carnish Posted December 19, 2011 Posted December 19, 2011 These statements in bold part highlight the importance of role he played as captain. I am not doubting what he achieved as captain for Indian team. But as a test batsman I don't think you would put him in league of Sachin, Dravid etc. You can't argue with the points like, if he was not made captain, he would have done this or that. Also he didn't have game to eqaul Sachin or Dravid in test matches. I don't see any impact of captaincy on his batting in ODI's. So why it would have affected only in test matches? Simply, in today's era test batting average of 42 is pretty average. You would be interested in knowing how much Ganguly averaged in test matches where he wasn't captaining. Yes it was 45. No some mighty 55+. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/28779.html?captain=0;class=1;filter=advanced;orderby=default;template=results;type=batting My argument is only about his test batting. As captain what he achieved for India is unmatchable. See the bolded parts... you said that you didnot see any effect of captaincy on his ODI batting... i showed you the stats that how only from the 2nd year of his captaincy his batting average fell by nearly 7... and he scored just 6 100s to his 16 prior to that in even more games... i accept he was never good in tests but saying his captaincy did not affect his ODI batting is unacceptable..
mishra Posted December 19, 2011 Posted December 19, 2011 Speaking about that Chewt1ya Chapell, Dada is only giving him publicity.
ganeshran Posted December 19, 2011 Posted December 19, 2011 Dada said "Rahul ko us time apna authority dikhana chahiye tha' date= wo captain tha aur cricket mein captain supreme hota hai"..He said exactly teose words on Dravid, nothing more, no malice,no ill will against Dravid, perhaps a bit of surprise that someone as sensible as Dravid got dictated by the crook Chappel. Obviously the spin media has put to those statements is OTT and too much of sensationalism. No. He also said Rahul mein usko rokne ka dum nahi tha. That dum word was translated as courage. but the majority of his rant was against Chappell, the Dravid point was just one sentence which was blown out of proportion by the media. It more pointed out the fact that Dravid was too nice a guy to overrule Chapell and wanted everyone to be happy with the decisions that were being made. At 1:20 tQG_t1udX70
singhprakash72 Posted December 19, 2011 Posted December 19, 2011 Another media gimmick..Dada get over this Chappell episode...belittling Chappell will not make you any better..just suck it up and talk positive before start of this tour.
rkt.india Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 ganguly needs to stop blabbering about chappal. he was himself to blame. he was not batting well, was complacent for his place. same with zak. both were dropped for same reasons and came back as better players. they should thank chappal for that. otherwise, if he had continued to play, his record would have gone down even more. sehwag was also dropped for same reasons. Rather than blaming chappal, they should have asked themselves what wrong they did. chappal did try to change a lot things which all didnt culminate well but they need to think about the reasons they were out of the team.
bulbul Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 ganguly needs to stop blabbering about chappal. he was himself to blame. he was not batting well' date=' was complacent for his place. same with zak. both were dropped for same reasons and came back as better players. they should thank chappal for that. otherwise, if he had continued to play, his record would have gone down even more. sehwag was also dropped for same reasons. Rather than blaming chappal, they should have asked themselves what wrong they did. chappal did try to change a lot things which all didnt culminate well but they need to think about the reasons they were out of the team.[/quote'] +1 Zak,Viru and Ganguly are all in a gang....in different times they blamed Chappel for their own failures...may be Ganguly feel bad becuse he always thought himself as king and acted like one
rkt.india Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 +1 Zak,Viru and Ganguly are all in a gang....in different times they blamed Chappel for their own failures...may be Ganguly feel bad becuse he always thought himself as king and acted like one It was not like we only lost during Chappal's time. We had that 17 successive run chases in ODIs during that period. Dhoni, Yuvraaj, Raina all blossomed during Chappal. Yuvraaj had that 3 successive ODI MOS performance. We lost in SA but we never had never won in SA and there we won at least one test. Chappel was some one who said wrong a wrong and never favored anyone. He may be too dominated a character for Indians, but I do not think he had any wrong intentions, his ways may not be exactly right though. He was trying a create a bit of competition in the team for places so that players do no become complacent for their places but some players took it too personal.
pensionplan Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 Ganguly is a pussy truth be told. His average with the bat in Tests is 36 in the 5 years he captained. He rode it on the bats of RD's and VVS's best years and was enjoying Dalmiya's backing almost taking his place for granted and the 36 average while captaining is a proof of that. MSD achieved more as a captain and the best dressing room environment ever as attested by SRT and VVS many times.
