satyam1729 Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 The 10th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup kicked off with a bang, with the opening match between India and Bangladesh drawing nearly 39 million viewers across the country yesterday. But, the figures are about 80 per cent less in some cases, when compared with the opening match of Indian Premier League-3. http://www.business-standard.com/india/news/world-cup-loses-to-ipl-in-tv-viewership/425912/
EnterTheVoid Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 Well, look at the games played so far. India v Bangladesh Sri Lanka v Canada :WTF:
Malik_Bhai Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 odi match 7h ipl match 3h why waste 7h hours of your time on two teams you dont care about?
qwaszx Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 india vs bangladesh was the live match although we destroyed them still the viewing was alot
don_corleone840 Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 ipl is future of cricket.World cup has been really boring soo far.Really misssing ipl
CSK Fan Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 ipl is future of cricket.World cup has been really boring soo far.Really misssing ipl IMO IPL 3 was one of the most boring slog-fests ever
Sachin=GOD Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 IMO IPL was one of the mist broing slog-fests ever ++++
Gotham Cronie Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 Doesn't help that matches start at 4AM in the States.
Manny_Pacquiao Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 Doesn't help that matches start at 4AM in the States. ? indian viewership, not global. us people in the USA dont count anyway, these stats arent a fair reflection of viewership. u cant assume a 1:1 ratio of tv per person, its usually 5/6 people to a TV in India, maybe more. then there always those that tune in thru radio, and others that probably got it off the internet.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 It's a no-brainer that matches which don't count for much won't get a good rating. The format of the tourney is such that the ratings will not be good till the knock-out matches start.
Mariyam Posted February 21, 2011 Posted February 21, 2011 The 10th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup kicked off with a bang' date=' with the opening match between India and Bangladesh drawing nearly [b']39 million viewers across the country yesterday. But, the figures are about 80 per cent less in some cases, when compared with the opening match of Indian Premier League-3. http://www.business-standard.com/india/news/world-cup-loses-to-ipl-in-tv-viewership/425912/ I could be completely wrong here, and I'm guessing just based on my hunch, but 39 million is abysmally low. My calculator tells me that 39 million is 3.9 crores. We are a country in excess of 100 crore and only 3.9 crore people saw the game? Somehow I don't buy this number. How is this counted? Is it 3.9 crore households or TVs that were showing the game or 3.9 crore individuals that saw the opener?
Gotham Cronie Posted February 22, 2011 Posted February 22, 2011 ? indian viewership, not global. us people in the USA dont count anyway, these stats arent a fair reflection of viewership. u cant assume a 1:1 ratio of tv per person, its usually 5/6 people to a TV in India, maybe more. then there always those that tune in thru radio, and others that probably got it off the internet. Ahh, I see. Overlooked it. Thanks. It'll be interesting to see the ratings for the WC semi-finals and the IPL semi-finals.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 22, 2011 Posted February 22, 2011 I could be completely wrong here, and I'm guessing just based on my hunch, but 39 million is abysmally low. My calculator tells me that 39 million is 3.9 crores. We are a country in excess of 100 crore and only 3.9 crore people saw the game? Somehow I don't buy this number. How is this counted? Is it 3.9 crore households or TVs that were showing the game or 3.9 crore individuals that saw the opener? Nope, I don't think it's 39 million viewers but 39 million households. TV ratings are measured based on how many households have tuned in to watch a program. In India where generally there are a lot of viewers per TV (watch a crowd anywhere you go huddled around a TV), this rating is reasonable - especially for minnow matches. Wait till knock-outs start or wait for games like India-SA and the ratings are bound to go up.