Raina or Yusuf

Lord

and what about Yusuf??? He has had 6 innings in this WC and has made 74 runs. He also has got many, many overs to bat - why has'nt he made runs???? You are ready to drop a player after he failed in just 1 single innings but ready to keep another player who has failed in 6 innings - kya logic hai bhai. And if you're just talking of the past then I can also shown you stats that show that Raina is the World 's best batsman at no6 in the last 2 years and has scored lots of runs coming down the order at an extremely high average of 40+ and strike rate of over 100 and he's a far, far better fielder.
Raina is like a safe option. Yusuf is a player who can turn the game in one over. Raina can't play the bouncer, Yusuf can't play consistently. Raina is an okay bowler, Yusuf is a more-than-handy bowler. The choice is for us to make.

Both are clueless against pace Both play well against spin Both are handy part timer offies Very tough to draw a line of demarcation between them, but I would go in with Raina taking the experience and fielding criteria into equation. :--D

Yusuf looks like a better part time bowler than Raina. He also looks better against pace bowling, especially short pitch stuff as was evident in SA where Raina struggled. Also Raina only played 1 match so far in this tournament while Yusuf has played a few. Also, Ahmedabad is like a home ground for Pathan considering he is from Gujarat where the QF is being played. So I think Pathan will be retained over Raina.

yusuf is better bowler than raina yusuf has taken 24 wicket from 5 matches in the ranji tropy even ashwin has the same no played 5 matches and taken 24 wickets with our weak bowling we have to stick with yusuf we have to ask raina to field as subsituite no other way :sniffle:

Pathan can score against weak attacks only. But he will bowl a lot 2 rpo overs in middle overs unlike Raina who bowls a lot of half trackers. Both are not wicket takers. We need an extra bowler to cover Yuvraj (5th bowler) or if a regular 4th bowler goes for runs. Raina can finish better on Indian pitches. He failed against WI, but there is a greater chance of him succeeding against Aus in QFs. Pathan has finished well once, but has failed against Eng, SA and WI. I revise my earlier opinion and will phone Dhoni to select Raina over Yusuf. Will go with Munaf still over Nehra.

dunno why there is a myth regarding Yusuf's bowling abilities.all he does is dart it on middle n leg stump,no variations in pace,no spin at all. Raina may not have the control,but he has that pause in his action that ensures batsmen dont step out.also I've seen him get big turn on even flat decks
Raina. I've been saying this since the start of the WC - Raina should be in the side. Brilliant fielder' date=' very good finisher and lethal on Indian pitches and a handy bowler.[/quote'] :proud:

I can stick my head out and say that if Raina can continue playing level-headed cricket like he did today, I'm afraid Yusuf will have to wait for his chance... for sometime. Had Yusuf been at the crease, we don't know what would have happened. Maybe he'd get out early or win us the game quickly. And this uncertainty makes him a risky pick. Kudos to Raina. You made us proud today :isalute;

It was always going to be raina.. Especially in the subcontinent. He's our best finisher hands down, can't forget it after a few good innings from Yuppo

Both are clueless against pace Both play well against spin Both are handy part timer offies Very tough to draw a line of demarcation between them, but I would go in with Raina taking the experience and fielding criteria into equation. :--D
:two_thumbs_up:

How clueless was Raina against the pacers of Australia today. If anything he was so composed and handled them with absolute ease. If he struggled a bit, it was against Kreja due to the wicket doing a lot of tricks and he was holding himself taking on the spinner,due to that situation at hand.

Dhoni summed it quite well during the post match interview when he said they were not able to finish 50 overs. So they needed a finisher like Raina who can take singles and play some shots which is exactly what he did. Yusuf Pathan is still a dangerous batsman because he can hit those big sixes and bring the rate down but picking Raina for this match is a great move.

How clueless was Raina against the pacers of Australia today. If anything he was so composed and handled them with absolute ease. If he struggled a bit, it was against Kreja due to the wicket doing a lot of tricks and he was holding himself taking on the spinner,due to that situation at hand.
I agree with you on this. Raina has pretty much sealed his place in this cup.