Sir john Posted March 10, 2011 Posted March 10, 2011 The grieving mother of Radhika Tanwar Girl killed in public but cops hunt for eyewitnesses Belying the earlier reports in media that the 20-year-old Radhika Tanwar who was shot dead on way to her college yesterday was accompanied by a friend who chased the murderer, Delhi police today revealed that she was alone on her way to Ramlal Anand College in Dhaula Kuan's Shantiniketan area when she was shot. The police has also stated that it has “no eyewitness” who actually saw the shooting. Delhi police officials investigating the case are disappointed by the lack of cooperation extended by the public in the matter. The police believes that it is ‘impossible’ that the murder has no eyewitness since it took place in one of the busiest areas of South Delhi. When a senior police official was asked as to why it was taking so long to arrest a person despite an eyewitness, he requested the identity of eyewitness, while adding that he would do the rest. “There is no one. Not a single person has come forward and told us that he has seen the shooting. How can that be possible with thousands on the road at that time?”asked the police official. The District Police Chief HGS Dhaliwal, while releasing the sketch of the accused later in the day, accepted that the sketch is based on the recollections of three persons who saw the accused running after the incident, but no one has seen the actual shooting. “This sketch is based on the vague recollection of the three people but none of them saw him shooting the girl. They claim to have noticed him when running after the incident, while we have no one who has seen the murder. It is impossible that no one saw the incident,” said Dhaliwal revealing that the accused is about 5 feet 4 inches with a middle parting of hair, wheatish complexion and was wearing a black T-shirt. The police has urged the public to come forward and help it to reach the culprit. “His identity will be kept a secret,” assured the official. According to information, Radhika was shot by a 315 bore country-made pistol and there was only one assailant. Police believe that it was a planned murder and the assailant chose to hit at a public place so that he could get away taking advantage of the “high- decibel level in the crowded place’.
The Outsider Posted March 10, 2011 Posted March 10, 2011 What's the point behind all those candle light marches and media publicity of the Jessica Lall investigation and what's the point of people flocking up to watch No one Killed Jessica if no one is going to show up as a witness for such cases.
vaibhav_delhi Posted March 10, 2011 Posted March 10, 2011 http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/Story/132047/latest-headlines/delhi-university-girl-murder-case-police-detain-one.html "1 arrest made. Delhi Police sources said that they had almost identified the accused in the Radhika murder case."
straight.drive Posted March 10, 2011 Posted March 10, 2011 Looks like a handiwork of a fellow whom she rejected.
Mariyam Posted March 10, 2011 Posted March 10, 2011 What's the point behind all those candle light marches and media publicity of the Jessica Lall investigation and what's the point of people flocking up to watch No one Killed Jessica if no one is going to show up as a witness for such cases. The Outsider, I think you are being very critical here. Some people have showed up and have given a description to the police. That is why there is a sketch to begin to with. Delhi Police will, God willing, catch hold of the murderer. I don't know much about this particular issue, but some people saw a man make a hurried exit from the scene and have helped the police. Lets not decide that they won't show up as witnesses. Let the Police catch hold of the murderer, and call these witnesses for confirmation and then lets see what happens. What else can these college kids( I presume) do? Fight against or chase a gun wielding lunatic? The comparison to the Jesical Lal murder is also inappropriate. In that case the Police (and everyone else) knew who exactly had murdered Jessica. Initial reaction of quite a few witnesses in that case was to depose to the police. They turned hostile during the extended legal process. The murderer, was around the crime scene for a few minutes after the murder.In this case, the murderer is not known even after 48 hours of the murder and the guy fled immediately. The sale of weapons will have to be regulated much better. How the hell does just about anyone get a gun? Punishment for sale of weapon(s) to a person who doesn't have the necessary license/ paper work should be much more stricter. And if a person is killed using such a weapon, then all the sellers ( who have made an unauthorized sale till that weapon reaches the hands of the final murderer) should be booked for abetment to murder. Thats what I would enforce, if I had my way. There is nothing worse than knowingly selling weapons to unscrupulous characters who are only bound to misuse the weapons, just to make a quick buck. Even people from the state security agencies will be a part of this game. Delhi Police may very well catch the lunatic who killed Radhika Tanwar. But will they go behind the people who make and sell such weapons? Will they go behind people who issue gun licenses without proper checks or just sell them to the highest bidder? No they will not. They never do. Thats the tragedy. But all thats a different topic altogether. I can only cry at the loss of this life. College life is supposed to be all about fun with friends, flirting & dating ( not applicable to engineers), bunking classes to catch movies, traveling with friends, making friends, lying at home to go binge drinking etc and not worrying about a lunatic stalker, or loss of innocence of an entire batch of students whose classmate has just been killed or having to worry about deposing and threats from gundas. So much is wrong with our society. So much I want to say, but I'm at a loss for words.....
