yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 :woot: great idea P0rn hasn't been approved yet. :hysterical:
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 What costs 20' date='000 USD?[/quote'] Just the amount of expenses in keeping ICF running till date - no profit, and no future increase in equity.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 :woot: great idea dude they're not going to open another section for spamming so why are you happy :giggle:
Lurker Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 :-)! Nah ... a liberal would claim that fairness on message boards is a fundamental right of all citizens' date=' organize an MBPU (message board posters' union), hire a lawyer, yell about arbitrary and unjust message board practices, demand equal representation of all ethnic groups on this message board, and embrace the legal rights of spammers (whom they would call UPP: undocumented persecuted posters).[/quote'] That's one way to look at it. Sure. Other, and specially Conservative way to look at liberals is, that moderation on boards equates to more control for the Big Brother(read bigger Government). Decrease of such controls would be more of a Conservative stance. SO if you are arguing for more moderation aka Govt control you are a liberal..:bow:
Mariyam Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Many of us here misunderstand free speech. If I were to go to a theatre to watch a movie and scream "fire fire" for no apparent reason, I cannot invoke my right to free speech as a defense against punishment by the authorities and possible trashing by the other cinema goers. Thats not how free speech works. Similarly, getting in arguments ( on religion, history, bradman etc) which are not related to the thread topic at hand, and serve only to antagonize other posters cannot be classified as free speech. How would you ( any 'free' speech activist) like it if I started posting THE SUN RISES IN THE EAST in bold red script with font size 5 in every thread 5 times for no rhyme or reason. Is that free speech? Mind you, it is a case of me being factually correct.
Sir john Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 dude they're not going to open another section for spamming so why are you happy :giggle: :finger: loli did't hve enough time to post in ICF nowdays :((
Lurker Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 since I fall under the "free speech wannabe" category ... Let me know if you want details of what I have done so far or you can contact one of the friendly admins to get the details. Read it slowly "It-is-not-always-about-me". This thread already sees some symptoms of being turning into "What has BB done for mankind by exposing Secularists, weak Indians, apologists Hindus yada yada". No reason to turn every thread into your personal hosanna BB. I am quite aware of your deeds, both good and bad, on ICF.
The Outsider Posted May 20, 2011 Author Posted May 20, 2011 I think it is quite arrogant and disrespectful to pull out the money card again and again by the admin/mods. There are better ways to reply to a request than saying oh we pay so much for maintenance blah blah blah. It puts down the non-admin users and creates a rift for no reason. Sounds very snobbish and unprofessional to say the least Please take care in the future. Bhai sahab paisa to kisi ke jeb se hi jaa raha hai. It's not like admins and moderators go around in every other thread talking about how much it costs them to run the site - someone wanted to take control of the workings of the site so I just informed him of the associated costs, nothing more or less than that.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Many of us here misunderstand free speech. If I were to go to a theatre to watch a movie and scream "fire fire" for no apparent reason, I cannot invoke my right to free speech as a defense against punishment by the authorities and possible trashing by the other cinema goers. Thats not how free speech works. Similarly, getting in arguments ( on religion, history, bradman etc) which are not related to the thread topic at hand, and serve only to antagonize other posters cannot be classified as free speech. How would you ( any 'free' speech activist) like it if I started posting THE SUN RISES IN THE EAST in bold red script with font size 5 in every thread 5 times for no rhyme or reason. Is that free speech? Mind you, it is a case of me being factually correct. but here we're talking about a separate section specifically for those topics so the question of arguments not related to the topics doesn't arise.
ravishingravi Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Many of us here misunderstand free speech. If I were to go to a theatre to watch a movie and scream "fire fire" for no apparent reason, I cannot invoke my right to free speech as a defense against punishment by the authorities and possible trashing by the other cinema goers. Thats not how free speech works. Similarly, getting in arguments ( on religion, history, bradman etc) which are not related to the thread topic at hand, and serve only to antagonize other posters cannot be classified as free speech. How would you ( any 'free' speech activist) like it if I started posting THE SUN RISES IN THE EAST in bold red script with font size 5 in every thread 5 times for no rhyme or reason. Is that free speech? Mind you, it is a case of me being factually correct. But in a theatre you are generally expected to be an audience. So lines are clearer. On the second, I agree that OT discussions can be a problem. But say if the top is O sam a, is religion off topic here ? I m not sure. I think mods will just have to take a call.
