Umesh Yadav for the second test?

Jersey #10

Umesh Yadav for the second test?  

Playing Umesh Yadav will be like a dodhaari talwar...we do not know what to expect...this will be a gamble...but overall our life too is a gamble..need to take it...

Even after the bitter experience playing one rookie.. think we should just throw the kitchen sink at it in Durban... drop harbhajan and draft Umesh in...go with Zaheer,Sreesanth,Ishant and Umesh..with Sehwag and Tendu to provide spin support..

Umesh Yadav has one of the best yorker and short deliveries in our domestic circuit as far as accuracy and pace are concerned. He is more of a Test bowler than a limited overs bowler. With the kind of pace and bounce he gets, he can pick up a few wickets with proper slips in position. You don't usually get the proper slip placement in the limited overs games. a lot of the videos of him on youtube show that batsmen get thick edges off of his bowling and get fours at fineleg and the thirdman areas.

One test and we are here, dishing out some odd shyt. Previously, Unadkat was a hero and just after one bad performance, he is "mediocre" and should be replaced.I mean WTF! I would rather try Munaf, or give Unadkat another go, showing some confidence in him rather than going for a "Gun Barrel Straight Bowler" like Umesh, he sure does have some pace, but not the swing, which could trouble the SAF batsmen. So NO for me.
I am not saying that he is the absolute best and there is no better player than him in India. I just feel that his pace and accuracy can help India's cause on these particular sort of pitches in sa. I was against Unadkat playing in the first place and I still say that he was a vague choice for the first test. Munaf has lost his pace but is still a very much an accurate bowler. He can bowl in the right areas and stump to stump but I don't know if that's enough to pick up wickets.
@vishal..124-125 is not pacy anyone can bowl at that speed
sir, the point of his story was that 124-125 was pacy for him whom I presume to be a club level cricketer and that pacy short pitched deliveries are generally not easy to handle.

I have not seen a great deal of Yadav. He looked lively in the IPL. However, on this forum i have seen some people say he can move the ball both ways and others who have said he is Gun Barrel straight. Can anyone shed any light on this? I really hope Unadkat can go back to domestic cricket and bounce back. I feel very sorry for him as he was thrown in at the deep end by the selectors. It's ridiculous that someone like Unadkat or even Yadav can get a call up before someone like PK. I know PK is medium pace but he has good control, can swing the ball and has a good average in domestic cricket.

If Yadav was either skillful at 135kph or able to maintain his speed of 140kph+ for long periods of time, he would pick up bucket loads of First Class wickets, especially playing in the Plate League where batsmen rarely come up against anything over 125kph. The fact that he performs averagely and inconsistently should immediately raise a red flag that he will not do well at Test level.

I am not saying that he is the absolute best and there is no better player than him in India. I just feel that his pace and accuracy can help India's cause on these particular sort of pitches in sa. I was against Unadkat playing in the first place and I still say that he was a vague choice for the first test. Munaf has lost his pace but is still a very much an accurate bowler. He can bowl in the right areas and stump to stump but I don't know if that's enough to pick up wickets.
So you think one must bowl full and wide outside the off stump or on the batsman's pads to get wickets ? :giggle: Sadly, Munaf is the automatic choice in case Zak doesn't play and Unadkat is not considered, otherwise, I would give the young chap another chance, as we showed some trust in him by taking him ahead of the "experienced" Munna Bhai

sreesanth, pissant, umesh, unadkat, munna-dadaji, rp, irfan all are utter tripe and would not find a place in another quality national side. Zak although better than these has poor fitness and looks like stays injured more than he plays. I give him one more year before he fades away. Indian bowling is in SERIOUS trouble. We never really had world class attack, now we have club level. Seriously this bowling is a joke especially for a team that is ranked no. 1.

If Yadav was either skillful at 135kph or able to maintain his speed of 140kph+ for long periods of time' date=' he would pick up bucket loads of First Class wickets, especially playing in the Plate League where batsmen rarely come up against anything over 125kph. The fact that he performs averagely and inconsistently should immediately raise a red flag that he will not do well at Test level.[/quote'] Sir ji do you know about the pitches made in plate league matches and field and batting standard of Vidarbha...Yadav mainly gets his wicket by clean bowled or LBW...edges do not carry to the slips because of low bounce and if carries they drop the lollipops too...His SR and average is pretty good considering those pitches...he plays in plate league which no one cares about...forgets about good pitches..u will normally see dusty pitches there..even spin part timers take wickets on those pitches....and u also need support from other end too which is barely there....and sometimes because of his team's inept batting in first innings, he is not even get to bowl in second innings.....coz they most often lose by an innings... and you rare wrong that plate league does not have bowlers who bowl over 125 kph...we have quite a few pacers who can bowl up 135-140 in plate league too..like Abu nechim, Varun Aaron, Rahul Shukla, Shrikant Wagh, Umesh Yadav, Ranjit Mali, Sujoy Tarafdar, Preetamjit Das, etc. Do u think average of 25 and SR of 49 after 17 first class matches is bad in any FC leagues..if you think than you are wrong and take a look at Sreesanth's record in FC, you will get to know how hard it is to take wickets in Indian FC too...
zak will plsay..i want sreerajnikanth to sit out...was bowliong 125 and makling like hje is bowling 155 by staring at batsmen embarrassingly
he got up to 140km/h according to cricinfo speedguns,
S..and u also need support from other end too which is barely there....and sometimes because of his team's inept batting in first innings.
Poor guy - He'd have faced these two issues at Centurion too!!!
:haha:leave that....first of all the hysteria of first test and lack of any match practice in SA..don't you think we expect too much from these young guys like Jaydev and Umesh when our most experienced Bhajji and Typhoon Sreeshanth went for runs like that was a one day game..:winky:
I dont have much expectations from Unad-cant-bowl or Yadav. They should only be in SA as net bowlers and selectors have goofed up. Regarding Bhajji and Sreesanth - less said the better. One threw darts down the leg side and the other will perform very good in one match and then dance drunk in other matches :headshake:
that is why they should try UY..our original ones are nt doing good and he cant do worse than them..maybe we can find some one....am disappointed for MIthun...he shud have been selected
Yes, I think Mithun deserved to be selected ahead of UY and JU.