Rahul Dravid Posted September 8, 2011 Posted September 8, 2011 Aur socho agar Dravid pehle out ho jata aur team collapse ho jati tab ? Tab kya aap yeh zimma humaare yuvaaon ko dete ? Nahi, tab bhi ungli Dravid pe uthti kyuki : Sabko lagta hai ki Dravid T20 ke qaabil nahi hai, aisa nahi hai, main samajhta hoon ki T20 Dravid ke qaabil nahi hai. Translation for those who doesn't know Hindi : "Everyone feels that Dravid is slow and Dravid don't deserve to be in the shorter formats, but I feel that the shorter format (T20) doesn't deserve Dravid" A player like Dravid is born once in 1000 years and we were lucky enough to witness him in our generation yo man.. big up.. my respect for you has grown. i couldn't have put it better myself. :hatsoff:
rkt.india Posted September 8, 2011 Posted September 8, 2011 yo man.. big up.. my respect for you has grown. i couldn't have put it better myself. :hatsoff: He is right in one way but not if you see both sides of the coin. A player is only considered great when he is successful in Test which Dravid is and is a great. While other forms like ODI and T20s have their own relevance. Dravid has been a great ODI player as well. Whether Dravid fits in T20 or not, this is not much of relevance as T20 itself is not so relevant format, but then things come up to the requirement of the team when you are in a T20 kind of situation for the name of an ODI. This is where problem starts and here captain and coach needed to think what should be the right move at the given situation like if we had lost a wicket early with not so good start Dravid should have been sent, but as we had a good start we should have sent an aggressive player so that one batsman play easy and other would have played his shots to keep the scoring rate up which did not happen. Players are great, but game is greater than any player.
veer Posted September 8, 2011 Posted September 8, 2011 A player like Dravid is born once in 1000 years and we were lucky enough to witness him in our generation true that... he has adjusted to formats like no one did.. there is no one cricketer alive who can change his game like dravid does.. he can stand and play for the whole day when situation needs it.. and he can also hit 3 sixes in a row when it requires.. he can also take on gloves when Dhoni wants himself to bowl.. I would even admit this.. I was more of a SRT fan.. but this summer I've become RD fan and then SRT fan second..
gaurav92 Posted September 8, 2011 Posted September 8, 2011 yo man.. big up.. my respect for you has grown. i couldn't have put it better myself. :hatsoff: Aww, I am flattered Read my articles by clicking on my signature to know more about Dravid and other Cricketers :icflove: true that... he has adjusted to formats like no one did.. there is no one cricketer alive who can change his game like dravid does.. he can stand and play for the whole day when situation needs it.. and he can also hit 3 sixes in a row when it requires.. he can also take on gloves when Dhoni wants himself to bowl.. I would even admit this.. I was more of a SRT fan.. but this summer I've become RD fan and then SRT fan second.. Absolutely. Although I am a great Sachin fan and never ever gonna change that number one position :D, I was tempted to put Dravid in at number one as well after this series. Both are living legends and how lucky are we to witness both of them together serving the nation :yay::yay::yay::yay::yay: Dravid and Sachin :hail::hail::hail::hail::hail:
Trichromatic Posted September 8, 2011 Posted September 8, 2011 Absolutely. Although I am a great Sachin fan and never ever gonna change that number one position :D, I was tempted to put Dravid in at number one as well after this series. Gauri declaring himself great. :P
gaurav92 Posted September 8, 2011 Posted September 8, 2011 ^I am The Great Sachin's fan, is that alright Vibhash Jee :--D Waise all Sachin fans are blessed by his own greatness
Trichromatic Posted September 8, 2011 Posted September 8, 2011 ^I am The Great Sachin's fan, is that alright Vibhash Jee :--D Waise all Sachin fans are blessed by his own greatness Midget choker. That has to be most desperate by a Sachin fan then.
gaurav92 Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 Bas Karo yaar, jo beet gaya so beet gaya :((
Rahul Dravid Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 really no need to compare sachin and rahul.... legends shouldn't be compared.
pinkfreud Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 Dhoni and Kohli both are kind of batsmen who needs time to settle and then they can score quick runs. And yet when Dravid does that, it's sheer harakiri? Stop contradicting yourself. P.S: Yeah, those two did a lot of settling and subsequent quick scoring in the last match.
Rahul Dravid Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 And yet when Dravid does that' date=' it's sheer harakiri? Stop contradicting yourself.[/quote'] +1
gaurav92 Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 And yet when Dravid does that, it's sheer harakiri? Stop contradicting yourself. P.S: Yeah, those two did a lot of settling and subsequent quick scoring in the last match. Yes :two_thumbs_up:
rkt.india Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 And yet when Dravid does that, it's sheer harakiri? Stop contradicting yourself. P.S: Yeah, those two did a lot of settling and subsequent quick scoring in the last match. Bhai, they came in a situation where they had to hit out or get out. And I did not contradicting myself. Dravid is not one who can score quick runs even after settling. It was a T20 and had to be played like a T20 not like 50 over ODI game. We had two similar kind of batsmen at the same time which does not work in a T20 game. If we had a fast start and Rahaane was still there who is also a steady batsmen, then we had to send some one like Raina or Dhoni. I am not criticizing Dravid here. I am talking about wrong approach and strategy. Dravid is my all time favorite batsman and I follow him since he used to play Ranji trophy for Karnataka even before his selection for Indian team and I used to talk to my friends about him, but it does not mean, I wont take out the mistakes by him or by Indian team because at the end, it is a team game and every player needs to play for team's benefit and strategies should be derived according to the situation and sending Dravid at 3 in that situation was a wrong move. It stalled the progress which showed when they could only score 30 runs in 6 overs after 29 in 3 overs and could only reach 59 in 9 overs. This could easily have been 75 in 9 overs and would have made a huge difference in score.
