Desi Cartman Posted September 13, 2012 Posted September 13, 2012 One really cant blame govt for rise in gas prices as its controlled by the international market. Having said that, we have seen how well we are utilizing out own assets for example coal scam :hatsoff:
Clarke Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 muhahahahaha @ Diesel car owners Still far cheaper overall deal no ? 2/3rd price of fuel and better kmpl for same model, maybe more maintenance costs down the line.
Trichromatic Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 The worst news for big families is that only 6 LPG cylinders will be available at Rs.399 for rest of the cylinders you need to pay around 750 rupees.This will hit UPA the most as Gas Cylinder is woman's item and lot of women will go against Govt Which family would need more than 6 LPG cylinder at a time. :blink:
Clarke Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 ^ Its the annual limit on subsidy, and a family of four prolly uses one cylinder per month.
Desi Cartman Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 Still far cheaper overall deal no ? 2/3rd price of fuel and better kmpl for same model' date=' maybe more maintenance costs down the line.[/quote'] Congrats to them for digging into subsidy which is to help poor people and control inflation
Crookbond Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 The Diesel prices should have been raised quite some time back.
chanakya Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 ^ Its the annual limit on subsidy' date=' and a family of four prolly uses one cylinder per month.[/quote'] actually the are more or less on the dot with this one. A family of 4 will need 5-6 cylinders a year. A family of 6 will be in trouble..
beetle Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 I hope the electric vehicle gets launched in India soon. But then electricity is also scarce in India. And to add to that opposition parties are playing dirty politics and opposing the construction of India's largest mega dam and nuclear power plant etc. China on the other hand has already built the world's largest dam and is not worried about power generation. China is also launching several electric cars this year and so their dependence on oil would also reduce a lot in upcoming years. Tata is launching electric vehicle but for Norway and not for India. Hope the govt. realizes and stops these dirty politics and corruption and does things like China is doing to fix and secure the future of the nation. Electric vehicles will only make sense when the power situation becomes better.A Tata -senior official had said a few days back that most electricity in India is generated in coal based thermal plants and using this electricity to run cars is neither economical or eco friendly.
beetle Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 The limit on subsidized gas is a good move.People who use less will not have to pay for people who can't control their consumption. Even electricity and water bills should be based on the level of consumption.It will encourage and reward people who conserve.Besides why should a poor man who has only one bulb in his house pay for the price rise because of people who live like king.
beetle Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 ^ Its the annual limit on subsidy' date=' and a family of four prolly uses one cylinder per month.[/quote'] If the cylinder is full at the time of delivery ...it can easily last 45 days for a family of 3-4.If one is not careful about weighing it at the time of delivery ...it barely lasts 25-30 days.
Crookbond Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 The limit on subsidized gas is a good move.People who use less will not have to pay for people who can't control their consumption. Even electricity and water bills should be based on the level of consumption.It will encourage and reward people who conserve.Besides why should a poor man who has only one bulb in his house pay for the price rise because of people who live like king. Isn't that already the case?
beetle Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 I don't know....I have heard it is the case with piped gas.
Trichromatic Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 I don't know....I have heard it is the case with piped gas. Electricity bill in our last apartment was a disaster for us. They had individual meters for all flats, but all those were not registered with electricity department. There was one registered meter for whole building. They used to ask us to pay proportionate amount based on consumption. Since rates increase as the consumption increases, so we had to pay up over Rs 2000 per month.
Crookbond Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 ^ :facepalm: Another stupid example of jugaadu work and people would appreciate that as well. The officers who are supposed to monitor and fix it should be reprimanded asap.
beetle Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 Electricity bill in our last apartment was a disaster for us. They had individual meters for all flats' date=' but all those were not registered with electricity department. There was one registered meter for whole building. They used to ask us to pay proportionate amount based on consumption. Since rates increase as the consumption increases, so we had to pay up over Rs 2000 per month. [/quote'] Rs 2000 per month is pretty reasonable if you are in NCR or major city.
Trichromatic Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 Rs 2000 per month is pretty reasonable if you are in NCR or major city. It's not reasonable when you have just lights, fans, laptops and nothing else. Btw, I moved to an apartment just 4 KM away from that one and here last month our bill was probably Rs 118 after getting TV, fridge and other appliances. :blink:
Tiger80 Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 If the cylinder is full at the time of delivery ...it can easily last 45 days for a family of 3-4.If one is not careful about weighing it at the time of delivery ...it barely lasts 25-30 days. No a family of 4 needs atleast 1 cylinder per month if they do most of their cooking.My mother is now arthritic and there is not much cooking apart from sabji , dal.No pakoras' samosa , sweet dishes etc and we always take cylinder after weighing it yet it won't last more than 40-45 days .I think may be in modern families where both husband wife are working and who eat lot from restaurents ,the cylinder may last 45 days O/W in Families with housewives the cylinder barely last 20-25 days.
beetle Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 It's not reasonable when you have just lights' date=' fans, laptops and nothing else. Btw, I moved to an apartment just 4 KM away from that one and here last month our bill was probably Rs 118 after getting TV, fridge and other appliances. :blink:[/quote'] ek sau attharah rupaiya ...bas....:omg::omg::omg: Yeh kaun si jannat hai......?:secret:
Trichromatic Posted September 14, 2012 Posted September 14, 2012 ek sau attharah rupaiya ...bas....:omg::omg::omg: Yeh kaun si jannat hai......?:secret: My reaction was similar when saw the bill. Ek time to aisa laga ki ho hi nahi sakta, 118 jaroor number of units hoga.