Holding launches attack on 2 billion Indians??

So now the Purists want people to stop going to work so that they can watch paint drying live. LOL! As long as they bash IPL and Tontee-tontee along the way, any bakwaas will pass these days as commendable. :winky:

Somebody tell Holdin...........INDIAN economy is growing rapidly........Economy goes up by people working....not with unemployed people........Just bieng at stadium does not emphasize love of test cricket............Millions of working Indian keep ball to ball track of whats on in a test match... And due to this cricinfo like websites...mobile phone tv and TV media companies pay in millions and thats how BCCI got rich............If he thinks people coming to stadium will make WICB rich he is still living in 70s..........In 70s there was no such live telecasts so people had to come to stadium..nowdays they dont need to....... .. Holding should be reminded of the various industries in India....unlike WI where tourism is only source of income..or prehaps little bit of oil industry.....Tickets at World cup were sold for 500$ and tickets were not easily available.....unlike WC2007 where WI people could not afford the 50$ ticket so stadiums were empty. Someone should also tell him decline of WI started long before BCCI became the powerful body of present. To be precise WI decline started with 1983 loss to iIndia becos their WI players were paid peanuts. As result they went to NBA to play basketball where $$$ were more.

There is a element of truth in what he says . Yes he is expressing it the wrong way and is way too harsh and all that but don't expect him to tow the PC line of thinking. I commend Holding for that reason.
I like his forthrightness too and I am the last one to expect an individual to kow tow a particular line of thought. That is why I still find Gavaskar a respectable commentator than Shastri who was good a long time back. Shastri is sold out, and so are Jackass, Morrison, Channel Nein crew, etc. Nass and Olding are among the better commies. But dragging a whole country's people because of your dislike for an organization is not done. It is like a personal insult to each of us Indians. He has no business talking about us that way. Let him keep his frothing for the BCCI. You may not like 20-20 but please notice that Olding is not referring to IPL here...he is painting you, me, and a billion others with the same brush. Don't you think it's unfair? At the same time you have Vivian Richards, a far greater legend than Olding, so decently expressing his view that he is sad that Sachin chose against the WI tour but that he understands and is fine with it. Where is the grace? We don't live in the age of the church where everything against a preconceived notion was viewed as a sin. Olding belongs to such a class of morality: black and white with no grays. I am afraid it doesn't work that way in reality. He is demonstrating his hatred of the BCCI on the people of India which is not acceptable.
But he expects one billion Indians who don't work to come and watch the match :((
Now soon India might need to build a stadium to accomodate 1 billion people becos Holding still feels its 70s and 80s and tv coverage is very limited so people have to come to stadiums.............I guess he never watched IPL or WCup

One point Holding the number of people going to watch IPL in one season of IPL is more than all international matches in WI in last 20 years that says it all!!!

Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

Agreed. But as I said Holding is a emotional guy and gets upset when he sees his beloved game being usurped by clowns like those that run BCCI.
As much as I'd be the first one to criticize BCCI, I am not sure how BCCI is to blame here. Yes they make a lot of money. Yes they make our players play all kinda useless series. Yes they are run by politicians who can sell their mothers when it comes to making money (or so we are told). But seriously, what exactly has BCCI done to devalue cricket? I can think of one thing - not going along with UDRS system. What else? More importantly, what exactly are Olding's problems with the BCCI? Are these problems based on personal value systems (which is what it seems like) or are they genuine problems plaguing cricket for which the BCCI is to blame?
So now the Purists want people to stop going to work so that they can watch paint drying live. LOL! As long as they bash IPL and Tontee-tontee along the way, any bakwaas will pass these days as commendable. :winky:
So now the fans of legalized prostitution want everyone to do away with arranged marriages :winky: As long as you bash Test cricket and shout loudly that Test cricket is dying, any bakwaas will pass these days as commendable.
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

So now the fans of legalized prostitution want everyone to do away with arranged marriages :winky: As long as you bash Test cricket and shout loudly that Test cricket is dying, any bakwaas will pass these days as commendable.
Dude, you were enjoying the same thing which you call prostitution a few weeks back, with special interest in the sex acts of your GOD. :giggle:
Dude' date=' you were enjoying the same thing which you call prostitution a few weeks back, with special interest in the sex acts of your GOD. :giggle:[/quote'] As I've said many times - I will watch any format he plays, be it Tamasha Kirkut or Hong Kong super 6s or even Book cricket. But other than that I have not watched a single game of Tamasha till date.
As I've said many times - I will watch any format he plays' date=' be it Tamasha Kirkut or Hong Kong super 6s or even Book cricket. But other than that I have not watched a single game of Tamasha till date.[/quote'] Exactly what I said. :winky: BTW it is the same here. I like watching test matches too, when it fits my criteria, except that I don't go about biatching about those who like to watch every ball of every test, unless they try acting all pure. :winky:
He refuses to commentate on ANY Tontee-Tontee matches as a matter of principle and is considered one of the rare cricketers with integrity. He is also a very emotional guy .
Really, this Whispering Fart has done plenty in the past not deserve the integrity tag. Is this not guy who ran-off to Packer's series, is this not the guy who was the brand ambassador for Standord T20, him and his wife had business deals with Standford T20 for crying out loud!, and his whole autobiography is based on attacking BCCI.
There is a element of truth in what he says . Yes he is expressing it the wrong way and is way too harsh and all that but don't expect him to tow the PC line of thinking. I commend Holding for that reason.
Why don't he bark against ICC who have organized 3 Tontee-tontee WC in last 4 years...Why he does not say that ICC should ban T20 if he cares so much about Test. People think in one way only. Is it BCCI's fault that T20 is played. It is ICC who took T20 to international level and it is ICC who should be blamed for all this. Remember, BCCI initially was not even interested to send a team in first T20 WC, but without Indian team, there would have been no charm in the tourny and even without top players at that time, India did a great job then.

Holding has he seen tests so far In england summer. 1st test in glamorgon had shocking attendance. Then 2nd test at Lords had very poor 4th and 5th day attendances. In fact 5th day at Lords had only 7,000 odd, yet Middlesex v Essex T20 a few days later had double that attendance at same Lords. Looks like english killing test cricket with their love of T20. I expect Holding to have a blast on his next sky braodcast at english cricket:--D

^ o you are hoping for too much. Holding is smart enough to not bite the hand that feeds him. Somehow I find such characters who are stuck up with preconceived notions of morality as a kind of 'terrorists against intelligence and free society'. They may not be like the lashkar and hafeez saeed but the stress on some predetermined black/white morality is a serious problem to the progress of mankind. I mean such unnecessary putting down of others just for having a different view is a manifestation of fanaticism. I mean there are the English and Aussie commies who will take opportunity to attack BCCI but they dont turn the whole thing into an exercise of morality and the inquisirion like Mikey 'Olding and Gideon Haigh keep doing it. I am disappointed wiht Nikey Holding. Even the elder chappal is one of the clan members

Why does none of the pious english media and particularly sky sports hypocrites talk about how england ruining the game by stealing other countries players and playing non english man. Never see Holding talk about england stealing the SA players etc Now that is really damaging the game

^^ I think you are taking the things too far...! Since Indians are ruling the world cricket ' date=' there gonna be some haters but we have to learn to live with it.[/quote'] I think we are now enemy number one for everyone just like Aussies used to be. So not surprised at all. :dance: On second thought why will anyone watch test cricket. The only thing great about test is how a high definition camera can capture the movement of the ball in air. But for that waste my five days.... Nah never....