Ganguly & Dravid deserve more credit for this WC

Ganguly was the one who introduced young guns like Yuvi' date='Bhajji,Viru,Zak and many others in the team and he was the one who made the team aggressive and Dravid was a team man he did everything which was asked of him.[/quote'] Who is Ganguly to select? It was there performance in domestic and then selectors who selected those players. Its rubbish when someone say Ganguly introduced those players.
Yes' date=' Ganguly should get a lot of credit as he was the one who started blooding youngsters and [b']totally did away with the "regional selection", which was the bane of Indian selection, by backing youngsters such as Sehwag, Yuvi, Harbhajan, Zaheer and Kaif which were not from his zone. Plus he also asked Dravid to keep so that we started playing with 7+4 formula as before him we had Mongia batting at 6 0r 7 :facepalm: Dhoni is the one who built on what Ganguly started and gave this team calmness, self belief and mental toughness which was missing. Remember guys we used to lose a lot of finals under Ganguly which was rectified by Dhoni. For me we have been extremely lucky to have such good leaders so close to each other. Dravid IMO wasn't a great captain or leader and took India back a bit after Ganguly. As a player though Dravid's contribution to Indian cricket can never be understated.
DO you want to say Sachin and Azhar as a captain did regionalism and played players from their zone. What rubbish? Captain can only vote, but cannot select the team. Its the selectors who select the player because of their performance, not captain. Captain do not go and watch the FC matches and chose them. Sehwag was demolishing every attack in FC cricket at that time. Zak was the fastest bowler in domestic circuit. Yuvraj had shown talent since the U19. Harbhjana was also taking wickets in FC. They were not sudden selection. Many selection were failed to. Would you blame ganguly for their failures? No! because captain can just play them, cannot perform for them. Its their talent which takes them ahead. Likes of Sodhi, Dinesh Mongia, Badani, Tinu Yohanan, Ikbal Siddiqui, Das, and many more were selected during Ganguly's captaincy and the failed. So failure ratio is more then success.

Dhoni is by far our best captain but when I think of the phase during which Ganguly captained our side, I can't help wondering if Dhoni was lucky enough to inherit a team that was far more stable, aggressive, and had the ability to play better under pressure. Ganguly was the one who gave us the uncut diamond; Dhoni polished it and made it what it is today... though I have to say Dhoni has been fabulous in cutthroat situations. Dravid though will always be one of my favourite players. He was a real team man, and the same goes for Kumble. These four- Sachin, Dravid, Ganguly, and Kumble- will always be the gems of Indian cricket for decades to come. Actually, make that 5- Let's not forget what VVS Laxman has done for us in tests. If you ask me he is the most underrated player of them all.

Who is Ganguly to select? It was there performance in domestic and then selectors who selected those players. Its rubbish when someone say Ganguly introduced those players.
Its not introducing players but backing them when they are going through a rough patch. When Sehwag and Yuvraj were struggling after a tour to SA and everyone was calling for them to be dropped. Ganguly backed these players because he believed in their abilities. He did similar with Dhoni. He could easily have kept Dhoni at No.7 when he came into indian team. But Ganguly backed Dhoni's abilities and promoted Dhoni to No.3 and rest is history .
It was their talent because of that he backed them..why didn't he back Yohanan, Siddique, deep Daas Gupta, Mongia, Badani..they also did well on some occasions for the team. Mongia and Badani could have been better test batsmen than Yuvraj. They had better techniques for 5 day cricket. If someone has talent, everyone will back that guy. Viru had showed what he can do when he scored 50 odd against Australia in 2000...

