Bollywood trivia/gossip/talk

Sir john

That man is apparently very popular. I have been told that he is far more popular than Kapil Sharma in he UP-Bihar belt. I have no idea what people see in that cross-dressing idiot. And whats with the overdose of this cross-dressing bullshit across all comedy shows? Everyone is doing it and apparently it works. It gets the ratings. WTF is wrong with people?
He was funny in CNWK. Apart from his main character Gutthi he also used to play different characters very well. Then Sudesh in Comedy Circus is also funny whenever he cross-dresses. These 2 sort of set the trend and now everyone is doing it but they aren't as funny. BTW Sunil also stars along side Akshay Kumar in 'Gabbar' which is filming right now

Shah Rukh Khan, Kajol to come together for DDLJ remake? Back in 1995, director Aditya Chopra’s Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge turned out to be one of the greatest hits Bollywood had seen. Now, an industry source claims that a remake is on the cards, and that Chopra will, again, helm the project. "The working title is Dulhaniya Chali Dilwale Ke Sath, and Adi Chopra will be directing it. The name is subject to change, depending on the lyrics of the title song," the source says. The story of the film will apparently be adapted to the present social scenario. The source further claims that "Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol (who starred in the original) will be seen in cameo roles, but won’t share screen space". The source also adds that TV actor Farhan Khan (from the show Chhanchhan) will play the male lead, supposedly reprising Shah Rukh’s role from the original. Newbie actor Mahika Sharma is being considered for Kajol’s part. Boman Irani (in Anupam Kher’s role) and Paresh Rawal (in Amrish Puri’s role) will also be part of the film. The source further adds, "The makers are planning to shoot a song in Malaysia." However, when contacted, Rafique Gangjee, the spokesperson of Chopra’s production house, denied the news. http://www.hindustantimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/shah-rukh-khan-kajol-to-come-together-for-ddlj-remake/article1-1189161.aspx waiting for Aaku and Mariyam's comments :cantstop:

Shah Rukh Khan' date= Kajol to come together for DDLJ remake? Back in 1995, director Aditya Chopra’s Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge turned out to be one of the greatest hits Bollywood had seen. Now, an industry source claims that a remake is on the cards, and that Chopra will, again, helm the project. "The working title is Dulhaniya Chali Dilwale Ke Sath, and Adi Chopra will be directing it. The name is subject to change, depending on the lyrics of the title song," the source says. The story of the film will apparently be adapted to the present social scenario. The source further claims that "Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol (who starred in the original) will be seen in cameo roles, but won’t share screen space". The source also adds that TV actor Farhan Khan (from the show Chhanchhan) will play the male lead, supposedly reprising Shah Rukh’s role from the original. Newbie actor Mahika Sharma is being considered for Kajol’s part. Boman Irani (in Anupam Kher’s role) and Paresh Rawal (in Amrish Puri’s role) will also be part of the film. The source further adds, "The makers are planning to shoot a song in Malaysia." However, when contacted, Rafique Gangjee, the spokesperson of Chopra’s production house, denied the news. http://www.hindustantimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/shah-rukh-khan-kajol-to-come-together-for-ddlj-remake/article1-1189161.aspx waiting for Aaku and Mariyam's comments :cantstop:
it reminds me of RGV KI AAG :cantstop: but magic of these 3 will work again for sure :dance:

Irrfan to play owner of Jurassic Park in franchise's next offering We told you in November last year that actor Irrfan Khan was in talks to star in the fourth edition of the Steven Spielberg-produced Hollywood series, Jurassic Park. Now, we’re the first to confirm that the 47-year-old actor will play the role of Patel, the billionaire owner of a new Jurassic Park. Well-placed sources close to the project confirm the development, saying, “Yes, he is doing Jurassic World. His role is not negative, as is being reported by some sections of the international media. He will be seen as the owner of the new Jurassic Park.” It is thus obvious that Khan has a substantial role to play in the film. The actor, on his part, chooses his words carefully but doesn’t deny the *development: “It is not *correct for me to comment, unless the studio allows.” His official website, too, announces Jurassic World among his upcoming films. The film is the fourth edition of the popular Jurassic Park franchise, and will be placed in real time in 2015 — 22 years after the events of the first film, Jurassic Park (1993). Directed by Colin Trevorrow, the film that stars actors Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, Jake Johnson, and Nick Robinson, is up for a June 2015 release. http://www.hindustantimes.com/entertainment/hollywood/it-s-official-irrfan-to-play-owner-of-jurassic-park-in-franchise-s-next-offering/article1-1189658.aspx

Shah Rukh Khan' date= Kajol to come together for DDLJ remake? ........................................ http://www.hindustantimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/shah-rukh-khan-kajol-to-come-together-for-ddlj-remake/article1-1189161.aspx waiting for Aaku and Mariyam's comments :cantstop:
This is just an industry rumour based on hearsay. No one from YRF has confirmed it yet. Maratha Mandir theatre, in Mumbai Central still plays DDLJ on a daily basis. :omg: It must be some sort of a world record.

how many time you went there?:haha:

WTH......do people actually watch it even now? Also, is Maratha Mandir run on charity or something - because they certainly can't make money out of DDLJ now.

