born in a non-poor family, they would want to donate.
EnterTheVoid Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 I also find that the average person is a lot of more charitable, definitely more than the rich, who I found to be a little uptight and arrogant :/
EnterTheVoid Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 That is so very true most of the time' date=' God knows why...when asked for help..most rich people say that they have no money..it is all invested :cantstop: and I have come across people with basic jobs helping out friends with whatever savings they had :hatsoff:[/quote'] The other day, I saw someone collecting funds for cancer research around one of the street corners in the CBD -- Those in fancy suits, ties just walked by whilst those with basic jobs (you can tell based on their clothing, demeanor) stop by and give whatever they had. End of the day, its the thought that counts.
flamy Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 Not all rich people are like that. I guess what I'm trying to get at is don't think of rich people as snobs lest you see yourself becoming one.
Desi Cartman Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 The other day, I saw someone collecting funds for cancer research around one of the street corners in the CBD -- Those in fancy suits, ties just walked by whilst those with basic jobs (you can tell based on their clothing, demeanor) stop by and give whatever they had. End of the day, its the thought that counts. Possible reason : not so rich can feel the pain as they themselves have experienced problems where they needed help. For the rich, who knows maybe they are donating 1000s of dollars a month and dont think dropping 50cent or a dollar coin in a box is needed ( or worth the effort :cantstop: )
Desi Cartman Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 Not all rich people are like that. I guess what I'm trying to get at is don't think of rich people as snobs lest you see yourself becoming one. Maybe they become like that cuz too many people ask for their help :dontknow:
EnterTheVoid Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 Possible reason : not so rich can feel the pain as they themselves have experienced problems where they needed help. For the rich' date=' who knows maybe they are donating 1000s of dollars a month and dont think dropping 50cent or a dollar coin in a box is needed ( or worth the effort :cantstop: )[/quote'] I agree with this. I think those who have been in that situation are able to empathize more and are more readily willing to help. Its a little sad really -- They were holding a tin can and rattling it in the faces of those who walked by, its almost as if they were begging really; it shouldn't come to that, i mean, this is funding for cancer research we're talking about. I donated a 20 $, did my good deed of the day
gloryof83 Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 The other day, I saw someone collecting funds for cancer research around one of the street corners in the CBD -- Those in fancy suits, ties just walked by whilst those with basic jobs (you can tell based on their clothing, demeanor) stop by and give whatever they had. End of the day, its the thought that counts. or may be because in the CBD there is a different charity organisation collecting money in every other street. And some of these people wont accept cash... they want you to sign up to a monthly donation plan direct debited to your credit card. :hmmm:
Sir john Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 i make donation when i am in happy mood or going to do a good work.:--D
f.b.m Posted November 25, 2010 Posted November 25, 2010 I spent a fair bit of my life doing charity stuffs. 50% of my first salary instalment went to the Haiti flood victims. And while I'm all for charity and altruism, I have been realizing something lately: The whole process runs on feelings of guilt and desperation. The traditional picture of a starving african kid staring emptily into the camera with a subtitle saying 'Will you leave this kid to die of malaria/hunger/etc, etc?' comes to mind. I think a much better way to go about 'charity' is by treating the underprivileged as equals using things like non-profit microfinance. This is a TedTalk that can put it way more eloquently than I ever can: [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cqj0sgrNL10]YouTube - Jessica Jackley: Poverty, money -- and love[/ame] So instead of raising moniez for Brightsparks this time, I hope to raise money for these guys when running the local half marathon. :')
ravishingravi Posted November 26, 2010 Posted November 26, 2010 Some of the posts on ICF regarding the super rich made me think. Most were of the opinion that the open flounting of wealth by some of the very rich is shameful and one musn't spend more than whats needed. I wanted to start a debate on these lines How much is a person obliged to give to charity. Is charity an obligation or is it just a voluntary act? Do we expect a low wage worker to give some money to charity? What about middle class people. At what point does someone go from being having enough to filthy rich? And does this vary from person to person IMO, the super rich have done something right to reach the place they have. They had radical ideas which affected the life of thousands, they have employeed thousands, they generate wealth for their respective countries. And they have a lot of money.So why do we feel that they are obligated to part with some of their hard-earned money? Or that they should be modest in the show of their wealth. No one will ask you or me to part with our hard-earned money Charity is still very much a need in our world where the majority are poor and a handful rich. But charity in itself is not a solution. Bill Gates has given more to charity than the combined GDP of a few countries. Should we grudge if tomorrow he wants to flaunt some of his wealth. Even if the Ambinis dont spend a single paise of their money to charity, they would have still contributed to our country, and many of its employees much more than all of us together. In the long run, charity is just that. Its not a solution to anything, it does not empower people, it does not improve their standings. It makes people beg instead of seek. Are you from "Ayn Rand" school of thought ?
DomainK Posted November 26, 2010 Posted November 26, 2010 IMO everyone who manages to save some money after meeting his (and his family's) usual needs, has a moral responsibility for charity. The way he does it should be his own decision. He can be the best judge of what is the best way of doing it and to what amount. Not everyone of us can donate a lot of money, but a small fraction of the savings is always affordable. For someone saving Rs.10,000 a month can surely donate 100 bucks at least, or even 500. That might look like a very small amount, but can buy a meal for 50 hungry kids out there.
footballff Posted November 29, 2010 Posted November 29, 2010 Giving to the poor should be much more appreciated!