Switchblade Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 http://www.indianexpress.com/news/wickets-come-in-a-bunch-for-me-400-dismissals-cant-be-fluke-harbhajan/816236/ You made your debut when you were 17 and have already spent 13 years in international cricket. Has it begun to sink in that you’re on the wrong side of 30? So far it hasn’t. My habits aren't such that I should start feeling old. You have to take care of your body. It’s not easy when you are playing all formats of the game. It takes hard work and a lot of sacrifice. You can’t afford to have late dinners. Sometimes it seems that there are two Harbhajans. When you are bowling well, you look like taking a wicket with each delivery. But there are times when you tend to drift to a middle-and-leg stump line and appear defensive. What do you have to say about that criticism? I don’t mind fair criticism. But what irritates me is when, just because I don’t happen to take wickets on a given day, a few people people decide, ‘Chalo isko uda do’ (Let’s blast him). And the same people will praise me even if I take a wicket off a full-toss. That’s not fair. There have been days when I’ve bowled well but remained wicketless. I do try a lot of things. I want to bowl outside the off-stump; bowl from close to the stumps; from round the stumps; keep changing my seam position — these small things which you guys may not pick from the press box. My effort is to bowl to the best of my potential. I am human after all, I will bowl well on certain days and not so well on others. But I must have done something good to have lasted 13 years. What about the leg-stump line? You have been criticised for bowling it often lately? I'm disappointed with myself when I do that. In the first Test in Jamaica, I think I could have taken 10 wickets on that pitch — I'm being very honest about it. All I had to do was to hit the right spot. But for two days, I just couldn’t land the ball where I wanted to. I tried my best but it just didn’t happen. I felt disappointed and hurt. What’s going on in your mind when you get stuck to that line? When I am only looking to bowl, when I am calm and composed, I’ll more often get my line right. Sometimes, I get overexcited. I see a pitch and I think, 'Out karna hi karna hai(I have to get the batsman out, anyhow).’ And then the focus shifts from keeping it simple. I start thinking about magical stuff. And when you try too hard, you end up losing the plot. What’s the ideal line and pace that you should be bowling? It all depends on the wicket. You can’t have a set format. I will give you an example. At the Pretoria wicket, they say an off-spinner should make the batsman cover drive. During the first Test against South Africa last year, I tried it for one whole day. Cover drive khilata raha aur cover ke through chauka khaata raha(I kept bowling that line and they kept hit boundaries)! At times Jacques Kallis’s two stumps were visible to me — when he was shuffling towards off to play me — and then he would sweep me. I thought I bowled in the right areas. It’s not as if I was cut or pulled. And yet, they were driving and sweeping me easily. The thing is when the ball is not turning much, and there is just good bounce, a lot of these good players will try to play on the up, with the bounce, and against the turn. So I was getting hit. In the next game in Druban, I changed my line. I bowled very straight and made them play every ball. The ideas was, if the batsman missed the sweep shot I would get him lbw. If he played across, there were chances of a slip catch or a bat-and-pad catch. Hashim Amla got out trying to sweep. The same happened in Cape Town. Wickets come in a bunch for me. 400 wickets is not a fluke. Utne bhi gaye guzre hote, toh ghar pey baithe rehte (If I was so ordinary, I would be sitting at home)! In New Zealand in 2009, you took 16 wickets in three Test matches on green-tops and seemed to be on top of your game. The turn, the drift and the bounce, everything was clicking. What was it that you were doing differently? We were playing three seamers and one spinner. My role was clear: to ensure that the seamers remain fresh and I bowl tight line. There wasn’t much in the pitch and I bowled well by consistently hitting the right spots. I was very calm and composed and it helped. Moreover, I had played a lot of Test cricket before that series. Here I was coming on the back of lots of ODIs and T20s.One takes time to adjust from one format to the other, especially after six months of one-day cricket. This is no excuse but it does take time to bowl slower in the air. You are saying that you bowl well when you are calm. But the perception is that if Harbhajan Singh is aggressive and emotional, he can make things happen. A lot of people say that. When I am in a contest, it gets the best out of me. I get pumped up and respond well to the challenges. And yet I believe the calm and composed mood I was in New Zealand is the best for me. I was enjoying the company of my team-mates — it’s not that I am not now, but when you are playing good you enjoy everything —and that should be the attitude. Having said that, if you put me in a ring for a fight, I’m all for it. You will see a different Harbhajan that day. How much does you rely on technology to sort a batsman out and how much do you think on your feet? I’m not a great fan