Gulzar: I want to play tennis and write poetry till I am alive Apr 26, 2014, 12.00AM IST TNN[ Priya Gupta ] Every time you meet Gulzar sahab, you only come back wondering how a man can retain his purity as much as him. He is so consistent, not with just his writing, but also his starched white kurta pyjama, his golden jootis and his immense warmth. It's always difficult to write his interview in English as you want to write out every single word in his Urdu the way he speaks it. His every word is poetry. All you need to do is shut your eyes and hear him talking. He is presenting the upcoming film Kya Dilli Kya Lahore and I decided to use that as an opportunity to have my coffee with the man whom I deeply respect. Excerpts from our conversation: What makes you present the film Kya Dilli Kya Lahore? I have been inspired by Aman Ki Asha and I have lived with this all my life. The border, and the migration from your birthplace to another place. Even when you move, your roots always remain with you. There may be a plantation here also, but that keeps coming back. And I keep reacting to it. Why do we say partition and not Independence? It's not about denying the border, acceptance of the border between our two independent countries, India and Pakistan, is the main thing. You have to respect the identity of each other. ALSO READ: Gulzar in 'Kya Dilli Kya Lahore' promo When Kya Dilli Kya Lahore came to me as a subject, I liked it as it is a human story about two youngsters one from each side of the border who are actually one. I liked the idea of not treating it with heavy political stuff, but it being a human story. In our relationship with Pakistan, there is humour, but also fear. It's not all about politics as there is a lot of culture and tradition that we share and exchange. Who are you most attached to today? My grandson Samay is my passion at this point in my life and every thing that concerns him concerns me and that's a bliss. You will know when you become a grandmother. I think it's chemistry. There is something that happens when you become a grandfather. Whether zehni tor se hota hai, dimagi tor se ya dil se, kuch andar pighalta hai, risne lagta hai, behne lagta hai and bawajood iske ki mera vyapaar labzo ka hai, labz dhoondhne padh jaate hai. It's the experience of bringing up a human being, not a child. I feel that I am bringing up Bosky (daughter Meghna's pet name) twice. Listen to Gulzar saab's classics on gaana.com Physically you change their clothes and make their hair. I had learnt to make a ponytail for Bosky when she was a kid, which I don't have to make for Samay. As parents, your responsibility always keeps you tense. To bring up an another human being is an ecstasy, a fear and a responsibility. You want to give them a part of you also and yet you want them to have their own personality. You have to leave the windows open for him to develop, but also leave your shadow on him. You want to teach them to believe in all religions and then you also want them to believe in your religion. We have to give them sanskar from which you need to find your own truth. Your parents tie you up to so many beliefs in your childhood and when you grow up and become independent, you realise how that was just a bondage. And yet, you repeat the same things on your children, knowing fully well that they too will feel the same thing when they grow up. Everyday, from 5.30pm to 8pm Samay is with me and I enjoy that time the most. I go with him to the park and play with him. He has started playing football and I feel at his age he makes a big kick. He is so fond of pets. We go out to eat out on Sundays and when he sees the security dogs at the hotels, we feel scared, but he rushes towards them. Animals too, have an instinct where they will not attack a child. He loves feeding toasts to Rakheeji's cows and copies his nani. He loves his fishes and his rabbit. He loves pets just like Bosky used to and like his nani and dadi. How different were you as a father versus being a grandfather? As a father I was very polite, while Rakheeji taught discipline. She always said, 'Bigaadne ke liye aap hai aur savaarne ke liye main hoon.' I love spoiling children. Even when Rakheeji would tell me don't buy Bosky more toys, I would tell her, 'Main Akbar toh nahi hoon magar tu agar mujhse Anarkali bhi mang leta toh main la deta.' I indulge children. Bosky still remains the core of my life. I feel scared that Bosky could scold both of us, so I explain to Samay that, 'See mummy is coming, so we can't do this', but I feel like doing anything for him. Bosky like Raakheeji is very strict. Again in Samay's case, the father is polite and the mother is a big disciplinarian. I have great admiration for Bosky's discipline. She is a total mother. When he was small, she would carry even his vegetables for him in a suitcase if she was going for a holiday. Even today, she cooks for him herself. She has brought him up very well and he is a happy child. Bosky's sense of creativity is very silent. For instance, she writes poems but will not show it as she feels that I will push her to publish them into a book. I speak so much but she remains khamosh. CHECK OUT: Special page on Gulzar You still play tennis everyday? All my friends are in tennis. We play everyday from 6am to 8am. It's important for me to do some gupshup with them and we talk about everything under the sun in the morning. That opens up all my windows. Playing tennis, I learn everyday on how to take a defeat. We get angry and cheat and that keeps the boy inside me alive. Bosky did not take to sports. I wish she had as she would then have smiled and fought a little more. Has Meghna visited Pakistan? She and her husband Govind want to and they want to go with me. What does a getting a Dadasaheb Phalke award mean to you? It means a lot. First of all, it's a national honour given to you by the nation, a nation full of people for not just one song, but for your entire work and contribution through your medium to society. It's satisfying when people pat you for your work. It's an honour and you feel reassured. ALSO READ: Gulzar to be honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke Award Any favourites amongst today's directors and actors? Directorially, today cinema is taking the shape with its strong visual language. The language of visual has started taking it over. Earlier, in my period, it was sound — the written word, the audio, the dialogues. I feel that the real cinema is coming out with this generation. They are very strong. Take for instance Mani Sir's Raavan. I have not experienced that in Bollywood or any other cinema. I still insist on calling him Mani sir and he keeps on feeling embarrassed, but I tell him that his name is not complete without sir. He is a very sweet person and a very good human being. Real cinema needs to be visually supported by sound. And that is where AR Rahman stands out. Again, I appreciate Vishal Bhardwaj's sound treatment. And then Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra. He has a peculiar sense of image where even for one single scene he will cross over to Siachen to shoot. Amongst the actors, Ranbir Kapoor is very impressive. I have seen him through some of the ads he has done like the old man he played in one of them. It took me time to convince myself that that was him. That kind of performance from inside I used to see in Sanjeev Kumar. Also, I admire Vidya Balan's ability to play so many different characters with so much conviction and the ability to carry herself so well. ALSO READ: Phalke has gone to deserving artist: Asha Bhosle on Gulzar Do you ever feel tired of writing? I find writing relaxing. I want to be doing two things till I am living. Play tennis and write poetry.

