achilles Posted May 19, 2011 Posted May 19, 2011 Kumar Sanu is a legend. I listen to a lot of his songs and his voice still makes you want to hear more of him, again and again.
Mariyam Posted May 19, 2011 Posted May 19, 2011 Bro mai to aashiqui k ganey daily sunta hu Roozana "aashiqui" ke gaane sunte ho? :omg: All ok? This is KS's most famous song. Surprised that no one has put it up yet: [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOWvnwxGFzg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOWvnwxGFzg[/ame] No one could have done this song like KS. The right mix of innocence + fear + hope in his voice, which went very well with the character SRK was playing in this epic movie.
Utalk Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 Thats an epic song mariyam.Awesome by J-T and sung beautifully by Sanu and Lata ji.
Switchblade Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Roozana "aashiqui" ke gaane sunte ho? :omg: All ok? This is KS's most famous song. Surprised that no one has put it up yet: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOWvnwxGFzg No one could have done this song like KS. The right mix of innocence + fear + hope in his voice, which went very well with the character SRK was playing in this epic movie. :haha: ya everything ok lol
achilles Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 q0VaGpeaHs8 This is one of my favourite love songs of all times.
Mariyam Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Does any one know the exact place in Punjab where the song "Tujhe Dekha to yeh..." from DDLJ is shot? What are those yellow flowers in the background? One of the things on my to-do list before I die is to go to that exact spot and listen to that song.
Prakat Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Check this out http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&biw=1280&bih=702&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=mustard+field+punjab&aq=f&aqi=g1&aql=&oq=
Mariyam Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Check this out http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&biw=1280&bih=702&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=mustard+field+punjab&aq=f&aqi=g1&aql=&oq= You just searched for mustard fields in Punjab. I want that exact spot where the opening sequence of the song was shot.
Prakat Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Can't help you with the exact location. :idunno: A call to Dharma might be worth a shot? also... thanks, I didn't know they were mustard flowers! :two_thumbs_up:
achilles Posted May 21, 2011 Posted May 21, 2011 Does any one know the exact place in Punjab where the song "Tujhe Dekha to yeh..." from DDLJ is shot? What are those yellow flowers in the background? One of the things on my to-do list before I die is to go to that exact spot and listen to that song. Do Dil mil Rahe hai.... :P
Mariyam Posted May 23, 2011 Posted May 23, 2011 Do Dil mil Rahe hai.... :P Another epic Kumar Sanu number. MZmEfVy3aXY " Do dil mil rahe hain" and " Ho gaya hai tujhe pyaar" , both from Pardes were shot at Fatehpur Sikri. Sikri a lesser known tourist spot about 40 odd kms from Agra. Its is arguably one of the better preserved historical sites in the country. Mostly you will find students of history from Western Univs who frequent the place. Indian tourists are not all that common.When we went there, we had a fun guide. He started off telling us all the history stuff on Akbar, elephants for justice and about the courtiers/wives/generals etc. Seeing that we were bored, he shifted to Bollywood history. You'd be surprised to know the number of Bolly songs an scenes, both retro and current that were shot there. Jodha Akbar, Umaro Jaan, Pardes, Mohra, and many old time movies. http://postimage.org/image/1pgbydo9w/ ^ This is the place where they shot the court scenes in Jodha Akbar. Excuse my photography. Diwan -e- aam. Or was it the Diwan -e- khas? Not too sure. http://postimage.org/image/x69ank4k/ " Do dil mil rahe hain" was shot in the ^ courtyard. That white structure is the tomb of Hazrat Salim Chisti. I forgot the story behind why his tomb is in the middle of a palace complex, but for a huge amount of $$$ you get to 'buy' a shroud, which you have to place directly over his grave. You also get 3 threads which you have to tie along the walls of the tomb. With each thread you get a wish. You aren't supposed to disclose your wish to anyone. Legend has it that every year on the day of the Urs, when they untangle the threads, your wishes are granted. Two of my wishes have already been granted :omg: . The other one is a long term wish and I'll have to wait awhile to know if its granted or not. I generally don't give in to superstition, but this stuff really works.
Mariyam Posted May 23, 2011 Posted May 23, 2011 Another KS classic: jeeye to jeeye kaise from Saajan [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPzndmMHXBI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPzndmMHXBI[/ame]
Switchblade Posted May 24, 2011 Posted May 24, 2011 [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgutOGl1TN4]YouTube - Tera Mera Pyar.....[/ame]
vaibhav_delhi Posted May 24, 2011 Posted May 24, 2011 kumar sanu has got one of the sweetest voice ever....
DomainK Posted May 24, 2011 Posted May 24, 2011 Sanu's voice is downright irritating - he sings like cotton balls have been stuffed up his nostrils. One of my biggest movie related regrets is that 1942 A Love Story songs are sung by him and not Amit Kumar, who was RD Burman's preferred choice before Vidhu Vinod Chopra intervened due to commercial interests. PS : Adnan Sami is really good, but got stereotyped too early into his career. My current favorite is Rahat Fateh Ali Khan. I thought I was the only one who thought Sanu was over rated. His success was largely due to lack of quality competition. When he came into the picture in Ashiqui, Hindi film music was going through a bad phase both in composition and in singing. That was the reason why Nadeem Shravan and Sanu saw such immense success. I rate Udit Narayan far higher than Sanu. As better singers came along in the next half decade, Sanu disappeared very quickly. Another think very few know about Sanu is his ego and arrogance. That was one of the reason why when composers found quality replacements, they chose not to go to Sanu ever again. At one time, he thought he ruled the industry. He used to record way too many songs in a day and would typically give an hour/two hours for each song. Whatever he sang used to be final, whether it was to the composer's satisfaction or not. He did not believe in rehearsal. Even singers like Kishor Kumar and Rafi used to give 2/3 days per recording rehearsing every song over and over till it was perfected. But not Sanu. He would reach, record straight away and leave at his scheduled time. He did well in some songs, but I rate him as a very average singer. And I agree with outy that Amit Kumar would have been a far better choice for 1942.
Texy Posted May 24, 2011 Posted May 24, 2011 Amit Kumar used to be so talented....love his voice....came to houston for Durga Puja concert w/ his brother Sumit