straight.drive Posted March 10, 2011 Posted March 10, 2011 ^^ That's a pretty emotional post. May her soul rest in peace. But I am not really sure if the media is aiding the case or drawing it's share of blood using the standard "Missing pretty girl syndrome" . The emotional fickleness of average indian makes the task much easier for the media.
Sachin=GOD Posted March 10, 2011 Posted March 10, 2011 The sale of weapons will have to be regulated much better. How the hell does just about anyone get a gun? Punishment for sale of weapon(s) to a person who doesn't have the necessary license/ paper work should be much more stricter. And if a person is killed using such a weapon, then all the sellers ( who have made an unauthorized sale till that weapon reaches the hands of the final murderer) should be booked for abetment to murder. Thats what I would enforce, if I had my way. There is nothing worse than knowingly selling weapons to unscrupulous characters who are only bound to misuse the weapons, just to make a quick buck. Even people from the state security agencies will be a part of this game. Delhi Police may very well catch the lunatic who killed Radhika Tanwar. But will they go behind the people who make and sell such weapons? Will they go behind people who issue gun licenses without proper checks or just sell them to the highest bidder? No they will not. They never do. Thats the tragedy. But all thats a different topic altogether. I can only cry at the loss of this life. College life is supposed to be all about fun with friends, flirting & dating ( not applicable to engineers), bunking classes to catch movies, traveling with friends, making friends, lying at home to go binge drinking etc and not worrying about a lunatic stalker, or loss of innocence of an entire batch of students whose classmate has just been killed or having to worry about deposing and threats from gundas. So much is wrong with our society. So much I want to say, but I'm at a loss for words..... The one and only solution of all these problems is making the police more accountable - if it works properly then there is nothing which the police cannot do but in order to make a few quick bucks by way of bribe they never ever go after the real culprit and keep on leading the investigation down blind alleys.
Mariyam Posted March 11, 2011 Posted March 11, 2011 ^^ That's a pretty emotional post. May her soul rest in peace. But I am not really sure if the media is aiding the case or drawing it's share of blood using the standard "Missing pretty girl syndrome" . The emotional fickleness of average indian makes the task much easier for the media. What has emotional fickleness of the average Indian and the Indian media have to do with this? I don't understand. A college going girl was shot in broad day light for no apparent reason. Thats a fact. And my post above wasn't just emotional. The problem of illegal gun sales, even by members of Govt. security apparatus is very real in India. How else would you explain so many people having firearms these days?
Clarke Posted March 11, 2011 Posted March 11, 2011 What's the point behind all those candle light marches and media publicity of the Jessica Lall investigation and what's the point of people flocking up to watch No one Killed Jessica if no one is going to show up as a witness for such cases. In this case, the apathy was about the crowd that did not bother to take the victim to hospital, which may have saved her life. Not the first time this has happened as well.