of computers. I do watch videos and analyse that which batsman is playing how. But I go out there with an open mind. I’m there to bowl well. If I bowl in the good areas, I will get wickets. Then you also keep adapting during the course of a game. I have learnt this from Anil bhai (Anil Kumble). For someone who has taken more than 400 Test wickets, what made you say recently that you had seen more downs than ups in your career? I was talking more about life. In cricket as well I have been dropped, haven’t taken wickets. Obviously those are low phases, but I was talking about other things also. When I was young, my action came under the scanner. I had to go to England to fix it. Back then, I didn’t speak proper English and had no clue what to do. I was also thrown out of the NCA. Then my father died — that was my lowest phase. The Sydney Test controversy and after that Sreesanth (slapping) incident, which I wish didn’t happen — after that incident, I thought my career was over. There are people who approve of your aggression traits. But there are also those who accuse you of being arrogant. How do you handle that? I don’t think many people understand me. I come across as an ‘akadu’ (arrogant) person but when they talk to me they say, 'You are not like how I thought you would be.' Even then, I can’t please everyone. But then I don’t live for the whole world. I live for people who are close to me. Earlier, you used to react a lot to what critics were saying. Have you mellowed down a bit these days? I am learning to handle it better. In our profession there is a lot of scrutiny. Cricket isn’t just a sport in India, it’s way bigger than that. Every day we are having an exam. It’s big pressure, not just for me but for everyone. Look at him (points at Virat Kohli), he is just 21 or 22, but the pressure he is going through by not scoring in a few innings is huge. The next time he walks out to bat, what people are saying about him now will be at the back of his mind. He will be thinking they are saying Virat Kohli is not a Test player. But slowly we all learn to adjust. Isn't there a song, “Kuchh toh log kehenge, logon ka kaam hai kehna!” Do you think that maybe your critics expect greatness from you and they feel disappointed when you let them down? It’s so nice of them to think that way if they do that. I also expect big things from myself. Every time I go out, I give it my best shot. Because when I come back to my room, I have to look at the mirror and be honest with myself. Hopefully a day will come when I retire, those people will say that I have justified my talent. Who do you think has been the ideal captain for you? Who has managed to bring the best out of you? A captain needs to have confidence in you. You should know what and where you are going to bowl. You need to know where to set fields. If you don’t, no captain can set a field for you. (Sourav) Ganguly had that confidence in me. He would allow me to set the fields. So did Anil bhai, and now MS Dhoni too. He has learnt from those guys. He is very good. By the time Dhoni became the Test captain, I already had 250 wickets. He would come and tell me, ‘field dekh lena aap (please set your field).’ Against Australia in 2001, I didn’t set the fields. Before that series, I didn’t know if I belonged. That series gave me belief that I could win games. I was like if I have done it against the best team, why can’t I do it against others. What new things are you trying to develop in your bowling? I’m working on my angles. I bowl closer to the stumps, I bowl wider. I don’t want to complicate myself. Shane Warne used to bowl two balls — leg spin and flipper. And he used to vary within that with his angles and pace and trajectory. His googly wasn’t great. Anil bhai always was about tight line. The point is, if you can master your stock deliveries and the variations that you want, nothing like it. It’s nice to learn new balls, but you have to make sure you don’t forget what you know. Honestly, bowling different kind of balls is not my strength. Moreover, to practice those balls, you need time. You can’t try it in a match. Maybe, if we have 600 runs on the scoreboard, then I can try sliders, back spinners. I have tried; mostly they have gone for boundaries! Why have you started bowling from round the stumps more often of late? Earlier, it used to be considered negative bowling. Nowadays the umpires give more lbws. That round-the-stumps angle is very good when the ball is turning. You just to have to spin it a bit. From round, the batsman has to play across his body and that line gets really dangerous. Then I can slip in a top-spinner and it can go off the edge to silly point or slip. I have really worked hard on that angle. And you also use a scrambled seam a lot. Yes. If it lands on the shiny side, it skids on faster. If it lands on rough then it spins more. As a bowler, when you yourself don’t know where it’s going to land, how can the batsman can know? Speaking of batsmen, you have improved your batting a great deal. When did you start taking it seriously? It’s very important to think like a batsman when you are out there. When I bowl, no one gifts me their wickets. Then why should I unnecessarily play stupid shots, get out, come back into the dressing room and think, ‘I should have spent more time there.’ So when you are there in the middle, make the most of it. Don’t throw your wicket away. If you get out to a good delivery, then it’s fine. I am trying to reduce my mistakes in the middle. If you see I have also scored runs only when I haven’t gone out and started playing my strokes straightaway. Previously, I used to go and swing my bat, hit a few boundaries and the dressing room used to applaud wildly. But then, I used to make only 20 odd. Even now I play my shots, but I am more judicious in my approach. Rahul Dravid says you are one of the best timers of the ball in the Indian team. (Laughs) Thanks, Rahul! Well, hitting sixes is not too difficult. It’s taking singles that is tough. In that sense, that century against New Zealand last year really helped me a lot. Until you do something for the first time, you don’t know its worth. That hunger then starts building. I didn’t know what it felt like to take a five-wicket haul until I did it. So during that innings, first I said to myself that I should try to reach 70. Once there, I changed my approach and started playing as if it were a fresh innings. That knock gave me lots of confidence. I played like a batsman. I spent a lot of time on the wicket. Now I think I should have got a century in Jamaica too. How do you sum up yourself? I come from a land which has produced a lot of warriors. I am a warrior and I will put myself against anyone and I will give my best for all my friends, my teammates, my country and myself. These guys come first and for them I am ready to do anything. I am emotional and I am aggressive but at the same time, I am a wise thinker — though not many people will agree (laughs).
DeepFineLeg Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 Bhajji comes across as a thoughful and sensible cricketer in this long interview. Let's hope he finds his old form again
akshayxyz Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 Very good interview. Very mature and sensible replies from Bhajji. If he meant what all he said here, then there is hardly any reason to doubt his commitment and attitude. Also his reply about Jamaica "failure" - is something that can happen ( and has always happened) even to the very best in any sports, any field. What about the leg-stump line? You have been criticised for bowling it often lately? I'm disappointed with myself when I do that. In the first Test in Jamaica, I think I could have taken 10 wickets on that pitch — I'm being very honest about it. All I had to do was to hit the right spot. But for two days, I just couldn’t land the ball where I wanted to. I tried my best but it just didn’t happen. I felt disappointed and hurt. What’s going on in your mind when you get stuck to that line? When I am only looking to bowl, when I am calm and composed, I’ll more often get my line right. Sometimes, I get overexcited. I see a pitch and I think, 'Out karna hi karna hai(I have to get the batsman out, anyhow).’ And then the focus shifts from keeping it simple. I start thinking about magical stuff. And when you try too hard, you end up losing the plot.
rkt.india Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 There is no denial that he has struggled in the last 3-4 years which his SR and average suggest.
rkt.india Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 Very good interview. Very mature and sensible replies from Bhajji. If he meant what all he said here, then there is hardly any reason to doubt his commitment and attitude. Also his reply about Jamaica "failure" - is something that can happen ( and has always happened) even to the very best in any sports, any field. Problem is he talks too much and the people expects too much form him. If he can work on his bowling in the nets and on his action, rather than interviewing, it will do better for him. He has been stagnant which is a problem and his action has gone worse which does not help him at all. He does not move his body enough to left side to give ball a bit of rip and as a result wrist does release the ball on the right spot and he goes down the leg most of the time.
Switchblade Posted July 12, 2011 Author Posted July 12, 2011 Please bold the questions :orderorder: Done :two_thumbs_up:
akshayxyz Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 Problem is he talks too much and the people expects too much form him. If he can work on his bowling in the nets and on his action' date=' rather than interviewing, it will do better for him. He has been stagnant which is a problem and his action has gone worse which does not help him at all. He does not move his body enough to left side to give ball a bit of rip and as a result wrist does release the ball on the right spot and he goes down the leg most of the time.[/quote'] You can not expect every one to be SRT. There will always be a couple of big mouths (relatively). Regardless of his 'big talk', you can always count on him to give his best. Sometimes things just do not go your way, and you end up trying too hard. Btw, if you read this interview completely, he does not sound as big mouth as he is made out to be on ICF or elsewhere. As for bowling action change, that can also be result of 'trying to hard' or trying too many things and may even be part of the job, as if you do not add variations opponent will sort you out once and for all. But as long as he is working hard with open mind, he will come back strongly.