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Many of us here misunderstand free speech. If I were to go to a theatre to watch a movie and scream "fire fire" for no apparent reason, I cannot invoke my right to free speech as a defense against punishment by the authorities and possible trashing by the other cinema goers. Thats not how free speech works. Similarly, getting in arguments ( on religion, history, bradman etc) which are not related to the thread topic at hand, and serve only to antagonize other posters cannot be classified as free speech. How would you ( any 'free' speech activist) like it if I started posting THE SUN RISES IN THE EAST in bold red script with font size 5 in every thread 5 times for no rhyme or reason. Is that free speech? Mind you, it is a case of me being factually correct. You are taking it to an extreme here. There is something called common sense which helps in these cases. It is commonly accepted that some topics are related, so when one leads to another it is fair game. For example, discussion on AQ leads to Islam, fair cause AQ has used religion as a platform for their message. When you post saying Osama had multiple wives (as a joke or not) and someone says "it is permitted under Islam - what's your problem?", it is totally related.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 I think it is quite arrogant and disrespectful to pull out the money card again and again by the admin/mods. There are better ways to reply to a request than saying oh we pay so much for maintenance blah blah blah. It puts down the non-admin users and creates a rift for no reason. Sounds very snobbish and unprofessional to say the least One one hand you're opening a poll to get a response/views from the users on this matter and then in the same thread pulling out the money card. Doesn't add up Please take care in the future. I think Outsider had a genuine point there.
Mariyam Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 You are taking it to an extreme here. There is something called common sense which helps in these cases. It is commonly accepted that some topics are related, so when one leads to another it is fair game. For example, discussion on AQ leads to Islam, fair cause AQ has used religion as a platform for their message. When you post saying Obama had multiple wives (as a joke or not) and someone says "it is permitted under Islam - what's your problem?", it is totally related. I didn't say that. I said he was living with multiple women. Didn't mention the word 'wives'. :winky: I never said anything about his beliefs or lack of. Lucknow is the capital of Uttar Pradesh. What is your problem?
kumble_rocks Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Bhaiyya law suits hotein hain' date=' hackings hoti hain - are you willing to shell actual $$?[/quote'] Bhiyya , Agar hacking ka dar hai ( which is a legitimate fear since ICF has already been hacked once) , to phir what's the point in having separate free for all forum. What if , god forbid hacking happens again , this free for all separate forum will potentially create more libel and more nusiance for the site owners. I guess , I need to recalibrate my reply to "No" , now that this hacking potential is coming to light.
Mariyam Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 if the act of sun rising in the east results in deaths of people(or something that is commonly accepted as being bad) but people are simply too obtuse to acknowledge it when there exists facts and such like then yes you have the right to free speech. I agree with everything you say. But every thread, every topic on Chit Chat cannot be used to drag in and 'discuss' only 1 issue. THAT IS NOT FREEDOM OF SPEECH. Lets have threads to discuss solely that. Lets leave it for those threads. Thats all I'm saying.
yoda Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 I didn't say that. I said he was living with multiple women. I never said anything about his beliefs or lack of. Lucknow is the capital of Uttar Pradesh. What is your problem? You said in that post, "this shows that the terrorists never stood for any ideals" or something to that effect (which in itself says your post was serious and not a joke). It is not far fetched to include "living by Islamic tenets" as part of their ideal since they keep refer to the religion every time they open their mouth. BTW, they were his wives going by reports, whether you said "women" or "wives". Waiting to hear your explanation on how "Lucknow is the capital of Uttar Pradesh" is related to my post. :winky:
Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 I agree with everything you say. But every thread' date= every topic on Chit Chat cannot be used to drag in and 'discuss' only 1 issue. THAT IS NOT FREEDOM OF SPEECH. Lets have threads to discuss solely that. Lets leave it for those threads. Thats all I'm saying. Methinks that is the sole reason why Mods/Admins are thinking of a separate section for such discussions.
Lurker Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 then don't club everybody under the same group and assume some moral high ground. But Iam more than willing to listen to all the wrong deeds that I did on ICF ... I had a thread opened solely for that purpose sometime back (Which got locked in 0.6 seconds With ur track record, sounds abt right!
Rajiv Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 Friendly advice - create your own site and do whatever type of speech you like. We will put it as one of the recommended sites As far as I know, Ravi ( who pays for this site ) is not interested in Religious talks at all, unless he changed his mind. Till then, everyone can do their time pass talk as usual and the status quo remains 'he said, she said' 'ram said all ho akbar' etc
Mariyam Posted May 20, 2011 Posted May 20, 2011 You said in that post' date=' "this shows that the terrorists never stood for any ideals" or something to that effect. It is not a far fetched to include "living by Islamic tenets" as part of their ideal since they keep refer to the religion every time they open their mouth. BTW, they were his wives going my reports, whether you said "women" or "wives".[/quote'] You've misunderstood my joke there. Been in US for long?. :P At the risk of violating freedom of speech and being off topic, I will repeat it: Osama was found with a stack of porn CDs, a garden that grew marijuana next door, living with multiple women in a mansion with several domestic helps. Furthermore, he liked watching himself on TV. To me the ^ sounds more like Charlie Sheen and not a dreaded terrorist. The joke bit here is that he was a total hypocrite who urged on others to their death but lived a comfortably debauched life. Whatever he claimed his ideals were, he did not stand up to them. No religious message that I'm trying to send via that joke. Hate explaining jokes btw. Was it a car or a cat I saw?