Sir john Posted March 12, 2011 Author Posted March 12, 2011 Psycho stalker shot Radhika to avenge beating: Cops Accused on the run, 2 friends held Family members of Radhika Tanwar at their residence in New Delhi on Friday A 25-year-old man working with an embroidery unit close to Radhika Tanwar's house in Naraina village, who was bashed up by some villagers for stalking her around three years ago, returned to avenge the "shame heaped on him" and shot dead the 20-year-old college girl, the police allegedtoday. The youth, identified as Vijay, alias Ram Singh, is yet to be arrested, but the Delhi police has detained two of his friends-- Ashraf and Tabrez-- from Sitapur district of Uttar Pradesh and they are being brought to Delhi. According to H.G.S. Dhaliwal, DCP (South), the duo is likely to be arrested on its arrival in the national Capital for sheltering and assisting Vijay in escaping after the murder. "The two have corroborated the sequence of events after the murder and revealed that Vijay shot Radhika to avenge the humiliation which he had to undergo after some villagers bashed him up for stalking her about three years ago," said Dhaliwal. He said efforts were on to nab Vijay. According to information, Vijay was sacked by his employer after the beating incident and he went to Mumbai. However, he was in touch with some friends working at Naraina and often talked about avenging the humiliation and “injustice”. "Vijay came back from Mumbai about one month ago and approached his former employer Kamaal for a job, but was refused. He then joined an embroidery unit in Shakurpurbasti and stalked Radhika twice before shooting her on Tuesday," said Dhaliwal. The police managed to identify him after several intelligence inputs in Nariana village and help from Kamaal. It has emerged that after shooting Radhika, Vijay contacted Ashraf and Tabrez, who were living in the Rohini area, and in the night, told them about having killed Radhika. However, when the news of the murder spread, Vijay asked the duo to bring his clothes from Shakurpurbasti and decided to leave Delhi. "Tabrez and Ashraf brought Vijay's belongings and then went with him to Gurgaon. After spending the night there, they left Vijay at the Gurgaon railway station and went to their native village, Biswa in Sitapur district," revealed Dhaliwal. According to him, Ashraf and Tabrez also worked as daily labourers in embroidery units. Vijay has a “psycho-streak” and enjoys stalking women.
Sir john Posted March 12, 2011 Author Posted March 12, 2011 Main accused in Radhika Tanwar murder case arrested The main accused in the murder of Radhika Tanwar has been arrested from Mumbai, four days after she was killed in broad daylight on her way to college. A team of Delhi Police officials arrested 25-year-old Ram Singh alias Vijay in connection with the killing of the girl outside Ramlal Anand College in Shantiniketan area of south Delhi’s Dhaula Kuan. The murder of the 20-year-old second-year degree student had triggered protests in Delhi. Investigators had zeroed in on Singh, who introduced himself as Vijay in Delhi, after investigators detained his two friends -- Tabrez and Ashraf - from U.P.’s Sitapur. The duo allegedly harboured and helped him flee the capital on March 10, two days after Radhika was shot dead. “He nurtured deep grudge against Radhika after he was beaten up for harassing her and used to tell his friends that whenever he gets an opportunity, he will take revenge. He felt insulted and left for Mumbai,” H.G.S. Dhaliwal, Deputy Commissioner of Police (South), had said yesterday. Mr. Dhaliwal said investigations in Viswan village of Sitapur from where Vijay hails have revealed that he has a “psychopathic streak” and is learnt to have been involved in stalking women in his village. Sitapur is around 450 km from the national capital. He returned to the capital at least 45 days ago and had followed Radhika at least twice allegedly with an intention to kill her. “We have learnt that a month ago, he had boarded a bus in which the victim was travelling. However, he could not execute his plans. Last Saturday, he followed her on the foot-over-bridge,” Mr. Dhaliwal said. According to investigators, Vijay had gone to his friend’s place in Rohini and told them he was involved in a scuffle. He stayed at their place on March eight and next day left for another friend’s place in Gurgaon. “He and his two friends planned to go to Gurgaon after seeing the extensive media coverage. The friends also got a whiff off what was happening. However, the friend in Gurgaon refused to help as he was scared. The two friends took him to Gurgaon railway station where they got separated from Vijay,” the investigators said. Vijay was arrested at around 11 p.m. last night from Vikroli Station in Phatak area of Tagore Nagar in Mumbai, a senior police official said. A team of police officials have left for Delhi with Vijay. link
Sir john Posted March 12, 2011 Author Posted March 12, 2011 good news now time to end all protest.:nervous:
CSK Fan Posted March 12, 2011 Posted March 12, 2011 Not much the police can do in such cases to prevent it from happening. Who can prevent a psycho from doing such things
Mariyam Posted March 12, 2011 Posted March 12, 2011 Not much the police can do in such cases to prevent it from happening. Who can prevent a psycho from doing such things And how exactly does a psycho get his hands on a revolver? Whose duty is it to ensure that this doesn't happen? As I mentioned in my long post above, I'm happy Delhi Police got hold of this lunatic. I just wish they go behind the people who armed him and arm others like him with the same sense of urgency.