saneindian Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 Problem is he talks too much and the people expects too much form him. If he can work on his bowling in the nets and on his action' date= rather than interviewing, it will do better for him. He has been stagnant which is a problem and his action has gone worse which does not help him at all. He does not move his body enough to left side to give ball a bit of rip and as a result wrist does release the ball on the right spot and he goes down the leg most of the time. Are bhai, 400 ka figure chua hai, ek do interview to bante hain na. At least the guy is being candid in explaining where things have gone wrong and knows fully well what he needs to do.
punjabi_khota Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 Haan Bhajji theek hai bahut ho gaye interview. Chalo ab aaraam karo ..:bye:
Blue Panther Posted July 12, 2011 Posted July 12, 2011 candid interview. he definitely is a warrior without a doubt. i would rather have a bhajji than a ojha in the team.
Crookbond Posted July 14, 2011 Posted July 14, 2011 Interesting Harbhajan Singh interview Harbhajan Singh: 'If the critics think I could have taken four, I feel I could have taken six' | ESPN Cricinfo http://es.pn/qwMWVo I liked this part Who are the cricketers you speak to? So many former players criticise you. Who do you turn to? Sunny bhai [Gavaskar], Kapil paaji [Dev], Anil bhai, of course. Murali, who is a gem of a person. He always tells me what I should be doing. Warne is there to help you. He will talk to you. Saqlain Mushtaq is a very dear friend. Mushy bhai [Mushtaq Ahmed] and Wasim bhai [Akram]. Reason : He's taking advice from know-hows rather than coffee table experts like you and me.
Sid Posted July 14, 2011 Posted July 14, 2011 Seems like another of your thread will be deleted :hahaha:
Cricket Tragic Posted July 14, 2011 Posted July 14, 2011 Seems like another of your thread will be deleted :hahaha: :cantstop:
nballa Posted July 14, 2011 Posted July 14, 2011 72% of your dismissals are tailenders "bhajji". who are you kidding?
zen Posted July 16, 2011 Posted July 16, 2011 What’s the ideal line and pace that you should be bowling? It all depends on the wicket. You can’t have a set format. I will give you an example. At the Pretoria wicket, they say an off-spinner should make the batsman cover drive. During the first Test against South Africa last year, I tried it for one whole day. Cover drive khilata raha aur cover ke through chauka khaata raha(I kept bowling that line and they kept hit boundaries)! At times Jacques Kallis’s two stumps were visible to me — when he was shuffling towards off to play me — and then he would sweep me. I thought I bowled in the right areas. It’s not as if I was cut or pulled. And yet, they were driving and sweeping me easily. The thing is when the ball is not turning much, and there is just good bounce, a lot of these good players will try to play on the up, with the bounce, and against the turn. So I was getting hit. In the next game in Druban, I changed my line. I bowled very straight and made them play every ball. The ideas was, if the batsman missed the sweep shot I would get him lbw. If he played across, there were chances of a slip catch or a bat-and-pad catch. Hashim Amla got out trying to sweep. The same happened in Cape Town. Wickets come in a bunch for me. 400 wickets is not a fluke. Utne bhi gaye guzre hote, toh ghar pey baithe rehte (If I was so ordinary, I would be sitting at home)! To me, that shows why Bhajji is good but not great. It appears as if he is not someone who can think on his feet and be flexible. He goes to Pretoria thinking that all that he has to do is make the batsmen cover drive, which is something the batsmen would know as well, i.e. spinners will try to make them cover drive. The batsmen came w/ plan B while Bhajji stuck to that line hoping that wkts would fall into his lap! When you bowl on spinner friendly pitches (esp. day 4 and day 5), what happens is you lose the ability to think on your feet. Mostly what you are doing is waiting for the surface to break so you just pitch the ball to get the wkts against opponents who are not that great at playing spin .... Which is why when Ind has to bowl first in India, spinners like Bhajji are not that successful. The spinners are suppose to come into play in the 2nd innings and that's where Bhajji comes in to play, much like most good spinners. The ability to do well even when the surface doesn't help much (like bowling on day 1 and day 2 on a standard pitch) is what separates great spinners from good spinners .... and this is one of the reasons why Bhajji won't be rated that highly like some of the other great spinners
Midfielder Posted July 16, 2011 Posted July 16, 2011 One of the spinners to join 400 wkt club but fails to meet your criteria of greatness. Rich very rich.