Needforspeed Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 It was not like we only lost during Chappal's time. We had that 17 successive run chases in ODIs during that period. Dhoni' date=' Yuvraaj, Raina all blossomed during Chappal. Yuvraaj had that 3 successive ODI MOS performance. We lost in SA but we never had never won in SA and there we won at least one test. Chappel was some one who said wrong a wrong and never favored anyone. He may be too dominated a character for Indians, but I do not think he had any wrong intentions, his ways may not be exactly right though. He was trying a create a bit of competition in the team for places so that players do no become complacent for their places but some players took it too personal.[/quote'] Yeah, but unfortunately most people for obvious reasons associate Chappel with the World Cup 2007 disaster.
anbuchelvan Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 The morale of the story is Rahul does not have back bone to stand up to Greg.
Raghav_12 Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 It was not like we only lost during Chappal's time. We had that 17 successive run chases in ODIs during that period. Dhoni' date=' Yuvraaj, Raina all blossomed during Chappal. Yuvraaj had that 3 successive ODI MOS performance. We lost in SA but we never had never won in SA and there we won at least one test. Chappel was some one who said wrong a wrong and never favored anyone. He may be too dominated a character for Indians, but I do not think he had any wrong intentions, his ways may not be exactly right though. He was trying a create a bit of competition in the team for places so that players do no become complacent for their places but some players took it too personal.[/quote'] Raina blossomed? Raina hasn't been able to established till now. When did he blossom? Why Yuvraj and Dhoni's successes being attributed to Chappell? Chappell was worst thing to happen to Indian cricket in last decade or so. Everybody in team says about his machinations and the way he went about dividing and insulting senior players just to kick his ego. However, there was nothing wrong in Ganguly's removal from test team at that point of time. He had not scored anything substantial for really long
rkt.india Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 Raina blossomed? Raina hasn't been able to established till now. When did he blossom? Why Yuvraj and Dhoni's successes being attributed to Chappell? Chappell was worst thing to happen to Indian cricket in last decade or so. Everybody in team says about his machinations and the way he went about dividing and insulting senior players just to kick his ego. However, there was nothing wrong in Ganguly's removal from test team at that point of time. He had not scored anything substantial for really long Raina debuted and played some gem of innings at the age of 18-19 if you can remember against SL and England, though later he found out when he toured SA, but he shown the glimpses of brilliance at that time already and he is completely established right now as an ODI player, not a test player. At no. 6, there is not better batsman than him right now. I never thought what Chappel did was wrong. He dropped Ganguly, Zak, and Sehwag and too for their good. They came back as better players. He treated them as players, not stars, but this was not the Indian way to look at things. He came from Australia who had a hard way of doing things. Remember, how rudely they ousted Steve Waugh even when he was still scoring runs. He was brought up in a different environment and the same thing he tried here, but was unsuccessful. and why not we can attribute the success of Dhoni and Yuvraaj to Chappal if people can attribute what happened with Ganguly and Zak to Chappal. It was their performances and attitude which were responsible for that not Chappal.
peterparker Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 dada is right..this chappell seems to be a head strong person who is more like i am right and only i am right..i still rememeber the statement which he gave after india won the first one day match against west indies..that they don't know how to win..and this statement made west indies to defeat chappell's india..not team india actually...though there were 1 or 2 good decisions like sending crapthan back from the south africa....but still..his negatives outweighs the positives
Number Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 Questioned commitment of sr. players even Sachin ,when they were not performing rather than backing them .. this guy was a retard. He has tremendous ability to screw every good thing done .. his record as an administrator or coach proves it. glad he is away from Indian cricket..
someone Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 To be honest, I do understand Chappell, he tried to "change" something, and we badly needed to change ourselves at that time. However, he did too much in too little time.
pensionplan Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 Questioned commitment of sr. players even Sachin ' date='when they were not performing rather than backing them .. [b']this guy was a retard. He has tremendous ability to screw every good thing done .. his record as an administrator or coach proves it. glad he is away from Indian cricket..Yeah but Ganguly is no saint either. It is like pot calling the kettle black.
Raghav_12 Posted December 20, 2011 Posted December 20, 2011 Raina debuted and played some gem of innings at the age of 18-19 if you can remember against SL and England, though later he found out when he toured SA, but he shown the glimpses of brilliance at that time already and he is completely established right now as an ODI player, not a test player. At no. 6, there is not better batsman than him right now. I never thought what Chappel did was wrong. He dropped Ganguly, Zak, and Sehwag and too for their good. They came back as better players. He treated them as players, not stars, but this was not the Indian way to look at things. He came from Australia who had a hard way of doing things. Remember, how rudely they ousted Steve Waugh even when he was still scoring runs. He was brought up in a different environment and the same thing he tried here, but was unsuccessful. and why not we can attribute the success of Dhoni and Yuvraaj to Chappal if people can attribute what happened with Ganguly and Zak to Chappal. It was their performances and attitude which were responsible for that not Chappal. He was fool and egoistic to do that. Not even a school grade coach will enforce his methods without doing audience assessment, and this guy was a national coach. That's a different matter he also failed at the place where you claim his methods were suitable for. ICF is really funny place where a serial fail like Chappal can find supporters.