Jersey #10 Posted December 2, 2010 Author Posted December 2, 2010 Don't take it out on me, if the guy in your story is such an idiot that he does not know that even the most basic and preliminary investigation of his car will clear him. Oh yeah, and maybe I should use my 'powers' on ICF because you abused me? Then I shall be able to fulfill the duties for which God has sent me on Earth! :hysterical: Yea prove me right on everything I said, even the Last part of it. I am truly convinced yet if you want to provide more evidences then go ahead. For me, my safety is more important to me than others' safety. What's the point of living if you can't help your self before you help others? I would love to help someone in need as long as I was not going to be back stabbed
Jersey #10 Posted December 2, 2010 Author Posted December 2, 2010 Easy in the west - just call 911 and say you saw someone on the side of the road dying as you are driving, done. You may get called to provide info, but no big deal I would assume. I feel that it's easier in India and harder in the west. Not sure though. I've never had to associate with cops except for a speeding ticket once.
The Outsider Posted December 2, 2010 Posted December 2, 2010 Yea prove me right on everything I said, even the Last part of it. I am truly convinced yet if you want to provide more evidences then go ahead. For me, my safety is more important to me than others' safety. What's the point of living if you can't help your self before you help others? I would love to help someone in need as long as I was not going to be back stabbed What the feck is your problem, kid? I called someone in your story an idiot and you started abusing me and talking about how Tendulkar has given me so many powers on ICF - care to point out to a single instance when I have used my supposed powers to give you a warning, infraction, or ban. Feck, I don't even remember deleting or editing a single post of yours ever. Look, you brought up some story on a public forum on which I gave my opinion, based on the fact that just plain common sense should tell you that the person had nothing to be afraid of. You don't like the opinion, fine. You would have left a man to possibly die, even better. How does this lead to you abusing me and needlessly bringing up whatever powers Tendulkar might have bestowed upon me? Anyhow, can't be bothered to waste any more of my time here.
Jersey #10 Posted December 2, 2010 Author Posted December 2, 2010 What the feck is your problem, kid? I called someone in your story an idiot and you started abusing me and talking about how Tendulkar has given me so many powers on ICF - care to point out to a single instance when I have used my supposed powers to give you a warning, infraction, or ban. Feck, I don't even remember deleting or editing a single post of yours ever. Look, you brought up some story on a public forum on which I gave my opinion, based on the fact that just plain common sense should tell you that the person had nothing to be afraid of. You don't like the opinion, fine. You would have left a man to possibly die, even better. How does this lead to you abusing me and needlessly bringing up whatever powers Tendulkar might have bestowed upon me? Anyhow, can't be bothered to waste any more of my time here. First calm down. There is nothing to get hyper on. I just felt that there was no need for the insults. All the other members are also giving their opinions but you are the lone star who is not scared of getting WPs or bans because of the 'powers". Simple as that. I am sorry if I have hurt your feelings. no hard feelings peace
The Outsider Posted December 2, 2010 Posted December 2, 2010 First calm down. There is nothing to get hyper on. I just felt that there was no need for the insults. All the other members are also giving their opinions but you are the lone star who is not scared of getting WPs or bans because of the 'powers". Simple as that. I am sorry if I have hurt your feelings. no hard feelings peace Huh? Which members have received warnings and bans for calling some guy in a story an idiot, that I would not get it because of my so called powers? Where did I insult you - care to quote and point it out? Thanks for your concern, but my feelings don't get hurt by some random abuses from hyper charged teenagers on a message board.
Jersey #10 Posted December 2, 2010 Author Posted December 2, 2010 Huh? Which members have received warnings and bans for calling some guy in a story an idiot' date=' that I would not get it because of my so called powers?[/quote'] I have! Once I got Wps for calling Laxman "lame" or something. I see tons of people insulting cricket players on this forum everyday but it's wrong when I do it. The other time I got Wps for insulting someone. Thanks for your concern' date='[b'] but my feelings don't get hurt by some random abuses from hyper charged teenagers on a message board. seriously? What was all the fuzz about earlier then? anyways i m done here
Desi Cartman Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 what ? whats there to think ? U see someone dieing and you THINK if u should help him !!! I dont get it. I know in India cops can be Aholes but why cant someone pick him up and take him to the hospital or AT LEAST call cops from a silent number or public phone. Its a shame that people need to THINK about these basic things :headshake:
Guest Shivani Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 ofcourse help.. you can re write your final exams next term, but that person won't get a chance to live his life again :headshake:
Desi Cartman Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 ofcourse help.. you can re write your final exams next term' date=' but that person won't get a chance to live his life again :headshake:[/quote'] unless he is a character in a desi tv serial :cantstop:
EnterTheVoid Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 This afternoon I was running very late for a casual meeting with my project partners. While I was trying my best to make it to the particular meeting place an unfortunate event occurred. The event has nothing to do with me but just what I saw and my confusion over what to do at the time. I took a wrong turn on a very small rocky street at around 3:15pm this afternoon. As I was driving slowly and carefully, I saw a man little bit far from me laying flat face up on the right side of the street. He was severely bruised on the head and seemed to be bleeding. As the street was one way I had no choice but to continue driving towards him. As I got close to him, he was trying to get up but as soon as he got up he fell face down on the same side of the street very hard on a rocky surface. At first I thought he was either drunk or high beyond limits but part of me was telling me that he could have had concussion from the head injury which would have caused him to lose partial consciousness. All this happened within 10 seconds or so. Now I was in a shock and scared at the same time. I kept driving away very slowly while thinking whether to call the cops or not. I really wanted to call for help but then I thought the cops would think that I had hit him while driving. Then I thought about finals exams which were coming up and I had no time to be stuck with the cops, lawyers and courts. While thinking all this I realized that I was very late for the meeting so I drank some water and reached my destination. Now I can not stop but think about this incident over and over again. I am kind of blaming myself for whatever that happened. I wish I had never taken that wrong turn. I wonder if it is a very big sin to be selfish and only think about my own safety when someone is really in need. Sorry, but this part just does't make any sense. Why on earth would the police think you did it ? And even if they did, convictions can't be made on suspicion alone, need solid evidence. If they suspect you, the burden of proof is on them to prove your guilt. Since they can't, why should you be afraid ?