WTH......do people actually watch it even now? Also, is Maratha Mandir run on charity or something - because they certainly can't make money out of DDLJ now.
Maratha Mandir is one of Mumbai oldest theatres. It used to be a single screen, not so sure any more. I don't think they run DDLJ to make money out of it. Its more to be associated with the world record on the best movie of all times. The theatre obviously has other shows running too, and not just DDLJ.

Porn writer Mastram exposes the hypocrisy in our society May 6, 2014, 12.00AM IST TNN[ PARAG MANIAR ] Rahul Bagga in the film Rahul Bagga, who plays the title character in upcoming film Mastram, says it was disturbing to play a porn writer, albeit on screen. He says, "We've all had innocent fantasies while young. Looking back as grown-ups, we laugh them off. But if these fantasies turn sexual, the natural tendency is to suppress them. In that sense, it was not easy playing someone who has no inhibitions. The scene where my character fantasises about his wife and best friend was particularly tough. But he has no choice. He has to continue writing." ALSO READ: Why should a porn writer be termed a bad person, asks 'Mastram' filmmaker Mastram bases his erotic fantasies on whatever he observes around him — Baniye ka lollipop, Sheela ka yowan, airhostess ki kaamuk udaan, hospital mein pehli suhaag raat... the list is long. However, the actor says that more than the role, it was the ideology of the script that fascinated him. ALSO READ: Tara Alisha loved shooting erotic scenes in Mastram "The script exposes the hypocrisy in our society. Everybody will be fine as long as you conform to the norms. But the moment you cross the line, people will look down upon you, even though they may secretly enjoy what you are doing," he says. Producer Sunil Bohra adds, "The film is not a crass entertainer. It has a meaningful story that even the female audience will like." The film has been presented by Sunil Jain's A Jar Pictures Production. Mastram, a Bohra Bros Production, releases May 9.

Kapil Sharma dropped from YRF's Bank Chor Comedian Kapil Sharma, who was slated to make his Bollywood debut with Yash Raj Films' Bank Chor, is now out of the project, the production house revealed via an official statement Thursday. It is a mutual decision. The film will now go on floor without Kapil, whose popularity soared high following the success of his stand-up comedy show "Comedy Nights With Kapil". "We will look forward to working together in future when the time is right," Ashish Patil, business and creative head, Youth Films, Talent Management and Brand Partnerships at YRF, said in the statement. Earlier, there was news that Kapil was caught in a quandary over how to balance his show and film. But it is not clear why Kapil is no longer a part of Bank Chor, a comic-caper. The film tells the story of three men trying to rob a bank, how they choose the wrong day for the robbery, and how they're inadvertently caught in the cross fire between cops, industrialists and corrupt politicians. Produced by Patil, the project will be helmed by Bumpy. http://www.firstpost.com/bollywood/kapil-sharma-dropped-yrfs-bank-chor-1601893.html I sort of expected that. His show is doing so well that there was no time or need for him to jump to movies right now.