lgXlhszrhmU

Dada has been instrumental in our win but I have to say some of his fans are the most vitriolic lot :facepalm: Was very heart wrenching to see Kapil paaji weep though.
I've begun to notice that lately. :--D
:agree: I saw a lot of that too.
It was their talent because of that he backed them..why didn't he back Yohanan' date=' Siddique, deep Daas Gupta, Mongia, Badani..they also did well on some occasions for the team. [/quote'] The difference was that Ganguly identified who have the potential to be a long term future for India (Sehwag Harbajan and yuvraj ) and who doesnt . Just because you perform in a couple of occasions doesnt mean they are long term futures You are saying this exactly based on what. Yuvraj has test centuries in seaming conditions against the likes of Asif and Akthar. What has badani or Mongia had done to say their technique is better than Yuvraj. Utter rubbish. Sehwag scored a 50 coming as no. 6 .He had never batted as an opener in career before . Yet Ganguly had confidence in Sehwag to send him as an test opener. How does scoring a 50 in middle order in ODI shows potential to be a test opener?
Why don't you understand? Dhoni is not a specialist batsman. He is a wicket Keeper batsman only and he was not a captain. His runs were bonus. How many wicketkeeper batsman had an average of 48 in ODIs. There is no better wicket keeper batsman in India than him. Ganguly's pathetic slow batting was the main reason we couldn't score much against BD. He was not even taking singles.
Atleast he scored, Had he not we may not have scored 100. And I do know Dhoni's role dont jump into conversation when you are Not part of It. The poster blamed Rahul and Sourav for Early exit of 2007, it was as Idiotic as it gets. And whatever dhoni's role is, he was atleast expected to score 15-20 runs. Lets not cover up your Lords poor showing with Lahori Logic.
Who is Ganguly to select? It was there performance in domestic and then selectors who selected those players. Its rubbish when someone say Ganguly introduced those players.
Then despite being a Good performer before Ganguly became Captain why were many Players Neglected? You seem to have something personal against Ganguly and unlike Your Lord do not want give the ex players a token of Credit.
DO you want to say Sachin and Azhar as a captain did regionalism and played players from their zone. What rubbish? Captain can only vote, but cannot select the team. Its the selectors who select the player because of their performance, not captain. Captain do not go and watch the FC matches and chose them. Sehwag was demolishing every attack in FC cricket at that time. Zak was the fastest bowler in domestic circuit. Yuvraj had shown talent since the U19. Harbhjana was also taking wickets in FC. They were not sudden selection. Many selection were failed to. Would you blame ganguly for their failures? No! because captain can just play them, cannot perform for them. Its their talent which takes them ahead. Likes of Sodhi, Dinesh Mongia, Badani, Tinu Yohanan, Ikbal Siddiqui, Das, and many more were selected during Ganguly's captaincy and the failed. So failure ratio is more then success.
Shall I dig out the Number of Players who have already failed in mere 3 Years of Captaincy under Dhoni?
It was their talent because of that he backed them..why didn't he back Yohanan, Siddique, deep Daas Gupta, Mongia, Badani..they also did well on some occasions for the team. Mongia and Badani could have been better test batsmen than Yuvraj. They had better techniques for 5 day cricket. If someone has talent, everyone will back that guy. Viru had showed what he can do when he scored 50 odd against Australia in 2000...
Abey Talent Talent kar raha hai, Jadeja , ke paas kya Telent hai? That he kept on playing so many matches despite flopping continously and making us lose Crucial matches and tournaments? And if its their Talent then Dhoni doesnt have any credit in this WC win because it was other Players who have performed throughout the WC and took us through. And being biased as you have been, I must Say Dhoni's contribution was a Big Zero. He performed only in the Final. Its the 'TALENT' of the players that have won us the WC , Not Dhoni.
I've begun to notice that lately. :--D
:agree: I saw a lot of that too.
Two - Three Idiots running a Page, doesnt make an Entire group Retard.
Abey Talent Talent kar raha hai, Jadeja , ke paas kya Telent hai? That he kept on playing so many matches despite flopping continously and making us lose Crucial matches and tournaments? And if its their Talent then Dhoni doesnt have any credit in this WC win because it was other Players who have performed throughout the WC and took us through. And being biased as you have been, I must Say Dhoni's contribution was a Big Zero. He performed only in the Final. Its the 'TALENT' of the players that have won us the WC , Not Dhoni.
So when I said Dhoni brought these players. Its selectors job. A captain is as good as his team. IF team is 90, a captain can take it to 95 level, not more than that. I am not saying Dhoni found any player. His work is to handle a team which has been given to him by selectors and give his opinion in selection. Captain's vote is not even counted while selection. According to your logic, why shouldn't we give the credit to Greg CHappel, he brought Raina, MSD, kicked Zak out that made him a better bowler. Under Chappel, we won two big overseas test series in WI and England, but we do not give him any credit too. It means it was the team that did it, not the coach, captain was Dravid. We do not even take Dravid's name. And listen, there is no Lord, like you are talking and I have no personal to SG. He has been a superb player and better overall player than MSD. I saw what I see and feel. Dhoni has made mistakes. I too criticize him when he played Chawla and Jadeja continuously. I am a fan of Indian team. but crediting a players contribution and success that a captain found him and then succeed is demeaning that player's talent. A captain can work with the options he has and finds the best option from all the options so that team can do better.