Desi Cartman Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 Sorry, but this part just does't make any sense. Why on earth would the police think you did it ? And even if they did, convictions can't be made on suspicion alone, need solid evidence. If they suspect you, the burden of proof is on them to prove your guilt. Since they can't, why should you be afraid ? http://goo.gl/1tNcI I think this will help you realize how bad can things get in India when police gets/needs to be involved.
EnterTheVoid Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 http://goo.gl/1tNcI I think this will help you realize how bad can things get in India when police gets/needs to be involved. I am not sure why the person would think he would get in trouble. I mean, if he comitted the crime, his demenour, body language etc would be a clear give away. I'd have to agree with Shwetabh of this: That the police would think you hit the guy is just lame. Fiber, paint, dents etc. would show in a jiffy that your car was not involved. Guys like these are not just phattus but idiots as well. Personally, I'd do what I can in my power to help, either call 911 or drive the person to a hospital (defn in Australia, reading the horror stories about the Indian police in this thread got me thinking twice :nervous:). I can sleep easy that night without being torn by guilt.
Desi Cartman Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 oh I agree 100% that people should help even if it means wasting time with corrupt police. I was just citing an example to show how bad those cops can be
The Outsider Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 what ? whats there to think ? U see someone dieing and you THINK if u should help him !!! I dont get it. I know in India cops can be Aholes but why cant someone pick him up and take him to the hospital or AT LEAST call cops from a silent number or public phone. Its a shame that people need to THINK about these basic things :headshake: Sorry, but this part just does't make any sense. Why on earth would the police think you did it ? And even if they did, convictions can't be made on suspicion alone, need solid evidence. If they suspect you, the burden of proof is on them to prove your guilt. Since they can't, why should you be afraid ? Husssh!! You guys are as$holes and just making use of your 'powers' on ICF gifted by God to say the above things.
Aaku Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 OMG.. you see someone dieing and you wont save him cz youre getting late fr a meeting ? what if you were the one on the road bleeding to death? this is sucha stupid Q.. zindagi ki ahemiyad nahi pata kisi ko ? Life is precious, value karein!
Sir john Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 i think whatever your heart say you have to do, afterall we all are human. “When dealing with people, remember you are not dealing with creatures of logic, but creatures of emotion.”
goose Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 the guy driving in the story should kill himself in shame.
Jersey #10 Posted December 3, 2010 Author Posted December 3, 2010 Thanks for all the replies. Intentionally, I only posted half of the story. The rest of the story goes something like this. After reaching my meeting place, I called the cops under depression not knowing what would happen in the future. The cops recorded my conversation as I spoke about the man, his situation and his location. The cops asked me to reach the location to help for the further investigation. Before I reached there, the man had been taken to the hospital. The cops took pictures of my car and asked me a few question before letting me leave. As I left the location I felt very proud of myself as I probably saved someone's life. Three days later, the cops arrived knocking my door. The man whose life was probably saved because of me had filed a case at the general district court which sued me for all the pain I had caused him in the "car accident" plus the medical bills. Totally flabbergasted I had no words for the cops. They then took me to the police station to sign some papers. I was told that I must report to the police station twice a day in the morning and evening. I was unable to sleep nor eat or think for next two or three days. I later called my parents to my dorms to explain the situation. We had to get a lawyer. The lawyer explained that it is not necessary to have blood marks on my car and running over a person usually doesn't leave any dents on the car body. My parents spent over 8,000 dollars in lawyer fees and detective fees. The court took 3 dates to come to a conclusion. We won the case after 6 months. I failed 4 out of 5 of my Final exams. Now I will not be able to graduate in time nor be able to get an internship. I also have an expired criminal history which repels most employers from me. Thinking back to the day I saw the man on the street side, I could have easily forgotten about the incident as I did not even have a hand in it. My life could have been very smooth but I tried to help a needy man without thinking about the future consequences. The lesson to be learned from my story is quite self explanatory. I promise, now this is the whole story I read. It's quite breath taking. I wasn't there to know whether the story is totally true or not but the book in which I found the story was marked as "non-fiction". Please reply.
coffee_rules Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 One word ... Fiction. It's was a trick question...Anyway good one for getting most of us...
Ram Posted December 3, 2010 Posted December 3, 2010 If you are to believe the full story (which is pretty hard to do), If you dont need any sort of evidence to show that you're the one who caused the accident, then what is there to stop any accident victim from pressing charges on ANY randmon person? You need some evidence for the case to stand do you not? (dent marks, blood stains, eye-witness, CCTV footage, lack of convincing alibi etc..)