EnterTheVoid Posted February 20, 2011 Posted February 20, 2011 Sky Diving is an extreme Adrenaline Sport -- Its something I've been meaning to do for a long time and today, I finally got the chance. I did the jump from 10, 000 feet. You can do the jump from even higher altitudes, from as high as 14, 000 feet, but at 15, 000 feet and above, the lack of Oxygen starts creating problems --- The location of the jump was off the coastal waters of the Southern Tip of Australia. The thrill of Sky Diving is that you get to experience "Free Fall" -- "Free Fall" is where gravity is the only force acting on you. At 10, 000 feet, you experience "Free Fall" for approximately 25 - 30 seconds and hit speeds up to 200 Kilo Metres Per Hour. Yes, no bullshit, you hit speeds up to 200 Kmph. The amount of time you are in "Free Fall" depends on the height you jump from: 8, 000 Feet = 15 seconds 10, 000 Feet = 30 seconds 12, 000 Feet = 45 seconds 14, 000 Feet = 60 seconds Sky Diving is a dangerous sport and the risks are VERY REAL. But thats the whole point right, if it isn't exciting, it wouldn't be worth doing, right? ---- This was taken in the Hangar, where the parachutes for the jump were getting readied: This is the airplane that flew us to 10, 000 feet. This airplane doesn't actually have any seat belts ... Since this is a "Tandem Jump", you jump with a highly qualified instructor. This was of the guy who went before us and his parachute ride back to the hangar. Finally, it is our turn. Onto the plane and away we go .... This meter tells you the altitude ... 4, 000 feet, a 1, 000 feet under the half way mark The view from 10, 000 feet. You see the step next to the wheel? You place your left foot, than the instructor places his, than your right ... than you jump ---------------------- Basically, long story short, its literally a once in a life time thing, just do it. Write up, pictures done at the request of Flamy. B-> Mariyam 1
ravishingravi Posted February 20, 2011 Posted February 20, 2011 Good stuff. I want to go SD in an year or so.
EnterTheVoid Posted February 20, 2011 Author Posted February 20, 2011 Good stuff. I want to go SD in an year or so. Do it, its not as scary as people think. Just PURE Adrenaline. Free Fall is just mind ****ing blowingly amazing.
mhr123 Posted February 20, 2011 Posted February 20, 2011 that is phaacking Scary yaar... i am afraid of heights . :headshake:
EnterTheVoid Posted February 20, 2011 Author Posted February 20, 2011 that is phaacking Scary yaar... i am afraid of heights . :headshake: Don't let that stop you mate. I too am scared of heights but decided to go ahead with the jump. You will jump with an instructor ... basically, they do all the hard work, the student just chills out and enjoys the ride. That's very cool Sree :two_thumbs_up: the feeling must be awesome :top: Mate, I don't know whats its like to fly but this is probably the closest thing to it.
Aaku Posted February 20, 2011 Posted February 20, 2011 Amasinghhhh Sreee:two_thumbs_up: I tooo wanna do it :whine:
b555 Posted February 20, 2011 Posted February 20, 2011 Awesome :woot: awesome :woot: spammers think alike :D
EnterTheVoid Posted February 20, 2011 Author Posted February 20, 2011 where is the adrian grener pic? :hitler: --- I tried convincing my friends to come but they chickened out ... too scary, too dangerous, afraid of heights etc etc. I tried my best but ultimately, its their loss. Kept my eyes open through the entire Sky Dive. Falling through the clouds from 10, 000 feet to 5, 000 feet in 30 seconds at a speed of 200 Kmph. **** yea. Btw, the wind at that height is incredibly strong. See how it pushes the skin of my face against my cheek bones.
EnterTheVoid Posted February 20, 2011 Author Posted February 20, 2011 Btw, whats attached to the instructor is called "The Drogue". Its purpose is to provide a bit of balance and slow us down. Basically, the sequence goes like this: 1. Fly out to 10, 000 feet 2. Jump. 3. Instructor releases the "Drogue Parachute" 4. At 5, 000 feet, the main canopy parachute is released.
flamy Posted February 20, 2011 Posted February 20, 2011 ok boize, does he or does he not look like the lead actor in Entourage? :woot: i'm gonna sky dive on of these days
flamy Posted February 20, 2011 Posted February 20, 2011 :woot: nice flamy :WTF: does this post even mean? :finger:
EnterTheVoid Posted February 20, 2011 Author Posted February 20, 2011 i'm gonna sky dive on of these days I recommend you do the jump from 14, 000 feet as you will spend longer in free fall. If you're lucky, you may also get to do tricks like 'flips', 'turns' and 'barrel rolls' Btw, don't worry if you are scared of heights. At that altitude, you lose sense of just how high you are as all you will be able to see are clouds and blue skies -- Without that altimeter, the one in #5, you have absolutely no way of telling whether you are at 8, 000, 10, 000 or 12, 000 feet. The **** all looks the same. This could be you, ****ing go for it mate !!!
Desi Cartman Posted February 20, 2011 Posted February 20, 2011 how much does it cost and where did u do it in Adelaide .. I will make sure I do it on my next trip there BTW it looks awesome !
EnterTheVoid Posted February 20, 2011 Author Posted February 20, 2011 how much does it cost and where did u do it in Adelaide .. I will make sure I do it on my next trip there BTW it looks awesome ! I did it from 10, 000 feet and got a handy cam DVD of the jump: 10, 000 feet = ~ $400 DVD = ~ $100 so all in all, $500. I did it with 'Adelaide Tandem Sky Diving'. Its at a place called 'Lower Light', one hours drive from the CBD into the country, near the vine yards; Link: http://www.adelaideskydiving.com.au/ This video would be a good indicator of what to expect. Its the same jump as mine, in terms of height and the video. [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVrtlTMSJjw]YouTube - Skydiving Lower Light[/ame]