punjabi_khota Posted March 12, 2011 Posted March 12, 2011 And how exactly does a psycho get his hands on a revolver? Whose duty is it to ensure that this doesn't happen? As I mentioned in my long post above, I'm happy Delhi Police got hold of this lunatic. I just wish they go behind the people who armed him and arm others like him with the same sense of urgency. Meh, you are talking about the wrong issue here. He could have as well killed her with a knife, thrown acid on her face, blah blah blah. Psychos aren't that dependent on guns. Given the ease with which one can get fake documents in India, gun control will remain a fantasy for decades. I mean we have a lady pilot who failed multiple times and got a fake license to fly a civilian plane :WTF:
Sir john Posted March 12, 2011 Author Posted March 12, 2011 Meh, you are talking about the wrong issue here. He could have as well killed her with a knife, thrown acid on her face, blah blah blah. Psychos aren't that dependent on guns. Given the ease with which one can get fake documents in India, gun control will remain a fantasy for decades. I mean we have a lady pilot who failed multiple times and got a fake license to fly a civilian plane :WTF: killing with knife and acid is not easy? and it was a deshi katta.which did't require a license. easily available in India.
Mariyam Posted March 12, 2011 Posted March 12, 2011 Meh' date=' you are talking about the wrong issue here. He could have as well killed her with a knife, thrown acid on her face, blah blah blah. Psychos aren't that dependent on guns.[/quote'] True. No denying that. But with a gun a crazy person could go on a shooting spree. He could shoot more people while attempting to flee. The chances of multiple fatalities are more with a gun. Furthermore, this case gives Delhi Police a good pretext of clamping down on this illegal business. Given the ease with which one can get fake documents in India, gun control will remain a fantasy for decades. I mean we have a lady pilot who failed multiple times and got a fake license to fly a civilian plane :WTF: Faking documents is one thing. This guy was a raving lunatic. How long could he have hidden that? Somewhere that should have ringed alarm bells for the people accepting the document or selling him the gun based on those documents. Unless they didn't care, and in which case they should be brought under the book. People of unsound mind are ( at least de jure) denied licenses. PK, maybe I'm being paranoid, but there is a spurt in cases of people settling minor disputes with guns. Just sets a bad precedent. And if a crazy person can get a gun with such ease and fire away with impunity, then the government must regulate gun sales and licenses much better. :((
Sir john Posted March 12, 2011 Author Posted March 12, 2011 @mariyam you don't know much about india i guess :wall: you live your life in metros. buying a desi katta is very easy thing.
Mariyam Posted March 12, 2011 Posted March 12, 2011 @mariyam you don't know much about india i guess :wall: :(( you live your life in metros. buying a desi katta is very easy thing. Wohi to masla hai. It shouldn't be easy. :((