pinkfreud Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 Dravid is not one who can score quick runs even after settling. It was a T20 and had to be played like a T20 not like 50 over ODI game. Dude what are you talking about? Did you not watch the way he played in his 1st ever international 20-20? Sometimes I can't help being baffled by selective reasoning. Dhobi had a SR of 120 in the match, so is that supposed to be a +ve even though he scored next to nothing as opposed to Dravid who at least had runs on the board? We had two similar kind of batsmen at the same time which does not work in a T20 game. If we had a fast start and Rahaane was still there who is also a steady batsmen' date=' [b']then we had to send some one like Raina or Dhoni. Are you serious? God forbid if one of those two would've got out prematurely after coming in at #3, which would've not only f**ked up our batting order, but again would have made Dravid the boxing bag if he'd come lower down the order and was 'taking time to settle' and lower our RR. ...but it does not mean' date=' [b']I wont take out the mistakes by him or by Indian team because at the end, it is a team game and every player needs to play for team's benefit What mistake by him? Again, do consider the way he played in the T20 match. Why do you not see that our bowling was the main reason behind our loss? And what do you mean by 'every player needs to play for the team?' If anything, Dravid has always been a team guy. I seriously cannot fathom your point about Dravid being dropped down the order in an ODI turned T20 match of all things. That would've been an absolute recipe for disaster.
gaurav92 Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 Pinkfreud just leave rkt there, he doesn't know what is he talking about
rkt.india Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 Dude what are you talking about? Did you not watch the way he played in his 1st ever international 20-20? Sometimes I can't help being baffled by selective reasoning. Dhobi had a SR of 120 in the match, so is that supposed to be a +ve even though he scored next to nothing as opposed to Dravid who at least had runs on the board? Bhai that was just one off innings where he hit 6s that too against a part time spinner. You will never consider Dravid a T20 kind batsmen whatever argument you throw in. Are you serious? God forbid if one of those two would've got out prematurely after coming in at #3, which would've not only f**ked up our batting order, but again would have made Dravid the boxing bag if he'd come lower down the order and was 'taking time to settle' and lower our RR. That is why I said one batsmen who can play steadily and in who can take risks and if someone got out early, Dravid was there to come in again steady the innings. I am not blaming Dravid, I am blaming Dhoni for be strategically fail. What mistake by him? Again, do consider the way he played in the T20 match. Why do you not see that our bowling was the main reason behind our loss? And what do you mean by 'every player needs to play for the team?' If anything, Dravid has always been a team guy. I seriously cannot fathom your point about Dravid being dropped down the order in an ODI turned T20 match of all things. That would've been an absolute recipe for disaster. Bhai You need to be flexible according to situation which Dhoni has done before. He used to be flexible but not any more. You know 187 was a 20 over score on that pitch, not 23 overs score. WE had same kind of economy rate total in T20 match and we lost then too. So they had to play accordingly. When batting is our strength, why did not they show it actually. 187 was a fighting total and not a winning total because these can only defend a winning total and cannot fight. Bowlers are to blame but why spare batsmen too. Otherwise, if we are so strong in batting why could only score 30 runs in 6 overs after Papa got out. At the end not planning according to the situation proved disaster as well and loss is a loss but you need to be positive and strategise as well. If you will think that you are going to lose from ball one and not planning to win then you can never win whatever the situation. Maintaining run rate is the most important thing which they did not do. It is not easy to come in last 3-4 overs and start hitting or score very high run rate if team does not maintain run rate through out the innings and not many players can do this from ball one. That is why I said Dhoni after settling down if he had come at 3 or if Raina had come at 3 can play long and more impact innings in comparison to anyone in this side. If they had to send Dravid then Rahaane and Dravid had to show bit more urgency in scoring runs. They player like a 50 over game, not like an ODI disguised T20 game. IF Raina had not scored those 40 in 19 balls, think about the score then. You cannot leave it so late.
rkt.india Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 Pinkfreud just leave rkt there' date=' he doesn't know what is he talking about [/quote'] Gaurav..think according to the situation..that is why we used to send Irfan Pathan at 3 several times to increase run rate which we did not do here that was ODIs and it was T20, so it was more important to maintain or increase run rate at that time.
rkt.india Posted September 9, 2011 Posted September 9, 2011 And Pathan striked at 180+ right ? most of the time, he had SR of 100 in ODI match 50 over, while this was a T20, understand the difference. I still remember one of his innings at 3 where he scored 80 odd.
rahulrulezz Posted September 9, 2011 Author Posted September 9, 2011 Another Dravidisique innings. 2 in 11 balls!!! Hahaha what a legend in Limits overs cricket. Plays tests in Odis n Odis in T20s!!